We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Athena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Athena Hotel to your Saves list
Athena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110-114 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #709 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
“It was alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The room was horribly small for two people. The bathroom was really small and you had to let your feet dangle on the high toliet or put you feet on the shower ledge while on the toilet. Not comfortable either way. The walls really really thin, so it made it really loud some nights. I was not a fan of the breakfast, unless you want the English breakfast, its basically just toast. The front desk people were nice and looked out for you, acknowledged when you came back, but they were not always the smartest in finding things you wanted to see. The location is fine, not horribly far from Buckingham Palace and its very close to a train/subway station but not a ton of food choices nearby. Not a great place for the high price I paid to stay, just alright

Room Tip: Ask for two beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    37
    19
    26
See reviews for
41
25
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Apart from the location - a couple of minutes walk from Paddington station - this is a mediocre hotel in almost every way. Some efforts have been made to renovate the rooms but they don't add up to much - my room had some new furnishings, the bed was fine, but there was an old sock under it where no-one had looked for some time... The bathroom was clean and modern (and tiny) but there was nowhere to keep the soap in the shower, nowhere to hang up a damp towel, not even a toilet roll holder, as for shampoo or shower gel forget it. None of this would cost much but it makes a difference between basic subsistence and a decent hotel room.

Breakfast I found generally unpleasant because of the continual loud commercial radio noise piped over the whole room, there is the usual stuff to eat - cheapest possible orange juice, cornflakes etc. - when I did manage to stay for the cooked breakfast that was done in short order and quite good. The only other positive thing is that internet access is reasonably priced (£15 for 3 days).

The hotel is advertised as two-star but overall I don't see where the second star comes from. It's a relatively cheap hotel in an expensive area (ie central London), the rooms and services are pretty basic and the intention seems to be to supply minimum requirements and nothing else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

Just spent one night there and had a triple room in the basement.

First is location....very good location for Paddington Station and only 10 mins walk to Oxford Street.

Reception staff very friendly and let us leave our luggage for the day which is handy.

The room we had smelt a bit damp which could have been down to the constant running hot tap in the bathroom. It was clean enough....wallpaper was peeling off in places and the bathroom wasn't the cleanest but for one night and £85 for 3...it's ok. I would not like to do two nights though.

Breakfast was ok....choice of hot food but staff did seem a bit rushed.

Overall....it's ok for one night.....I've been in worse!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed two night at this hotel on the 27th & 28th of February. We paid 80 USD a night (40 each because we split it) which was the same price we were considering paying for a hostel... so glad I chose here instead! Even though our room had not been refurbished yet (53) you could tell that the rest of the hotel had been/was going through refurbishment. It looked beautiful! When I booked I made sure breakfast was included, but I assumed that it would be cold, continental... boy was I surprised! The breakfast was made to order and you could chose eggs, bacon, sausage (etc.) or even a full English breakfast! The absolute best thing about this hotel is the location, less than 5 minutes to Paddington which connects to the major tube lines for attractions around London, and the neighborhood it is in felt very safe (even for two young women traveling alone). The pub close by had great food and great beer and the locals in the area as well as hotel staff were very friendly and didn't mind answering a few tourist questions. In fact, most people went out of their way to give us a hand and friendly advice. I look forward to my next trip to London and my next stay at the Hotel Athena.

Room Tip: If you want two twin beds, make sure you request it. I saw that recommendation by another reviewer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Myself & my girlfriend stopped here for 2 nights on the 27th January 2012, and for £75 a night bed & breakfast it was very reasonable.

The hotel looks like it's had a makeover at some point, but the finishing off leaves a lot to be desired, but for the price you pay it's relatively clean and presentable, yes the rooms are small but show me any hotel in London below a 4 star that isn't.

The hotel is on Sussex Gardens which is about a 5 minute walk to Paddington tube station so is very well located in that sense. The staff are not English but that's fine by me and were very polite and even allowed us to leave our bags in reception for 6 hours after check in.

Don't hesitate to book here if it's a room you're after to sightsee, we just used the hotel for somewhere to sleep and eat breakfast which for us was spot on!

All in all, very good for the price - If i had to make one minor comment it would be on the size of the English breakfast, it is quite small but they do offer cereals, toast and fruit salad as well so you can fill up.

My overall advice would be to book :)

Room Tip: The views on the back of the hotel aren't anything to write home about, so if you would like a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed in there with my family in may while on a holiday, overall we thought the athena hotel was alright. Our room was a tad small but we were mainly out looking at the magnificent sights of London. Pretty good location, near a few things like hyde park, madame tussuads, Abby road, and a few more :) had a few nice resturuants around. and when we were there they were re-painting most of this hotel and it smelt fairly bad. but i was pleased with the included breakfast. it was pretty good, hope this helps :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had a terrible stay there! The staff can be very rude, especially those who serve breakfast in the morning. The room was very dusty, the curtains looked as though they've never been cleaned since they've been put up and the bed covers looked so terrible! Furthermore, some of the amenities in the room were not working.

I will never stay there again! There are many hotels next to this one that seemed much much better.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Hotel

Address: 110-114 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #709 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Athena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Athena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.