We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of London Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added London Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
London Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Birkenhead Street, London WC1H 8BA, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #849 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

... including a decent English breakfast in an overcrowded room and an almost reliable wi-fi. Proximity of the stations a big plus. Walls too thin (at least in the annex). The hotel could invest more in new curtains - these cannot block the outside light so the daylight wakes you if the neighbours are not quicker.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    61
    36
    48
See reviews for
44
45
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Simple rooms very close to Kings cross. Main building with bigger size but can be noisy and hot during summer. Good and complete english breakfast included. New building with new smaller rooms and more quiet, but without elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to Kings Cross station. We wanted to be on the Piccadilly tube line so we would have easy transfer to Heathrow Airport the following day. When we checked in, the clerk tried to charge us 10 GBP more for our room, but we had our confirmation, so she could only charge us the 90 GBP that we had confirmed. I also read that the hotel had a lift, but when we checked in we learned we were in the annex which was several doors down from the hotel and there was no lift. The stairway was very narrow and it was difficult getting our suitcases up to the second floor. With no air conditioning, we had to sleep with the window open. Even though there was very little vehicle traffic, there was a lot of pedestrian traffic and much noise. The room itself was very small with a double and single bed. There was almost no room for our suitcases and the bathroom was actually smaller than one on a cruise ship. We had problems connecting with wifi so I had to walk over to the main lobby as there was no phone in the room at all. The clerk had to come over to the building and reset the modem before wifi would work. The breakfast was over in the main building on the lower level. There was a good selection of food offered and it was hot and tasty. Although convenient, I didn't really like the area and would likely opt to stay somewhere else the next time. This is not really a reflection of the hotel which is fairly good value, but just a personal preference for other parts of London.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The location is excellent, literally across the road from Kings Cross/St Pancras. Not easy to find a decent hotel on a low budget. Sure, the rooms are tiny (but you get your own bathroom...even if its ridiculously tiny, it's appreciated) and the bed is small etc but what's to expect in London? You're only sleeping and showering in the hotel so for what it is, it's completely serviceable and adequate. Staff are friendly and helpful and bed/towels are changed daily.

The only real downside was that the internet pretty much never worked (over 5 days) apart from in the lobby (which was also iffy at times). The noise levels are not great, but mainly from other rooms, the walls feel paper thin. And good luck sleeping if you enjoy sleeping with a window open! (basically, bring ear plugs and you'll be fine)

Satisfied overall. I'd absolutely go back for its convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Its a known fact that hotels in London charge through the roof.

So when Carlton hotel (being situated right opposite King's Cross St. Pancras Station) was available for 75 pounds a day, I checked and compared with other hotels in the same area and none came closer, considering this hotel gave en-suite bathroom at this price.

Another point worth mentioning is that they cleaned up the room everyday without me even for once asking them to do so.

I know its expected, but you will be surprised how hotels can be.... I have had the experience and hence this point.

Breakfast is same everyday - I stayed for 6 days - so be ready for same typical English breakfast.

Wish they gave another 1 sq. mtr to the room... it was too congested in 8 sq. mtr

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Let me start from what is good: location. That's it. A place to stay when you need to be close to the international train station. All the rest sucks, horrible bed and bathroom, a LOT of noise, mainly from other bedrooms, terrible lift and a very dark atmosphere. Never coming back.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Ok, so the location is great, the price was very good. So I cant complain too much. However double beds are on the small side and not the most comfortable in the world. The bathroom could have smelt a lot more fresh ! If your on a budget and not planning on spending a lot of time in your room, then its fine, if you want home comforts, then pay more and go else where. But for someone visiting London then how much time do you actually spend in the hotel ?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to London Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Carlton Hotel

Address: Birkenhead Street, London WC1H 8BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #849 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your London Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Carlton Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.