We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cheap hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Paddington Hotel to your Saves list
The Paddington Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #726 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Grimsby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little cheap hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Really wanted a nice cheap hotel for me and my partners 2 day getaway to London. I'd never been before and my partner had already booked this hotel as it was close to The Royal Albert Hall for our concert "Carrie Underwood".

It was right in the middle of everywhere we wanted to visit, just a short subway ride away. We planned on a quick 20-25 minute walk through Hyde park but eventually it worked out not so quick. When we found the hotel there was a sign on the door telling us to go to the hotel opposite for reception etc. The receptionists were always very friendly and helpful, money was exchanged (which breakfast was included) and was told our room was on the other side and our key was given. Unfortunately our room was on the 4th floor and no lift was available BUT we are in our early 20's so it wasn't really a problem, as tiring as our traveling day was it didn't matter. I would find the stairs being a problem for elderly people or for people staying longer than a few days but as it was just one night it wasn't a problem at all.

The bedroom was small but very clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a fridge which we did not expect so for that I was happy for my alcohol. The lighting in the room was pretty bad but that was the only downside. the bed was all i wanted after our concert and drinks out. the bed was very clean and was comfortable. We both had a great nights sleep. Reading reviews beforehand the breakfast was a little daunting..but we was hungry so decided to go to the breakfast room that was open from 7.30am-11.30? we got there for about 8.15 and the room was full with only a couple of tables spare. We got a small table right next door to the kitchen hatch. there was alot of different food available, bread, croissants, cerals, fresh fruit and eggs. I guessed you asked a staff member to cook the eggs but we i decided for croissants and my partner went for toast. there was a large toaster and microwave. the food was absoltely fine and tasty.

being next to the hatch you could see the staff were very clean and were very helpful and told us to have a good day in London. (we were the last ones left in the room and we were the only ones who brought our plates back through to the kitchen which seemed appreciated)

we left our bags with the hotel when we gave our key back in. Would defently stay again if we come back to London next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground room floor if you don't wanna climb up a mountain always be polite...because i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    83
    72
    28
    32
See reviews for
16
119
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Lovely rooms, but a bit un organised. Good location and easy access to the tube.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennesse
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here back in Sep 2011 for 4 nights and paid avg of 70 GBP a night for a room with an en-suite bathroom so for that price I guess it was not too bad. The location is the best part, it's close to Paddington Station and Lancaster tube, but on a quieter street. The room was a bit beaten-up and bathroom was little shabby (not dirty), but I think it could use an upgrade overall. I would not recommend it for a romantic stay, its a decent budget room for crashing out at night and if you're going to be away from the room most of the time sight seeing etc. It's better I think for singles or couples, we did not see any folks with kids and maybe steps etc would be more challenging if you have kids and luggage. This was our first time in London but I guess in this price range this would be among the best. The front desk and breakfast staff were friendly and breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Good for its price, situated near the Paddington railway staion. Rooms are simple furnitured and small but enough to fall to bed after London walks. The location is great: two different underground stations, a park and everything you need. The reception is in the opposite building. Breakfast is very simple. Staff is friendly and cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

If you're the type who's looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel, this is not for you. If you're comfortable staying at a no-frills kind of hotel, this is probably the best value. Yes, the building is a little old and could use some handywork or remodeling (nicks and dents around doors, etc), but everything does function. For a London hotel, it was more spacious than I anticipated (although the bathroom and shower were definitely on the small side). Bed was a little on the stiff side. Free breakfast downstairs was better than most: cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast, croissants, yogurt, coffee, juice, cheese. Excellent location-- close to 2 Tube stations (Paddington and Lancaster Gate) that make it easy to get wherever you want to go. Neighborhood was relatively quiet, but if you're a light sleeper, you may want earplugs just in case. Walking distance to several wonderful restaurants. No alarm clock in the room, but the staff is happy to set a wake-up call. There are, however, a safe, mini fridge, and electric kettle (with coffee & tea) in room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Booked the room so it would have 2 beds, got to the room and it had one. No elevator,had to climb up many flights of stairs with heavy bags. Wont let u sign in until 2. Bad place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanersborg, Sweden
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The hotel is situated near Hyde Park, and not very far from Notting Hill and Oxford Street, so it is a central hotel. The staff was always friendly, and the reception is open 24-7. The room we got was real tiny, but most hotel rooms in big cities are, so it was no surprise really. The nearest bus stop and tube station Lancaster gate was only about 200 m. away, so that was really good. The traffic was not very busy on the street and we had our window to the backyard, so no problems with noise.

The bed was really hard, and I had difficulties getting used to it in the beginning, pillows were nice and soft on the other hand. Bathroom was vety small, but clean and tidy, except for when we got new towels the last day - one of them had orange stains on it.

Breakfast was a disaster - variety was good, but the quality of food was poor. When we opened our eggs they were a little black inside, even though they were warm. Either they were overboiled - or even worse - boiled another day and microwaved warm. I am otherwise very fond of eggs, but couldn't finish this one. When we got there the first morning I found crumbs on the plate where the coffemug was. The fruit was also really old, so we didn't dare eat them. The last day they were out of butter and didn't seem eager to help us at all find something we liked to put on our toasts. Sure it is nice when breakfast is included in the price, but I would have prefered fresh and clean food.

To sum up:

Positive things
- Location
- 24 hour reception
- friendly staff in reception
- clean bathroom
- price

Negative things
- Hard bed
- BREAKFAST

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #726 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.