We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mentone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mentone Hotel to your Saves list
Mentone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 - 56 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1 H9EL, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #575 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    169
    87
    41
    33
See reviews for
91
93
56
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spofford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and have no complaints. We understood from the start that this was a pedestrian sort of small hotel. The room was small and the bathroom was very small, but it was clean and the bed was crisp and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were great. The day we checked out they even held our bags for the full day while we killed time before our train to Edinburgh at midnight. This hotel is well positioned for the two major train stations, the subway, and a few tourist sites all within walking distance. It was a good deal.

Room Tip: No elevator so try for a room on the first or second floor, if not bring your crampons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stopped here for 1 night. It is in a great location, and an easy 30 minute walk to Covent Garden and close to Euston and St Pancras. It is also very good value for money for London and includes breakfast which is very good, although a little rushed and in quite a small room in the basement. The rooms are OK, ours was at the back on the 2nd floor, with a very comfortable bed, the only problem being the floors don't half creek when people are moving about on the 3rd floor. It is in a quiet location and in a lovely crescent of houses opposite a park. If you are on a budget then this is an OK place to stop.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hotel is in perfect location for our needs close to StPancras trainstation and to British library. We stayed at two rooms, first 3 nights at the top floor - about 50 steps, nice view, a bit small room for 3, but was OK. The other room was on ground floor and rather nice and OK as well.
Full English breakfast was nice surprise the first day and we enjosed it during our whole stay.
Staff was helpfull and friendly.
Will consider it for our next stay in London as well.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Booked a twin room and got one double bed and a camp bed! Bathroom tiny and shower was like standing under a dripping tap it was that useless. Room on top floor with very steep stairs which were difficult with a suitcase. Good location though

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Fortunately I am not claustrophobic and fortunately I staid only one night. The junior single room was extremely small, as well as the toilet/shower area; I could hear noise from other rooms, including tap's dripping (all night long); also, the carpet has been there too long. I can't tell about the other rooms. The location of the hotel is very good though, the staff is friendly enough and I can't complain about the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Located in a silent oasis near Kings cross underground, this small compact hotel gave great value for money. Be prepared to climb steep and narrow stairs to upper floors. Nice room. Good breakfast. And friendly staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#415 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#363 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#605 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#782 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jenkins Hotel
Jenkins Hotel
#755 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#246 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mentone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mentone Hotel

Address: 54 - 56 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1 H9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #575 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mentone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mentone Hotel is a bed and breakfast situated on beautiful Cartwright Gardens in the Bloomsbury area of Central London. The hotel has been owned and managed by the same family since 1972 and has long been a popular choice with tourists and business travelers due to its pleasant surroundings and convenient location. We are just a stone's throw away from The British Museum, University of London, The British Library, Oxford Street, Eurostar, the West End Theatre District, and the neighbouring areas of Soho, Holborn and Covent Garden.The hotel occupies three townhouses on a Georgian crescent and consists of five levels (lower ground floor, ground floor, first floor, second floor and third floor). The townhouses are Grade II listed and the hotel has no lifts (elevators). We are a non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mentone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mentone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mentone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.