We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Steak Expert

The Bull Steak Expert
54 Red Lion Street, London WC1R 4PD, England (Holborn)
0207 242 0708
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bull Steak Expert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #151 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Holborn
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Argentinian beef is probably the best in the world, and this restaurant does full justice to it. Cuts and methods of preparation are authentically Argentinian. You would be happy to take a resident of Buenos Aires there. The staff were excellent, friendly and informative. There have been a couple of negative comments about the chips. Ours were so good that we greedily ordered an extra portion. We did not order starters, as we intended to focus our energies on the main purpose of the restaurant. The only slight disappointment was that the sauces (extra cost) came in rather small portions. Definitely a place for meat lovers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    75
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“It' small, so book in advance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Compares favourably to the Gaucho and Hawksmoor. Lovely choice of steaks and cuts, (three of us went and had fillet, sirloin and rib eye between us and all pronounced the meat wonderfully tender). Very good choice of wine, which like the Gaucho majors on Argentinian Malbec's. This is a small restaurant, or Boutique Steak House as they like to be known, so book in advance. We went for a late lunch which meant that by the time we have finished the place was empty and hence lacking a little in atmosphere, (that's the only reason I haven't awarded five stars). Service friendly - I will return!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gaucho lite!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Small and cosy Argentinian style steak house, a sort of mini Gaucho Grill, they apparently even source their steaks from the same supplier. The service was excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly. The steak was good but nothing exceptional. The wine, we had the house Malbec, was pleasant enough but again, nothing special and probably £6 or £7 overpriced for what it was. Overall, it was a nice enough meal but at over £100 for 2 with a bottle of house wine, I thought it wasn’t particularly good value. For the whole Argentinian Steak house thing I think the Gaucho Grill, 10 minutes walk away, offers a better experience and at roughly the same price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Steak and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My friend and I have been lunching at this restaurant once every couple of weeks since just after it opened last year. We just happened across it, as it's small and out of the way, and were blown away by the quality of the steaks and the incredibly friendly service. A particular mention must go to Ruth, the lovely manageress, who is always welcoming and helpful. The steak is amazing (we always have the Medallon de Lomo, the 150g fillet) and it's melt-in-your-mouth perfect. If we have starters, we plump for the empanadas , one filled with cheese and sweetcorn and one with a beef mix - both yummy! When I brought my kids one lunchtime, they had puts and had crepes with dulce de leche which I tasted and they were absolutely divine! It's a bit on the pricey side but you're always guaranteed mouth-watering food. As you can guess, I'm a big fan!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great steak and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Organised a birthday meal for my partner and was not dissapointed with both the quality of steak and service. The staff even made a fuss of my partner with a surprise birthday dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull Steak Expert also viewed

 

Been to The Bull Steak Expert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Steak Expert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.