We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Paddington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Paddington Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #720 of 1,073 hotels in London
Hong Kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

When I check in to this hotel, I just figured out that there is no lift, I need to carry my heavy luggage to top 7th floor by myself, no one help me. The room is smelly and floor is noisy when you walked around. Also I was woke up by noise from another room when they use water. Niose is very big sleeping quality is very bad. There is no wifi in the room, only available in the lobby across to the street. There is no reception under the hotel, you need to check in in another hotel across the street which is very inconvenient. This is the worst hotel ever, which really hurt my feeling to London. Dont stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: The good thing here is that this place is close to metro. Choose lower floor if you can since there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    73
    67
    27
    29
See reviews for
15
108
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nice hotel, stayed for a weekend great location close to the tube station Would stay again but proberly ask for a room that's not right at the top and to be picky breakfast is basic would be great for a full English breakfast.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is probably a repeat of others but we just stayed there 3 nites 8/26/12 check in across street anytime you leave you have to bring key across street to lobby. Room was on third floor no lift and narrow steep stairs. Room faced street and windows had no sound proofing was the noisiest room I have ever stayed in. They were able to move us to a nonstreet facing room but we had to bring all our luggage back down the 3 flights of stairs across street then the room they gave us was just across hall back on the third floor! The rooms had no A/C and were very hot! Breakfast was not very good too. The toaster was left on the whole time making the dining room so hot you were sweating. There was nothing very appealing to eat and every time you went back to get something the 2 women working the kitchen would give you the evil stare. Ask for assistance at front desk for a phone number of rental car at heathrow and they could not find it. Bottom line would not stay here again and was the most expensive hotel of our 20 day trip. A big rip off!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked this hotel last minute, not having read the reviews. We paid £69 for a Friday night, the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Paddington station, and about another 5 from Hyde Park.
There is no lift, although that didn't bother us. You check-in over the road in the lobby of another hotel, the staff their are very friendly. The hotel is old, it could do with a lick of paint! But the room was clean and tidy, we had doors that opened out onto a balcony (that we weren't allowed to walk out onto) which faced the fairly busy street, but I didn't find road noise any issue.

Breakfast was included, the dining room is in the basement, its a help yourself buffet style. They had cereals, yoghurts, toast (you toast the bread yourself if you want your bread toasted), croissants, tea, coffee and juice. For the price and location, I was quite impressed it included breakfast, I saw that some people complained but I thought it was nice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

No lifts ... I was to go down the stairs and over to the other side of the street to use WiFi (we´re
in year 2012). The bed was very uncomfortable, and the blanket looked like it has been used for the last 10 years. The window did not provide any noisereduction to the extremely noisy street, and every time you opened or closed it you were afraid it would break to pieces. There was a refrigerator on the room, but it was so noisy that you would need to unplug it if you wanted to sleep. The bathroom in our room was pretty ok.

The staff in the reception was nice, polite and helpful. And the location is good just next to Hyde Park and 5 min. walk to Lancaster Gate underground.

Not a place we will visit again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The check in is across the road away from the hotel, which is also the only place you can access free wifi. No wifi in the room, or even in the actual building that you stay in. I paid for a double room and the room I got was on street level and at the front of the building, noisy and bright as it is located on a main road, the room had a double bed and a single bed. And thank god it had the single bed as the sheets on the double were MOULDY! The bathroom was rather grotty and old. Also had a shower curtain which was also mouldy. The beds are super uncomfortable, and have ratty blankets to go with the mouldy sheets. Lucky I only had to stay here for a night. The breakfast was okay, the ladies attending to the breakfast seem to watch you like hawks. Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Oh and there was no aircon, just a fan which looked like a fire hazard.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

we stayed at this hotel on 4th August 2012, was on the forth floor no lift, room was very tiny bathroom was awful was so tiny if you were much taller then 5ft you had to duck to avoid the beam , the shower was a waste of time.Floor was slanted and the steep into the bathroom was dangerous I stubbed my toe on it several times. Breakfast was not good a choice of cereals, toast fruit and yogurt .Had to go across the road to check in and was asked for my passport for i.d .was ripped off cost £110.00 per person per night

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #720 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.