We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of London Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added London Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
London Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Birkenhead Street, London C1H 8BA, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #861 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to Kings Cross station. We wanted to be on the Piccadilly tube line so we would have easy transfer to Heathrow Airport the following day. When we checked in, the clerk tried to charge us 10 GBP more for our room, but we had our confirmation, so she could only charge us the 90 GBP that we had confirmed. I also read that the hotel had a lift, but when we checked in we learned we were in the annex which was several doors down from the hotel and there was no lift. The stairway was very narrow and it was difficult getting our suitcases up to the second floor. With no air conditioning, we had to sleep with the window open. Even though there was very little vehicle traffic, there was a lot of pedestrian traffic and much noise. The room itself was very small with a double and single bed. There was almost no room for our suitcases and the bathroom was actually smaller than one on a cruise ship. We had problems connecting with wifi so I had to walk over to the main lobby as there was no phone in the room at all. The clerk had to come over to the building and reset the modem before wifi would work. The breakfast was over in the main building on the lower level. There was a good selection of food offered and it was hot and tasty. Although convenient, I didn't really like the area and would likely opt to stay somewhere else the next time. This is not really a reflection of the hotel which is fairly good value, but just a personal preference for other parts of London.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    37
    56
    32
    47
See reviews for
42
41
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The location is excellent, literally across the road from Kings Cross/St Pancras. Not easy to find a decent hotel on a low budget. Sure, the rooms are tiny (but you get your own bathroom...even if its ridiculously tiny, it's appreciated) and the bed is small etc but what's to expect in London? You're only sleeping and showering in the hotel so for what it is, it's completely serviceable and adequate. Staff are friendly and helpful and bed/towels are changed daily.

The only real downside was that the internet pretty much never worked (over 5 days) apart from in the lobby (which was also iffy at times). The noise levels are not great, but mainly from other rooms, the walls feel paper thin. And good luck sleeping if you enjoy sleeping with a window open! (basically, bring ear plugs and you'll be fine)

Satisfied overall. I'd absolutely go back for its convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Its a known fact that hotels in London charge through the roof.

So when Carlton hotel (being situated right opposite King's Cross St. Pancras Station) was available for 75 pounds a day, I checked and compared with other hotels in the same area and none came closer, considering this hotel gave en-suite bathroom at this price.

Another point worth mentioning is that they cleaned up the room everyday without me even for once asking them to do so.

I know its expected, but you will be surprised how hotels can be.... I have had the experience and hence this point.

Breakfast is same everyday - I stayed for 6 days - so be ready for same typical English breakfast.

Wish they gave another 1 sq. mtr to the room... it was too congested in 8 sq. mtr

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Let me start from what is good: location. That's it. A place to stay when you need to be close to the international train station. All the rest sucks, horrible bed and bathroom, a LOT of noise, mainly from other bedrooms, terrible lift and a very dark atmosphere. Never coming back.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Ok, so the location is great, the price was very good. So I cant complain too much. However double beds are on the small side and not the most comfortable in the world. The bathroom could have smelt a lot more fresh ! If your on a budget and not planning on spending a lot of time in your room, then its fine, if you want home comforts, then pay more and go else where. But for someone visiting London then how much time do you actually spend in the hotel ?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located at 200 m from the Pancras Station. So it's always easy to get back to the hotel after visiting the city.
Room are small but everything is present: a clean bed, towels, a clean bathroom, teafacilities, little TV, good heating,...
Our room was located just above a bar => we heared oriental musical till late at night... Isolation for noise isn't super also...
But for this fair price a budget hotel with easy acces from whole Londen.
The breakfast was typical English: scrambled eggs, saucise, bacon, baked eggs, beans, tomatosauce, toasts, cornflakes, jam and butter.
TO drink: Milk, coffee, tea, juice and water.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

3 nights stay at the Carlton in Kings Cross, Very clean and good breakfast each morning. Wonderful atmosphere, my regular place to visit and sure will continue in staying here.
Excellent ! Many thanks in making my stay enjoyable.
Cheers

Room Tip: If you have issues, speak to the managers...they are friendly and very approachable and very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to London Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Carlton Hotel

Address: Birkenhead Street, London C1H 8BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #861 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your London Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Carlton Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.