We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel to your Saves list
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James) (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Offers
Ranked #174 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Limerick
1 review
“Poor Service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Check in was very slow. £50 had to be paid from my credit card at check in. This is Hotel Policy, I've never encountered it before.It was returned 3 days later but I lost out on exchange rate. I had booked a twin room but the room assigned had a double bed. It took 4 phone calls to Housekeeping for a fold up bed (most uncomfortable) to arrive. Breakfast was chaotic, long wait for buffet to be replenished.

Room Tip: The room was fine as a double but the fold up bed was uncomfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear margaretmV3082RP,

Thank you for sharing your disappointing stay experience, we are sorry to read that you were not happy with several aspects of your stay and the service that you have received. I have sent you a personal message to try to establish when and where you stayed and so I can address each of these areas not only with yourself but also with the team at the hotel.

Thank you again for the feedback and please accept my apologies for the disappointing stay experience. I hope to hear back from you shortly.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    316
    100
    37
    13
See reviews for
158
463
40
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely place! Great location and really easy to find, beautiful food and nice staff, made a crazy stay really welcoming and relaxed- would recommend staying again to all my friends- lovely jubbly indeed!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Jscoble,

Thank you for the review for your stay. Whilst the trip was hectic, I am delighted that the hotel offered you an oasis of calm and glad you were able to get away from the crazy trip. Thank you for the endorsement and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you again for the review of your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Friendly staff at the hotel reception, was checked in by Isabelle who was really nice and welcoming and while checking out, Anubhav made sure everything had went well! It's a great location and a modern interior, the only negatives of the hotel as the long walk to the room from the lobby, it could literally take you 6 min to reach your room, it's kind of a maze to get to your room.
An overall good experience

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear SkySan436,

Thank you for the review following your stay with us. We are pleased to read that from your arrival to departure that you enjoyed the experience and the service provided by the reception team in particular. I appreciate your feedback regarding the distance of some of the rooms, I hope to establish where you stayed and so we can avoid this room on a future stay.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to book a room very late in the morning (3rd of May around 4am) as we had a party with friends and it was too late to go back to Surrey.
Upon check in we have been given a room which is was great. The service was quick and efficient. Arriving to the room we called to ask two dental kits that we never received. Called a second time to ask for 5S charger that they never sent to the room. I had to call a third time to ask for the charger and the answer was : of sorry we don't borrow charger: bring it to the reception we will charge it for you. Very unprofessional and rude service.
Its sad to realise that the service is different depending of the guest... I didn't like my stay at this hotel and will never stay!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear HabibaMaya,

Thank you for the feedback for your stay with us. I am disappointed to read the level and quality of service that you received and this is being addressed immediately. I have reached out to you directly to understand a little more about your experience and I hope to hear from you soon. With regret we do not always have the phone charges available that can be delivered to a room, but what I believe my colleagues were trying to explain was that we have a charge station at the reception desk that we could do this for you.

Thank you again for the feedback and review. I assure you improvements will be made to the level of service that you received.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Located just minutes from Buckingham Palace and Liverpool St Station, a little gem in the heart of London. A very nice hotel with very professional, friendly and courteous staff. I would recommend this hotel to any traveller in London.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Lisa C,

Thank you for the review for your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed this experience and found the service to your liking. I believe that you are referring to Victoria station rather than Liverpool Street Station on the review as this is a little further away.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed here second time in past few years and a tad sad that the management could have been a bit well oiled. of course the signature taj management is changing fast i hear from india but yet not swift enough to respond to requests. the bar is lovely and my favourite though and the location wins over in heart of london steps away from marble arch. would be back in june this year and hope to see changes

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ruchelleondgo,

Thank you for your review for your stays and preview to your forthcoming stay at the hotel. We are disappointed that you have not been entirely satisfied with the hotel operation and I hope that this will be corrected. The hotel is located next to Buckingham Palace and not next to Marble Arch, this is about a 5 - 10 minute taxi ride from the hotel or a 20 minute walk.

We look forward to welcoming you back and so you can see the improvements that have been made.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently traveled to London for the fist time. Though my travel was work related and outside of London, on a Saturday I took the train and spent one night. I was fortunate to have a friend recommend the St. James Court. Though a bit outside my budget, it was worth every pound. The hotel has a good location, close to Westminster Abby, Buckingham Palace and the St. James Park. It's a very impressive building with a beautiful court yard. The staff was welcoming and friendLy. Though my room was far from the elevators, it was worth the "maze like" walk. The room was small, but what it lacked in size, it made up with comfort, lovely decor, soft bed, and a marbled bathroom. I had no view, but that's what you get for the price. The lobby has a nice bar with the traditional tea time and a lovely selection of cocktails. I highly recommend the splurge.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ali D,

Thank you for the review following your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the overall stay and despite the size of your room, found the hotel comfortable and most importantly the service from the team to be helpful and friendly.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and thank you again for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in London
#120 Business Hotel in London
#126 Family Hotel in London
#132 Luxury Hotel in London
#136 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.