We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare alley” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Paddington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Paddington Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #645 of 1,071 hotels in London
Wickenburg, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nightmare alley”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is probably a repeat of others but we just stayed there 3 nites 8/26/12 check in across street anytime you leave you have to bring key across street to lobby. Room was on third floor no lift and narrow steep stairs. Room faced street and windows had no sound proofing was the noisiest room I have ever stayed in. They were able to move us to a nonstreet facing room but we had to bring all our luggage back down the 3 flights of stairs across street then the room they gave us was just across hall back on the third floor! The rooms had no A/C and were very hot! Breakfast was not very good too. The toaster was left on the whole time making the dining room so hot you were sweating. There was nothing very appealing to eat and every time you went back to get something the 2 women working the kitchen would give you the evil stare. Ask for assistance at front desk for a phone number of rental car at heathrow and they could not find it. Bottom line would not stay here again and was the most expensive hotel of our 20 day trip. A big rip off!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    106
    85
    44
    36
See reviews for
13
99
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked this hotel last minute, not having read the reviews. We paid £69 for a Friday night, the hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Paddington station, and about another 5 from Hyde Park.
There is no lift, although that didn't bother us. You check-in over the road in the lobby of another hotel, the staff their are very friendly. The hotel is old, it could do with a lick of paint! But the room was clean and tidy, we had doors that opened out onto a balcony (that we weren't allowed to walk out onto) which faced the fairly busy street, but I didn't find road noise any issue.

Breakfast was included, the dining room is in the basement, its a help yourself buffet style. They had cereals, yoghurts, toast (you toast the bread yourself if you want your bread toasted), croissants, tea, coffee and juice. For the price and location, I was quite impressed it included breakfast, I saw that some people complained but I thought it was nice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

No lifts ... I was to go down the stairs and over to the other side of the street to use WiFi (we´re
in year 2012). The bed was very uncomfortable, and the blanket looked like it has been used for the last 10 years. The window did not provide any noisereduction to the extremely noisy street, and every time you opened or closed it you were afraid it would break to pieces. There was a refrigerator on the room, but it was so noisy that you would need to unplug it if you wanted to sleep. The bathroom in our room was pretty ok.

The staff in the reception was nice, polite and helpful. And the location is good just next to Hyde Park and 5 min. walk to Lancaster Gate underground.

Not a place we will visit again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The check in is across the road away from the hotel, which is also the only place you can access free wifi. No wifi in the room, or even in the actual building that you stay in. I paid for a double room and the room I got was on street level and at the front of the building, noisy and bright as it is located on a main road, the room had a double bed and a single bed. And thank god it had the single bed as the sheets on the double were MOULDY! The bathroom was rather grotty and old. Also had a shower curtain which was also mouldy. The beds are super uncomfortable, and have ratty blankets to go with the mouldy sheets. Lucky I only had to stay here for a night. The breakfast was okay, the ladies attending to the breakfast seem to watch you like hawks. Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Oh and there was no aircon, just a fan which looked like a fire hazard.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

we stayed at this hotel on 4th August 2012, was on the forth floor no lift, room was very tiny bathroom was awful was so tiny if you were much taller then 5ft you had to duck to avoid the beam , the shower was a waste of time.Floor was slanted and the steep into the bathroom was dangerous I stubbed my toe on it several times. Breakfast was not good a choice of cereals, toast fruit and yogurt .Had to go across the road to check in and was asked for my passport for i.d .was ripped off cost £110.00 per person per night

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel on the 14th July 2012, from the photo's and the location it looked good, and close enough for us to walk from the Hyde Park gig of Bruce Springsteen.
The staff on reception were very nice, courteous and professional though the area itself looked a bit shabby.
On receipt of keys we were pointed in the direction of the accommodation across the road, we were told our room was on the fourth floor and that there was no lift.
As soon as we went through the front door it was apparent that this was a real dump, the disgusting carpet on the stairs a pre cursor to what awaited us in our room.
Our expectations for Hotel stay's is that we don't stay anywhere that offers us less comfort and cleanliness of our own home, from some reviews on here it seems that others don't share the same expectations?
Our room: Having survived 8 flights of stairs carrying a case, our room was a tad shabby, the bathroom was filthy, the shower, I would prefer not to talk about, disgusting covers it.
The only positive was the bed, it looked to have clean sheets and it was comfortable.
Never again, and as for all those photographs, which Hotel are they, certainly not this one. We skipped breakfast, we just wanted to get out of this filth bucket!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, a tent would serve you better or even a park bench!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had a great stay in the Paddington Hotel this week, stayed for 3 nights bed and breakfast, had a nice clean room, good breakfast and the Hotel was so handy for all the local restaurants, Hyde Park, the tube and a great pub nearby The Swan. One small complaint was the lack of air-con, the room was quite hot and although a fan was provided it was a bit noisy to be sleeping with and blew warm air around the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Also Known As:
Paddington Hotel
The Paddington Hotel London, England
Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #645 of 1,071 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.