We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oaks Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Oaks Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oaks Guest House
76 Blagdens Lane | Southgate, London N14 6DD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 517 London B&B and Inns
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned from a 9 night stay and I have to say it was a very nice and pleasant stay and 100% recommend it. Very clean, nice breakfasts cozy atmosphere and nice owners.
Continental breakfast. Bright bedrooms with TV and en suite bathrooms.
Great option with online 5 minutes walk to Southgate Tube Station.
Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Excellent guest house. Nicely decorated and very clean.

My wife and I were visiting friends and family in Central and North London and found it really convenient and easy to get to from the motorway. Bus and tube connections are within walking distance but the guest house is in a quiet cul de sac.
Certainly quieter than we expected at night from a London guest house. Very good value for money compared to other places we have stayed, and we will almost certainly go back.

Continental breakfast was fine for us as we were eating out a lot.

We stayed December and 'all in all' had an enjoyable few nights stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went at The Oaks guest house for two nights, and it was really a great stay. Charming and perfectly clean rooms, very quiet at night, a big breakfast, with fruits, cheese, croissants, etc. and especially kind and friendly people.
It is very close to the Southgate Station, where you can take the tube to the center of London, count 30 minutes to Covent Garden. Some people might say it is a little far from the center, but on the other hand, you can sleep in a really quiet place.
There are lots of restaurants nearby (5 minutes walk) and the neighborhood felt really safe.
Really a great place. We would recommand The Oaks to any people going to visit London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Oaks Guest House and we would highly recommend it to anyone visiting London. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood and just a 5 minute walk from Southgate Station on the Piccadilly Line which will take you to the centre of London. The Picadilly Line is also a direct route to Heathrow. There are numerous restaurants in the area and also several supermarkets. It is a lovely B & B, the rooms are quite spacious and tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfasts consisting of an ample selection of cereals, fruit juices, breads, teas and coffee, yoghurts, croissants and fresh fruit. Breda and Esra were so friendly and pleasant we quite enjoyed our morning chats with them, we felt like part of the family. Thank you to Tony, Breda and Esra for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I take time out to write a review on this wonderful Guest House we've discovered in north London on the picadilly line into central London, which will from now on be our home away from home when in London. I am careful not to use the term B&B when I describe the place because it is so much more than a bed & breakfast! Lovely location, short walk &felt safe walking back from tube at night!
Arriving early in London we were able to drop off our luggage and shown our room, keys were handed over & useful information given, also able to leave bags on day of departure to be picked up in pm as we had an evening flight, these extra touches make travel so much easier The bottled water was very much appreciated when we returned at night along with selection of goodies! There was also a fridge , sink, mini kitchen really, outside our room ideal i'm sure for families with young kids.
Beds so comfortable, tv & free wifi brilliant! Breakfasts in the mornings were so enjoyable with Esra her friendliness , kindness & eagerness to please we so much appreciated ! Tony & Breda deserve top class ratings based on our experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We started looking on the web for somewhere to stay in London but because of the Olympic games we wanted to stay out of central London but on a main tube line so it would not take us that long to get into the centre. This is when we found this lovely Guest House, right from when we booked with them they were very helpful because on the day we arrived we could park our car at the oaks early in the morning, someone was there to meet us and we could take the keys stright away. The rooms were nice, clean, had every thing that you needed to make your stay homely and to a very high standard. We also liked the fact that they had put bottled water in the rooms as one of us was not a tea or coffee drinker.

Tony, Breda and Esra were incredibly helpful and nothing was too much of a problem. Loved the chats in the morning at breakfast which again made you feel very welcome.

we would have no problems in recommeding the Oaks Guest House as we have already told a number of friends and family about the place and look forward to using the guest house everytime we are in London.

Thank you once again Tony, Breda and Esra for making our three weekends lovely and comfortable.

From

Clair and Richard (Taunton, Somerset)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grottaferrata
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I chose this B&B because of the reviews here on tripadvisor.com and on its site. It's beautiful!
I went there with my son (who's a 3 year and a half old boy) and my husband, for 8 nights (from August 11 to August 19), and we had a great stay.
The owners are warm and welcoming, and we found in Esra - a lady who works there to help them - a very nice surprise. She made our breakfast times so lovely, and we really felt like she cared for us.
The rooms are really nice, they look lovely and are spacious and comfortable, all was clean and functional. We slept just fine, there were also books you could borrow, a nice tv with a dvd player, and free wifi, which was very important for us to work with at night. Its location was also great, so near to the Southgate Underground station on the Piccadilly line which leads you straight to the city centre. And the neighbourhood was lovely, there were many shops, restaurants, and supermarkets (also a big Asda one, which was open 24 hrs a day), and nice parks nearby.
I would no doubt recommend this B&B to anyone choosing to visit the beautiful London, I miss it already.
Thank you, Tony, Breda and Esra, we had a really great time with you, and we'll definitely book a room of yours when we happen to come to London again.

Elena, Luigi & Nemo

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Guest House

Address: 76 Blagdens Lane | Southgate, London N14 6DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oaks is a family-run guest house located in Southgate, a quiet and tranquil suburb of north London and we are proud to offer our guests a peaceful, comfortable and luxurious stay for the time they are with us.Our eight guest rooms are beautifully decorated and each has an en-suite bathroom. All room prices include a continental breakfast, consisting of a wide selection of cereals, fruit juices, breads, teas and coffee, yoghurts, croissants and fresh fruit.We are ideally located for tourists and business travellers who want quick and hassle-free access to central London, local amenities and local and national road links as well as catering for longer-term contractors working in London for a specified period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oaks Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oaks Guest House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oaks Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.