We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms could use a bit of a refresh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel to your Saves list
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James) (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Offer
Ranked #166 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms could use a bit of a refresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Only thing we didn't like is that we can hear the tube, feel the vibrations from our room.... Our room is a bit run down but otherwise hotel is lovely. It is also really well located only a five minute walk from Big Ben.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    230
    78
    32
    7
See reviews for
119
354
32
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for one night.
The pro's ...are the location. It's near Buckingham Palace and very close to the underground. We enjoyed the walk across Green Park. The lobby is quite nice and the staff were very polite.
The con's ... Our room on the first floor must have been directly over the tube. We could hear the rumble every few minutes. The room was very small. The hallways were looking very old and in need of a refurb'. The shower didn't have hot water and we had house keeping knock on my door at 9am. This may not be too early for some, but it's nice to have a choice of a lie in! Especially after a night out!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Adam P,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience. The team and I are disappointed that you are not completely satisfied with your stay and you were impacted by noise from the London Underground, but also disturbed by a staff member accessing your room.

Please accept my apologies and the staff disturbance will be addressed immediately, with the noise from the tube being a larger issue in the hotel, more so a particular area of the hotel.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back in 2015.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed our stay but if anyone is going to stay there in the future please avoid the ground floor as you will hear the underground throughout and it loud, other than that can't fault the hotel
We will definitely be staying here again as the location was perfect also.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Adamccfc,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay. With the exception of the noise from the Lindon Underground, we were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay. We are working with London Underground to rescue the noise issue and we hope to get this resolved sooner rather than later.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for the review of your stay.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very helpful staff who were always polite and cheerful. The room was very good for its category (classic king) with plenty of space and comfort (ask for 774). The complimentary features are very welcome and plentiful. The only slight downside was the shower was not a walk in but over the bath and it was not the best of its kind. Breakfast is a well stocked buffet which was well served and excellent value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Room 774 has plenty of space, quiet on top floor, no great view and a long way from the lift but was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear paul I,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay. The room that you stayed in is one of our larger Classic King rooms and I am happy to read that you enjoyed it as well as the breakfast.

We look forward to your return stay and thank you for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Actually I ended up sleeping here by coincidence. My travel agent made a mistake as I wanted to stay at Taj 51 next door. So initially I actually was irritated to be at their doorstep as I didn't want to stay in just another business hotel. Despite the fact that the mistake clearly was made by the travel agent, the staff was very accommodating and went out of their way to apologise and even offered finding a place next door. As it was fully booked I decided to stay for the night here. What a pleasant surprise, a large room, refurbished and nice. A beautiful building and excellent gym. Cherry on top: roomservice that allows you to order from the menu of their 1 star Indian restaurant, Michelin star room service,... Now here's a first. But not the last time as I am sure next time I need to stay in London for business it will be here,... I found my spot. And thank you Taj personnel (Martijn and the front desk manager) for being so friendly when I was annoyed,.. I entered with a grim face but left with a smile. Your hotel deserves a great rating for being different and authentic.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Ivo en Sonja R,

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. Whilst your stay was not expected, the team and I were delighted to read that the hotel staff embraced your arrival and made you feel welcome and any initial disappointment was soon gone. I am pleased you liked the room and found the entire experience good and this will now be your hotel of choice when back in London.

Thank you for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varese
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very well decorated in the lobby, you feel the indian touch.
The Breakfast room is really really nice and the breakfast is rich and good.

The rooms are well decorated and with a lot of attention to details, with all the amenities that you need.
The location is amazing to explore London because is very near to Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, Harrods and the tube station of St James' park.

the only flaw was the noise of air conditioners (I've had a room on the courtyard: not the perfect view)

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear PietroVarese,

Thank you for the review for you recent stay. The team and I are pleased you had a great stay. I hope to establish the room where you stayed and so I can establish the noise that you refer to.

Thank you for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon when in London.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed there only for 1 night but I had the feeling that the hotel was great.
atmosphere, staff, cleanliness, room was comfortable, bathroom great..
we had all what we need.
the staff most of all is really helpful and nice.
I would absolutely go back for one more night.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Marianna C,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay with us. The team and I are delighted to read you had a great stay and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Thank you for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
#129 Business Hotel in London
#150 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.