We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, really good steak.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Steak Expert

The Bull Steak Expert
54 Red Lion Street, London WC1R 4PD, England
0207 242 0708
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bull Steak Expert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: Argentinean, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Really, really good steak.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We visited on a Monday lunchtime and were the only people in the restaurant, which is never ideal for getting a feel for its atmosphere, but it did feel a bit of a characterless venue - essentially a long oblong lock-up shop with tables. However, the food, the steaks in particular, were spectacularly good and are well worth seeking out.

I had a starter of smoked salmon, and bearing in mind that smoked salmon is a very salty dish, the chef had added a huge load of salt flakes to it, so it was unpleasantly salty. I'd ask him to hold off on teh salt if I ordered it again.

However the restaurant is all about steak and I really enjoyed teh steaks on offer here. They are as good as I've had anywhere in London or Argentina,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    65
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“The Perfect Steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

One of London's most highly acclaimed steak restaurants, The Bull Steak Expert is the domain of Master Griller Daniel Veron. The refined cuisine is a gem in a worthy setting.The service is superb and the food is affordable. This is not my first visit and it will not be my last. I rave about the restaurant on a regular basis and it is definitely one worth visiting.By far one of the best steak restaurants in London.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service great, steak really dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Came here based on trip advisor reviews with high expectations. Initially impressed with the knowledgable waiting staff and friendly atmosphere. However, after the good starters.... The steaks were over cooked and returned. After apologies we were presented with new steaks but to our disappointment they were not up to the standard we were expecting, they were chewy and certainly not worth the money. So disappointed with this restaurant, staff were great but were let down by the kitchen.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous restaurant offering "bloody" delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have been to the Bull Steak restaurant a few times already and every-time it was exceptional. They have a great menu which will spoil the most picky customers. They food is delicious served by extremely friendly and professional members of staff. You can eat the best steaks prepared in the Argentinean way as well as taste the best wines in town. This is definitely a place to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had a delicious meal at the Bull Steak restaurant. Ruth really took care of us.
The food was all delicious and the steak literally melt in your mouth.
Tried some sweet red wine which was amazing and recommended!
This place is very small but it doesn't take away for the main thing the dining experience.
Thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Steak Expert also viewed

 

Been to The Bull Steak Expert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Steak Expert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.