We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddington Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Paddington Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Paddington Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #645 of 1,069 hotels in London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The check in is across the road away from the hotel, which is also the only place you can access free wifi. No wifi in the room, or even in the actual building that you stay in. I paid for a double room and the room I got was on street level and at the front of the building, noisy and bright as it is located on a main road, the room had a double bed and a single bed. And thank god it had the single bed as the sheets on the double were MOULDY! The bathroom was rather grotty and old. Also had a shower curtain which was also mouldy. The beds are super uncomfortable, and have ratty blankets to go with the mouldy sheets. Lucky I only had to stay here for a night. The breakfast was okay, the ladies attending to the breakfast seem to watch you like hawks. Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Oh and there was no aircon, just a fan which looked like a fire hazard.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    106
    85
    44
    36
See reviews for
13
99
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

we stayed at this hotel on 4th August 2012, was on the forth floor no lift, room was very tiny bathroom was awful was so tiny if you were much taller then 5ft you had to duck to avoid the beam , the shower was a waste of time.Floor was slanted and the steep into the bathroom was dangerous I stubbed my toe on it several times. Breakfast was not good a choice of cereals, toast fruit and yogurt .Had to go across the road to check in and was asked for my passport for i.d .was ripped off cost £110.00 per person per night

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel on the 14th July 2012, from the photo's and the location it looked good, and close enough for us to walk from the Hyde Park gig of Bruce Springsteen.
The staff on reception were very nice, courteous and professional though the area itself looked a bit shabby.
On receipt of keys we were pointed in the direction of the accommodation across the road, we were told our room was on the fourth floor and that there was no lift.
As soon as we went through the front door it was apparent that this was a real dump, the disgusting carpet on the stairs a pre cursor to what awaited us in our room.
Our expectations for Hotel stay's is that we don't stay anywhere that offers us less comfort and cleanliness of our own home, from some reviews on here it seems that others don't share the same expectations?
Our room: Having survived 8 flights of stairs carrying a case, our room was a tad shabby, the bathroom was filthy, the shower, I would prefer not to talk about, disgusting covers it.
The only positive was the bed, it looked to have clean sheets and it was comfortable.
Never again, and as for all those photographs, which Hotel are they, certainly not this one. We skipped breakfast, we just wanted to get out of this filth bucket!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, a tent would serve you better or even a park bench!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had a great stay in the Paddington Hotel this week, stayed for 3 nights bed and breakfast, had a nice clean room, good breakfast and the Hotel was so handy for all the local restaurants, Hyde Park, the tube and a great pub nearby The Swan. One small complaint was the lack of air-con, the room was quite hot and although a fan was provided it was a bit noisy to be sleeping with and blew warm air around the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Arriving in London as a young couple just looking for somewhere to rest our heads before a weekend enjoying the sights. As we arrived at the location it looked very appealing from the outside and the surrounding area has some beautiful buildings. we checked in and headed to our room, luckily we were only on the second floor as the stairs were a killer when carrying heavy bags up four flights of stairs, (wouldn't recommend for the elderly). on entering our room we did have some issues with the key to start with but soon got the knack of it (the key being a traditional key rather then a hotel swipe key). Once the door was open we were already hot from walking up the stairs and the room was extremely stuffy and hot so I headed straight to the window to find them locked!

Small room but all we wanted was somewhere to rest our heads to be honest. the shower was a tad grubby with lose fittings and handles but nothing major. Cleanliness of other areas not great, we found a dirty frankly disgusting sock under our bed which was not ours. Another negative was when ever you leave your room you have to hand your keys into reception (reception based across the road in another hotel).

Before a night out my partner decided he needed a iron so he went to reception to ask for one and a ironing board, the iron was handed over with a promise of a iron board in 5 minutes.... it never arrived all night. The next morning we thought we would get up for breakfast headed down and seriously its the worst breakfast experience I have ever had in a hotel, walk down into the basement to be greeted by a awkward silence and a lady who just say sign the sheet. No one else was in the restaurant and I can understand why. Breakfast consisted of bread with a toaster located in the restaurant which we were not told about until we noticed it after we decided to opt for cereal (with no toaster in sight). a basket of eggs? I assume they were hard boiled? a small selection of cereal and jams, with warm milk and orange juice available. If it wasn't for the fact breakfast was included and if we had paid extra for this I would of been raising these issues with the staff expecting money back. However as it was included should i really stress my concern? we didn't bother with it the next day. Unfortunately the sleep quality wasnt very good we were so hot all night really needed that window open!

Positives- the hotel is in a fabulous location so close to Hyde park which was exactly what we were after, really close to the tubes and superbly connected. Also the price was reasonable for a bed in London im sure we wouldn't of found anything any cheaper or in a better location.

Room Tip: Lower floors to save your legs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

No frills but everything we needed. Comfy double bed, tv, tea and coffee facilities, shower etc. Good location, 5mins walk to nearest tube station.

No air con and room was warm, couldn't really open window due to road noise.

A little tricky to find, no big sign just a small nameplate, also check in/out is at another hotel across the way

In general, clean, comfy, good location and good value.

Room Tip: A fair bit of traffic noise so a rear room (if there are any) would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Really wanted a nice cheap hotel for me and my partners 2 day getaway to London. I'd never been before and my partner had already booked this hotel as it was close to The Royal Albert Hall for our concert "Carrie Underwood".

It was right in the middle of everywhere we wanted to visit, just a short subway ride away. We planned on a quick 20-25 minute walk through Hyde park but eventually it worked out not so quick. When we found the hotel there was a sign on the door telling us to go to the hotel opposite for reception etc. The receptionists were always very friendly and helpful, money was exchanged (which breakfast was included) and was told our room was on the other side and our key was given. Unfortunately our room was on the 4th floor and no lift was available BUT we are in our early 20's so it wasn't really a problem, as tiring as our traveling day was it didn't matter. I would find the stairs being a problem for elderly people or for people staying longer than a few days but as it was just one night it wasn't a problem at all.

The bedroom was small but very clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a fridge which we did not expect so for that I was happy for my alcohol. The lighting in the room was pretty bad but that was the only downside. the bed was all i wanted after our concert and drinks out. the bed was very clean and was comfortable. We both had a great nights sleep. Reading reviews beforehand the breakfast was a little daunting..but we was hungry so decided to go to the breakfast room that was open from 7.30am-11.30? we got there for about 8.15 and the room was full with only a couple of tables spare. We got a small table right next door to the kitchen hatch. there was alot of different food available, bread, croissants, cerals, fresh fruit and eggs. I guessed you asked a staff member to cook the eggs but we i decided for croissants and my partner went for toast. there was a large toaster and microwave. the food was absoltely fine and tasty.

being next to the hatch you could see the staff were very clean and were very helpful and told us to have a good day in London. (we were the last ones left in the room and we were the only ones who brought our plates back through to the kitchen which seemed appreciated)

we left our bags with the hotel when we gave our key back in. Would defently stay again if we come back to London next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground room floor if you don't wanna climb up a mountain always be polite...because i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Also Known As:
Paddington Hotel
The Paddington Hotel London, England
Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #645 of 1,069 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.