We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad for a simple stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Paddington Hotel to your Saves list
The Paddington Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #682 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“not bad for a simple stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Good for its price, situated near the Paddington railway staion. Rooms are simple furnitured and small but enough to fall to bed after London walks. The location is great: two different underground stations, a park and everything you need. The reception is in the opposite building. Breakfast is very simple. Staff is friendly and cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    95
    82
    29
    32
See reviews for
18
132
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

If you're the type who's looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel, this is not for you. If you're comfortable staying at a no-frills kind of hotel, this is probably the best value. Yes, the building is a little old and could use some handywork or remodeling (nicks and dents around doors, etc), but everything does function. For a London hotel, it was more spacious than I anticipated (although the bathroom and shower were definitely on the small side). Bed was a little on the stiff side. Free breakfast downstairs was better than most: cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast, croissants, yogurt, coffee, juice, cheese. Excellent location-- close to 2 Tube stations (Paddington and Lancaster Gate) that make it easy to get wherever you want to go. Neighborhood was relatively quiet, but if you're a light sleeper, you may want earplugs just in case. Walking distance to several wonderful restaurants. No alarm clock in the room, but the staff is happy to set a wake-up call. There are, however, a safe, mini fridge, and electric kettle (with coffee & tea) in room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Booked the room so it would have 2 beds, got to the room and it had one. No elevator,had to climb up many flights of stairs with heavy bags. Wont let u sign in until 2. Bad place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanersborg, Sweden
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The hotel is situated near Hyde Park, and not very far from Notting Hill and Oxford Street, so it is a central hotel. The staff was always friendly, and the reception is open 24-7. The room we got was real tiny, but most hotel rooms in big cities are, so it was no surprise really. The nearest bus stop and tube station Lancaster gate was only about 200 m. away, so that was really good. The traffic was not very busy on the street and we had our window to the backyard, so no problems with noise.

The bed was really hard, and I had difficulties getting used to it in the beginning, pillows were nice and soft on the other hand. Bathroom was vety small, but clean and tidy, except for when we got new towels the last day - one of them had orange stains on it.

Breakfast was a disaster - variety was good, but the quality of food was poor. When we opened our eggs they were a little black inside, even though they were warm. Either they were overboiled - or even worse - boiled another day and microwaved warm. I am otherwise very fond of eggs, but couldn't finish this one. When we got there the first morning I found crumbs on the plate where the coffemug was. The fruit was also really old, so we didn't dare eat them. The last day they were out of butter and didn't seem eager to help us at all find something we liked to put on our toasts. Sure it is nice when breakfast is included in the price, but I would have prefered fresh and clean food.

To sum up:

Positive things
- Location
- 24 hour reception
- friendly staff in reception
- clean bathroom
- price

Negative things
- Hard bed
- BREAKFAST

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Having read the mixed reviews of the Paddington Hotel we were unsure what to expect. Having stayed in this area of London before in a higher star hotel (four stars and mould on the windows!) I wasn't expecting much but was pleasently surprised.

Ok so you have to check in over the road, hardly a hardship as it's not exactly a busy road to cross. What you should be mindful of though is the stairs! We were on the top floor and due to the hotel being a period property there was a lot of stairs! Not ideal if you've not got the best knees and heavy bags.

After climbing the stairs we were surprised by the size of our room. There was ample room to swing a cat and a large one at that. The room was clean and had sufficient facilities. The fridge in the room was rather ancient and noisy and not really necessary but I could see that some visitors may appreciate it. Due to our room being at the top of the building it was also very warm, the heating wasn't on and we still had to sleep with the window open and it was only February! the room did have a floor fan and I can imagine it'll be well needed later on in the year.

Breakfast was perfectly fine - you can't really go wrong with cereal and toast (and I happen to like Dairylea triangles on toast for breakfast), I do have to agree with the comments about the coffee though - having real coffee (not sachets) would be a vast improvement and would take little effort but would make a big difference!

The Hotel is in an ideal location, well within easy walking distance of the tube and close to Hyde Park, there are also a couple of local supermarkets and restaurants nearby if you've exhausted yourself from walking around the sights all day.

All in all the Paddington Hotel is a perfectly fine budget hotel and having stayed at the four star Hilton not so far away I know which one I'd return too - despite the sachet coffee!

Room Tip: Unless you're fit with light bags and good knees avoid rooms on the top floor or be prepared to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Booked this hotel with another couple when we attended the Last Night of the Proms at Hyde Park, and were really disappointed - you had to book in at their sister hotel across the road, the rooms we adequate, although the bathroom felt dirty, and the TV only had analogue TV channels (in the wrong order). The attempt at breakfast in the basement was awful - coffee from sachets like you find in your room - a poor selection of "Continental" breakfast - not very fresh either.

We will return to the proms again in 2012, but will AVOID this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

For our experience, i think the amount of negative reviews that we read here are unfair.
Yes the rooms are on the building opposite to the reception, but it's the one shown in the pics anyway!
The trick of the 70X number of the rooms has been clearly explained to us at the arrival so no inconvenience.
There is no elevator, but the staircase are easy and wide.
Our room, number 9, was much better than expected, for a 2 stars hotel: second floor, large, big window on the street side with light in the morning ( having sun coming in from the window in London is a plus!), bed was bit narrow for two but comfortable, small bathroom but equipped with all the necessary, small safe, fridge and tv good enough for 4 nights there!

The location of the hotel is perfect: 100m from the underground on the Central Line, this means that with maximum one change you can get easily close to all the main attractions.
The area is filled with hotels and has lots of residential streets, it's calm and pleasant, if you want to be in the middle of the "action" this is not the place to be.
We found nice to go around and come back every day in a quiet area.

Starting the day with a walk in Hyde Park, also 100m from the hotel, saying HI to the statue of Peter Pan, was really nice.
We didn't try the included breakfast 'cause we preferred fresh food from bakeries or in one of the nice bars around the city.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

No doubts that when we will go back to London we will ask for Room 9 here!

Room Tip: Our corner room number 9 was large enough and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddington Hotel

Address: 28 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #682 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Paddington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.