We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Paddington Hotel to your Saves list
The Paddington Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #728 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good for short stay and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

tiny tiny tiny room... I was expecting the Paddington Bear to show up and claim it was his room!

The location is really convenient, but I would not stay here for long stay. You shouldn't stay here if you don't like small environment.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    83
    72
    28
    32
See reviews for
16
119
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located near Paddington and Lancaster Gate tube stations (less than 5min walk) and there is about 10min walk to Hyde Park or Marble Arch (beginning of Oxford street). There are lot of restaurants nearby. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpfull. The room was equipped with: fridge, fan, phone, iron, tv and safe. A Toilet and shower was quite small. The room wasnt largest of world but big enough. In hotel you will find lot of stairs, so it is not recomennend people with handicap. The breakfast was included and buffet style, cerials, bread, coffee, tea etc. WiFi is free at lobby.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This was a good budget hotel in London - the rooms were spacious but dated, the bathrooms were small but clean. There is no lift so be prepared to walk up and down stairs. Although it only advertises free wifi in the hotel lobby, we were able to access the wifi in our room on the 3rd floor. The reception staff were always friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was one occasion where we were going out for a nice dinner and wanted to get a taxi - we asked the man at reception how we could get a taxi, and he proceeded to give us directions for the metro. We clarified that, no, we actually wanted a taxi... he then gave us directions to get a bus! Not the info we were after, but at least he was friendly (we ended up just catching the bus :p).

I would stay here again if I ever went back to London.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

A budget hotel in a great location, 5 minutes from paddington station. Rooms where pretty good bad on the bad side it was the lack of elevator and that there wasn't wifi in the rooms! Also it was a bit expensive for what you get but a good price for London!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed in room 207.
The location is great. Two blocks to the Lancaster Gate Underground station, and about a 5 minute walk to Paddington Station.
The employees were helpful (directions,etc) and friendly and the continental breakfast is just what you would expect.
The hotel is shabby. Our room was very small with a bathroom barely larger than an airplane bathroom.
The biggest complaint I had is the mattress. So old, lumpy and thin, just awful.
When we checked out the manager asked how our stay was and I said okay except for the mattress. He said he wished I would have said something sooner and he could have done something about it. I can't believe I was the first person to complain about that mattress. I am not that picky and like I said it was awful.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014 via mobile

Our room Was in another building, really old and ruined, dirty and with a lot of dust everywhere..... And even no wifi connection, the only good point is the price, but it is at the same level Of 1-2 star hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I gave this place 4 stars because it was the only hotel I have been to where the rooms were bigger than the photos in the advert. It was clean, plenty of space and very close to the Lancaster Gate tube on the central line.

Another good thing about this place was the Swan Pub, a right turn onto the main Bayswater Road, a traditional looking place with nice food and drink a big front patio.

So for the price and being close to the centre it was ideal.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #728 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.