We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel to your Saves list
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James) (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Offer
Ranked #165 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Tirupati, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

You know there are some hotels where there are small things you may not like,the view or the time the lift takes to come down but all that gets overshadowed by the superb service and excellent staff.Good location. Loved the breakfast.The dinner at bistro was great too, with an Asian twist. Very near to cardinal place where you have nandos and some eateries. Some rooms are undergoing renovation but it' did not disturb us at all. Will stay there again and recommend to all my friends. The restraunt banks next door is lovely too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear bhavana m,

Thank you for the review and thank you for the terrific endorsement of the hotel. The entire team are delighted that they ensured that you had a great stay and your hotel of choice for any return stay to London. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the St James' Court, A Taj Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    231
    78
    32
    7
See reviews for
119
355
32
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a lovely hotel, the service was great here, on arrival there was a birthday cake and card from the kind staff at the hotel which made all the difference after a day in the city. Transport is easy to and from here as it's between London Victoria tube station and Green Park.

Breakfast is great here too with plenty of choice and friendly staff.

Thanks to the staff at the hotel that made this a pleasant stay, I'll come again soon!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mayhew132,

Thank you for the review and we are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay. We are equally pleased that you enjoyed the cake that was arranged for you and a special touch at the end of a busy day in London. We are also pleased you enjoyed the breakfast offering.

We hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Considering London hotels are extremely expensive, this hotel is a good choice. The location is convenient, the reception is nice and the people that works at the hotel very service minded and nice.
The room are small for normal standards, but ok for London, considering you are sleeping in a crazy priced city.

Room Tip: Request a room that is above the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear GLSMAD,

Thank you for the review for your recent stay with us. The team and I were delighted to read that you were happy with your choice of hotel and we hope to be your preferred hotel on future visits to London.

Thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

First time traveler to London and this hotel met our every need! Service was impeccable from the moment we stepped out of our taxi and were greeted at the door to every moment we walked through the lobby! The room was beautiful, large by a European standard. Very clean and well decorated. The only flaw in our stay was the in room safe battery died locking our valuables so safely it took quite some time to get them released. The hotels professionalism was fantastic and they handled the situation promptly. We didn't use any of hotels restaurants with exception to cocktail service in the courtyard on one beautiful London evening. The property is perfectly located. Easy access to tube stations and within walking distance to all the key tourist sites including Buckingham Palace. There is a Pret Manger and Starbucks nearby and well as some very nice pubs and restaurants. The neighborhood felt quite safe and we were comfortable walking around even after dark. Overall this property is excellent and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear dvlnsyd,

Thank you for the excellent review following you stay with us. Having shared your feedback with the team, we are all delighted to read that you had a great stay. Our only disappointment is that you did not dine in our restaurants, but we hope this will be possible on a return stay.

Thank you again for the review we look forward to you return stay soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at St James Court. We were celebrating a birthday and our 10 year anniversary and as icing on that cake we were upgraded to an executive king room for our stay which was very nice indeed. The staff were very friendly and service minded, the lobby area is beautiful as are the other areas of the hotel that we saw. The breakfast is well stocked and tasty and the service here is very much up to standard for the hotel in general. We would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 202 which was an executive king room facing the street. Very nice room, very quiet and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Marika J,

Thank you for the review and for the recommendation following your recent stay. The ten and I are delighted to read that you had a great day and found the hotel and service in particular to be to your liking. We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is in a brilliant location and we found everywhere we wanted to see was within one or two tube stops. The hotel staff could not be more welcoming and helpful - my 7 year old daughter even gave them higs and kisses when we left as they had made her feel so special. The room we stayed in was brilliant. Very spacious, clean with all the amenities you could want. Although I didn't think this hotel was particularly for children I found quite the opposite. On arrival we received a kids London activity pack which contained a fantastic activity book, crayons, jotter pad, postcard etc - all lovely quality. We had only been in our room a short while and my daughter had a lovely surprise. The hotel delivered to the room a pot of hot chocolate and a yummy personalised cookie - she loved it. The beds were very comfy to return to after long days out. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Maria R,

Thank you for the review, we are absolutely delighted that both you and your 7 year old daughter enjoyed the stay and found the service delivered by the team in particular to be to your liking. The bag of goodies as well as the cookie and hot chocolate are part of our 'Kids at Taj' program and I am delighted that your daughter enjoyed it.

We hope to welcome you back again soon and thank you for sharing your positive experience.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at St James for a weekend trip with my Mum. I arranged it for her 50th.
The hotel inside was beautiful, and the staff could not do more for us. They arranged for a lovely desert send to our room wishing my Mum a happy birthday.
We got upgraded, and the room was fab, clean and peaceful. We were next to the lift but didn't hear a thing.
We ate outside in the courtyard, and it was delicious. We explained we had a show to catch for 7.30 and they made sure we were off on time with a taxi waiting.
Location is perfect is you want to do a spot of sight seeing. It's a 2 minute work to Buckingham palace.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Hayley D,

Thank you for the review following your stay to celebrate your mum's 50th Birthday. The team and I were delighted that you both had an enjoyable stay and you found the room comfortable and the service very much to your liking. I am pleased you were able to dine in the courtyard, we have only just re-opened for the summer and we hope for a nice warm summer so many people can enjoy this area.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you both back agai soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Family Hotel in London
#123 Luxury Hotel in London
#132 Business Hotel in London
#152 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.