We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James) (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 1,075 hotels in London
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Faultless in every way, astounding location, and felt we were treated like royalty on our one night stay 30/06/014. Hotel was happy to store our luggage when we checked in early, and it was ready in our room when we arrived later..nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    114
    34
    17
    5
See reviews for
67
191
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at St James from the 25 the to the 27 th of June.
The Hotel is very well placed with a quick walk to Buckingham Palace and very close to the Tube.
When we arrived reception was busy , however we were quickly taken to a managers desk where we were signed straight in.
The room on the 7 th floor was newly renovated and a great space.
We found the staff very helpful especially the team at the Concierge desk.

Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed from 6th to 8th July, came to London to watch Le Tour. The hotel was absolutely perfect, we received a free room upgrade and a complimentary birthday cake delivered to the room. The staff were amazing and really couldn't have been more helpful. The room was lovely, spacious and clean.
We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear MJ7772014,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay with us to celebrate both your birthday as well as seeing the end of the Tour De France in London. We are delighted to read that you had a great time and enjoyed the upgraded room and the little something left for you to celebrate your special day. We hope that this will not be the last stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Checked in with my child for one night so we could be in close proximity to the main attractions. Pleased with location, accommodation and attentive service of the hotel. Monica took great care of us during check-in and even had a kids pack of goodies on hand. Retired to our room for the night and a surprise tray included a hot chocolate and personalize cookie. Nice touch - brought a smile to my child. :) Buffet breakfast selection was great and staff were always checking to see if we were taken care of. View overlooking the courtyard from our room and was quiet. Bathroom a little small and a few minor chips in the porcelain. Beds were split into twins and had to move one to access the closet. You can't go wrong at all with 2 min walk to St James Park tube station which is the closest and Starbucks immediately opposite entrance. Pret-a-Manger, Greggs plus countless cafes nearby for grabbing 'picnic at the park' supplies. There is also a small shop on the corner, enroute to the Palace to stop and get your backpack beverages for the day. Would return to St James Court again.

Room Tip: #457 was quiet and a nice courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear AZSamH,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that both you and your son enjoyed the experience and found the service provided by the team to be very much to your liking. We will review the room where you stayed and address the issues in the bathroom and see if we can fix the issue with the wardrobe & the bed.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we stayed at St. James' Court Hotel 04/07/14 - 06/07/14. everything about this hotel was first class. from the moment we arrived and were received as old freinds, even though this was our fiirst visit, to when we had a late check out. the room was excellent, clean, fresh and well accomadated. even though there was a large wedding on Saturday afternoon and evening the layout of the hotel meant that guests were not disturbed and in fact even after midnight there was no noise from the wedding party's dancing etc. we used the hotels outside bar and also the Hampton bar and the Bistro, the food and service in the Bistro was very, very good and the equal of any accoladed restaurant in London. i was especially pleased with this as i usually do not eat in hotel restaurants with so many on offer very close by. i have stayed in a number of Taj Hotels in India, the standard is extremely high and the St. James' court is their equal.
i would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for quality and service, most people believe such things are in the past, not at the St. James's Court Hotel, it is their normal standard.
Barry Perks, Cheltenham UK

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mr Perks,

Thank you for the terrific review following your stay at the weekend. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and really enjoyed all aspects of this stay. I am pleased that you were not disturbed by the wedding and you enjoyed the peace and serenity if the courtyard. I am particularly pleased you enjoyed the service provided by the entire team.

Thank you again for the review and we do look forward to your return visit.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This centrally located hotel deserves all the attention of travellers; not only it's a luxury hotel but all the premises are gorgeous; our room was almost a suite and small attentions are waiting for the guests; the restaurant we tried was great too (Bistro 51), also a good option is delicious indian food; an afternoon tea was perfect in the garden, we really enjoyed our stay and would come back soon !

Room Tip: we had a standard double room but its size was almost a junior suite, decoration is very nice;
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear IVANATR,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. The team and I were delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay experience. We are pleased you liked your room as well as your meal in Bistro 51.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just stayed here for a four night break with work and have no concerns in recommending this hotel for a London Break.
The Location is fantastic, 150yrds away from Victoria station, 250yrds away from Buckingham Palace, 100yrd away from Westminster cathedral and 10mins walk from Westminster abbey and House of parliament so its ideal for tourists.

Bonus
Very good efficient and friendly staff, Great during the breakfast period (special thank you to Monika?) for a very good service each morning
Clean and spotless hotel


Negatives
The hotel is classed as a luxury hotel therefore not cheap to stay in ....doesn't need to be that costly.
The rooms are a bit tired and are in need for refurbishment.

I had a bit of an issue during the early hours in which the hotel managed well.

Yes I would stay there again if the price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for room above 3rd level as you can here the rumble of the tube from 3rd floor and below
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear TheRedemptionMilitia,

Thank you for the review for your recent 4 night stay. We really appreciate feedback be it positive or negative as we strive to better how and what we do. We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed the stay and the service provided. I will be sure to recognise Monika for her efforts daily to ensure your room was nice and clean.

We hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you for the review and feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
#128 Romantic Hotel in London
#135 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, LondonMarketing.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.