We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Cheap Hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Paddington Hotel to your Saves list
The Paddington Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #682 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Cheap Hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

This is a good cheap hotel in central London close to Kensington Gardens and Paddington tube station. Small cheap rooms, good hot showers, refrigerator, and coffee machine in room. We had a tiny room the first night we were there on the top floor, but asked to move to a bigger room that was next door and was much happer with the size and lay out. I've stayed at this hotel before in 2005 and it's a safe and clean place to stay in London. Breakfast is served in the basement and I was fully satisfied with it (coffee,juice, milk, cereal, toast, jam, and boiled eggs).

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    95
    83
    30
    32
See reviews for
19
133
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

We are just back in Dublin after spending 3 nights in the Paddington ( Hotel). It is a dirty, shabby place. No lift so flights of stairs are a must. Old damaged venetian blinds, old wooden windows that rattle loudly in the wind, Tv with only poor reception and a couple of channels, dirty old carpet probably hoovered but awful marks from shoes, badly needs to be replaced, all wood work chipped and damaged and shabby looking. We found a condom wrapper under the bed. Squeeky floorboards every footstep. Dining room an absolute disgrace. Down in a basement,darh and no windows, it is like a kichen in a community hall. Dreadful choice of cereal and toast and 3 Foreign women serving just hoping you dont stay for food to give them more work to do. On our second night we returned to our room and there was an overwhelming smell of sewerage coming from our bathroom. The very unfriendly porter eventually came up and, in all fairness did not hesitate to put us into another room. The fact that they had a room available on a Saturday night in central London tells you something. £60 a night we were charged and despite the relatively low cost it was not value for money.

Do not go to this hotel unless you are really desperate.

  • Liked — That we were leaving soon
  • Disliked — the dirty shabby look as opposed to old antique with character
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2008

This is a hotel for "sleep & go" only. Very close of tube, Hyde Park and main train strations. Pls, dont ask for a great breakfast or good english. No cable TV, just air. No great views. Breakfast included: coffe & milk, bread, cheese, marmalade & butter, maybe orange juice. But if you want to stay just for the night, it's a good choice, and it is located in a very nice area. So

  • Liked — Close to tube
  • Disliked — No elevators, poor breakfast, no assistance
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

I booked this hotel by internet. Prices were good and the photos I show were nice. I was a bit worried when I read that reception was in another hotel. When we arrived there, we found an old and dirty house (not really an hotel, the hotel was across the street), no elevator, the carpet dirty and worn out, the furniture and appliances (very scarce) from IKEA, the lights very soft (maybe to avoid you seeing the scraps). I do not know who took the pictures that appear in the web site, but if I were a lawyer, I should sue them!
And what to tell about the breakfast! the worst hotel breakfast I had in my live! The first to arrive got the croissant!

But quite close from the tube and train station, that's true!

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

Booked this hotel from lastminute.com for an overnight stay following on from the Concert for Diana. Stayed in room 10, the room itself was adequate. Did not get a very good reception off the small TV which was placed on top of the fridge. The bathroom was so small could just about get in and out just! The main door had a gap with light coming through so had to put a towel in front of it to get to sleep. On the plus side the rates were good for London and the bed was very comfortable. The tube is only a short walk away. The lemon sherbuts on the reception counter were great! The breakfast is more than adequate given the rate for the room. A good selection of crossaints, white and brown bread for toast with preserves. Juices and tea/coffee plus a selection of cereals.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk/Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Me and my freind stayed here for one night while we went shopping and for a night out, the hotel room was good (what you'd expect for the money) The reception staff were very helpfull and gave us handfulls of sweets when we arrived :-) We didn't mind being across the road but although we were only on the first floor i feel sorry for the people who stayed at the top of the spiral staircase!! Maybe the only thing i would suggest would be a bell boy type service?? Overall this hotel was good for a nights stay. afterall you're only sleeping there...

  • Liked — The Reception Staff
  • Disliked — The stairs...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

POSITIVE

the room was spacious, furniture ok, clean, the bathroom was a little bit small,
nice area

NEGATIVE
the breakfast is terrible however

AFTER ALL
it is near the metro so it was very convenient for us, we just slept and took a shower so it was ok for that purpose:)

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #682 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.