We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel London City South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel London City South to your Saves list
Novotel London City South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England (Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Ranked #398 of 1,049 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Market Drayton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Adequate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Dec 2012 following a business meeting. Was not very impressed by the use of security doors to the corridors. Fully understand the usage but as a first impression it was not good. Nice bar, though this was closed when we arrived back, albeit we were late, but it is London. Room was ok for a business trip but I would not return for a weekend break with wife as it lacked the level of comfort and extras required to be special. Breakfast was good.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    722
    229
    67
    29
See reviews for
718
230
64
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rufford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This room is located next to the gym and from 6am to about 10.30 pm you get a big banging noise every 20 seconds from the sauna system in the gym
The hotel not willing to change our room after a verbal request
complained also when paying the bill on leaving

Room Tip: check the rooms first
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your feedback, I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed in your stay and am currently investigating why your request for an alternative room was not actioned.

I do hope that you will stay us again as I can see you found our location to be ideal for visiting London and please contact me in order for me to personally oversee your booking.

Kind regards,

Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always find it a nice place to stay in London when the price is right. This trip was no exception. We opted for the executive family room, which had a slightly better view and a few more amenities and really enjoyed it. My only complaint is that there is construction going on in the hotel that I wish I had been made aware of in advance. Normally it wouldn't be a problem because we are always out and about during the day but this trip I had planned to work in the room for several hours each day and it was terribly distracting. I think notification about it would have gone a long way. When I did mention it when asked how our trip was on checkout, the person at the desk muttered a quiet sorry (sort of). Still, it would not deter me from staying there again. I do really like this hotel and its Bankside location is ideal for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm glad that you overall enjoyed your stay and would like to apologise if you were disturbed by any noise during our refurbishment. Unfortunately, we were not aware at the time that work being carried out would affect other areas of the building.

I'm pleased to read that you will be staying with us again in the future and would like you to contact me directly if I can be of assistance in making your reservation.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonner Springs, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice clean hotel, rooms a very small for a family of 4 with one real bed and on hide-a-bed which left very little room for luggage. Rooms where clean, but having the toilet in a different room from sink and shower across the room is something americans aren't used to. Staff was attentive and polite but not very knowledgable in our experience. Food was great in restaurant. Bar staff was awesome and helpful. Very close to London Bridge underground and Tate Modern, St. Paul's and London Bridge It's a must visit to the Borough Market, great food and experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review following your stay, we value all your comments. Rest assured I will address any training needs with the team and will pass on your comments regarding the food and the bar staff as they will be most appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to Novotel London City South in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is our second trip to London using this hotel, we find it ideal to explore the city from. London Bridge station just round the corner, buses and Thames path in spitting distance! We got a deal on this and paid in advance making the £13.05 bill at the end of our stay very nice!!!

We love Borough market and this entire area

Clean basic room, friendly staff and apart from no sink in the toilet area (you have to walk through the bedroom back to the washing area (bath, sower, sink)) perfectly suitable. The bed only comes with one pillow each so we had to fashion a double pillow situaiton with the cushions and the bed seemed quite hard (despite me liking a hard bed) - though as usual in hotels not the best night's sleep had!

Used the fitness centre - rower, cross-trainer, bike, treadmill, leg weight machine, balance ball, mat and weights, Steam room and Sauna

We did not have breakfast as there is Joe's Kitchen, Borough market, Island Cafe close by as well as the usual mix of coffee shops!

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitySouth, Manager at Novotel London City South, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your visit. I am so glad you had a good stay with us again and will hopefully see you on your next trip!

Kind regards,

Victoria Parry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel London City South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London City South

Address: 53-61 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in London
#266 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London City South 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London City South is an AA 4 star hotel ideal for a weekend or holiday in London. The Shard, Borough Market, London Eye, Tate Modern, Millennium Bridge, Shakespeares Globe Theatre, Vinopolis and St Pauls Cathedral are just minutes away, while a short tube ride will get you to the shopping, nightlife and theatres of the West End. Guests can enjoy our Elements Restaurant, Clinks Bar and rooftop leisure and fitness suite with gym, sauna and steam room. Free WiFi & internet, chargeable parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel London City South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London City South Hotel London
Accor London City South
London Novotel
Novotel London City South England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel London City South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.