We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good low-budget choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Paddington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Paddington Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #712 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good low-budget choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice area, near two underground stations (Paddington, Lancaster Gate), in a 5-minute walking distance from Hyde Park. Although the rooms are rather small and only have the basic facilities, the hotel is a good choice if you just need a place to sleep. It had a satisfying breakfast, it was clean and overall a good value for money.

Room Tip: The reception is across the street. If it is possible, ask for a room on a lower floor, as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    77
    68
    27
    30
See reviews for
16
110
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kraków, Polska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I travelled for 3 nights. Hotel is located very well. To the Lancaster Gate underground station (central Line) there is 3 minutes walk.
Also 3 minutes to Hyde Park, 1.5km to Oxford Street (Marble Arch).
Room were refreshed and very clean. (everyday room was cleaned).
Breakfeasts were simple but fair enough for 3 nights (normal continental breakfast: cherios, toasts, jam, chees and eggs)
The only disadvantage is that there is no lift and to climb 4th floor is exhausting (no problem for me :)) and no wi-fi in rooms (just in reception - bulding accross the street)
I was very satisfied with staying at Paddington Hotel and if travel again to London for few days I will take into consideration visiting this hotel once again.

Room Tip: If you do not like climb stairs - do not choose 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a newly decorated room at the top - had everything you could want - iron and board , hairdrier , small but clean and functioal bathroom and a comforfable warm room .
Yes it was 98 steps down to breakfast and back up to the room but for the price and location that was a small incovenience .

Room Tip: If you are fit any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The room was small, which we expected. It felt old and dirty. Breakfast consisted of bread, cereal, instant coffee, tea, orange juice, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cheese, butter, and jelly. Location was close to Lancaster gate and bus route. Lobby was across the street and wifi was only available there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Needs a breath of fresh air through the place. Our room was on the 2nd floor - 4 flights of stairs - no lift, hard work if you have a large suitcase. Linen was clean, room depressing with dark brown furniture, Window and venetian blinds, that didn't open, could do with a good clean and ensuit could do with a make over - no where to hang your towels!
Traffic noise because of no double glazing, but didn't keep us awake.
On the positive side location is handy for tube, Swan Hotel (good pub grub) Breakfast continental plenty to eat and good choice.So acceptable for one or two night stay at this price. Having said that, we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

When I check in to this hotel, I just figured out that there is no lift, I need to carry my heavy luggage to top 7th floor by myself, no one help me. The room is smelly and floor is noisy when you walked around. Also I was woke up by noise from another room when they use water. Niose is very big sleeping quality is very bad. There is no wifi in the room, only available in the lobby across to the street. There is no reception under the hotel, you need to check in in another hotel across the street which is very inconvenient. This is the worst hotel ever, which really hurt my feeling to London. Dont stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: The good thing here is that this place is close to metro. Choose lower floor if you can since there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #712 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.