We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent by any account!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Save Saved
You added St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James) (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 1,075 hotels in London
Europa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent by any account!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel formerly Crowne Plaza St James. It´s a perfect hotel - so it was a perfect stay! Excellent service, beautiful rooms, perfect location! We will choose this hotel again - that´s for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Reisende U,

Thank you for the excellent review following your excellent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and look forward to your return stay.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    115
    34
    17
    5
See reviews for
68
193
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay in this beautiful hotel. My daughter and I were impressed from the minute we arrived until we reluctantly departed! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff from doormen, concierge, reception, in room dining staff (yes - we used this service a few times!)
Hotel location is only 5 minute walk from St James tube station. 5 minute walk to Buckingham Palace. A quiet area at night but a few pubs dotted around.
Our classic twin room was on the 5th floor and was a really good size. Decor was in keeping with the elegant style of the hotel. Noticed a few "scuff" marks here and there and some paintwork needing refreshed but these are minor details and I'm sure they will be addressed by the new owners, Taj hotels.
Overall a lovely experience and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear MTTGlasgow_Scotland,

Thank you for the review following your 3 night stay with your daughter. The cream and I are delighted that you had a great stay and found all aspects of your stay enjoyable. I am particularly pleased you enjoyed In Room Dining. The team and kitchen do a great job and I am pleased you used it more than once.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold Coast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed at this hotel formerly Crowne Plaza St James for 11 nights to celebrate my daughters and my birthdays in London. After a long 27 hour flight from Australia we were warmly welcomed bythe doorman. Check in was quick and efficient. We had an executive twin room on the 3rd floor as we are IHG Gold Priority club members. A very nice spacious refurbished room with a large modern ensure. We loved the robes, chocolates & complimentary bottled water every day. Breakfast was delicious with great staff. The breakfast manager, Frederic I think is professional yet friendly, offering us tips of what to see each day. The concierge was wonderful in advising of chemist close by when my daughter fell ill and even stopped me to ask how she was the next day. We did have a small issue of smelling cigarette smoke in our hallway for 3 days. We mentioned it to housekeeping & reception but it took 3 days to be resolved. All in all we loved our stay and the convenience of St James tube station 5 minutes walk away and we will definitely return in the future.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear tal63goldCoast,

Thank you for your review for your extended stay with us whilst celebrating both of your birthdays. We are delighted to read that you were overall happy with the stay and especially the service levels provided by the team. I am sorry to learn of the issue regarding the smell of smoke but pleased this was eventually resolved. I also hope that the fact that your daughter feeling unwell did not have a negative impact on your entire stay in London.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to see you both back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here a year ago and grabbed the opportunity to return for a meeting this year. The hotel is simply stunning, enhanced by the friendly and helpful team - I can't imagine anything being too much trouble for them. Check in quick and professional. Had a room on the 5th floor - lovely sized room and bathroom, both really clean and well stocked. The location of the hotel is great - just a few minutes walk from the tube and a nice leisurely walk into the city centre via Buckingham Palace and the Mall - who could ask for more? Walked back in the evening too so no need to worry if you don't like the tube - it doesn't seem to ever get quiet on the Mall! Breakfast next morning was a mix of continental and cooked. Really like the attentive service - plates are removed quickly when finished with and you hardly notice them being taken! This hotel will always be my first choice when visiting London.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear JandK2,

Thank you for the review following your recent return stay. We are pleased that the hotel continues to provide you with all service and facilities you require to ensure and enjoyable stay. We hope that we can welcome you back later in 2014 or beyond.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

After having a disastrous experience renting a flat for a two-week stay in London whilst taking a course, I came, finally to the St James/Taj hotel. Perfectly located a block from Buckingham Palace and within easy walking distance of several tube stops and beautiful parks, it was an oasis of calm, wonderful room and very friendly and helpful staff. I will definitely come again. Great value also, considering the price of London hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear morey922,

Thank you for the review, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay following a disappointing stay in a rented flat. I am pleased in particular that you enjoyed the service provided by the team. We hope to welcome you back again soon when visiting London on business or pleasure.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I was looking for a lovely hotel in a great location and booked 3 rooms with Crowne Plaza for a girls weekend away. Just before we travelled I discovered the hotel was no longer part of the IHC group so I was a bit apprehensive , no need... From the moment we arrived late in the evening we knew we'd made a great choice. The hotel is stunning inside and out. Reception staff were welcoming and very efficient . We had 3 beautiful rooms , each one different. The location is perfect , 5 minutes walk to St James underground or Buckingham Palace. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a special hotel in a great city. I will definitely return as we didn't have time to use all the facilities the hotel had to offer .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Giraffe1965,

Thank you for you review for your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you were delighted with your choice of hotel from the location, decor and rooms available for you. I am pleased that you found the reception team helpful and friendly. We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back in 2014 and sample more of what the hotel has to offer.

Thank you again for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renfrew scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Last weekend I visited the Hotel with 5 friends. Our rooms were 'fab' and our stay was fantastic!! Hotel was beautifully furnished and very clean!! We were walking distance to Buckingham Palace and handy for St.James tube station. Will certainly return!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGR_SJCTAJ, Manager at St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear rosied76,

Thank you for your review for you and your friends stay with us. We were delighted to read that you all enjoyed your stay and felt the hotel provided a little bit of luxury and all that you required and needed to have a great weekend in London. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and enjoy our hospitality again soon.

Thank you again for the review.

Yours sincerely,

Edward Riches
Hotel Manager
St James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel

Address: 54 Buckingham Gate, London SW1E 6AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London - St. James)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in London
#95 Family Hotel in London
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
#119 Romantic Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a country that values understatement, St. James' Court is an English classic typifying the concealed charm of one of Britain's finest hotels. The custom of St. James’ Court, A Taj Hotel is the distinctive choice for more than service with a smile. With a distinguished pedigree shaped over more than a century, this discreet Victorian masterpiece with its famous Shakespearean Courtyard is perfectly placed between Buckingham Palace and the Houses of Parliament in a historic enclave marking the centre of power. Crisp and elegant, with an easy charm that’s reserved, yet attentive, we strive to make each visit more pleasurable and memorable. Exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning traveller, St. James' Court is a slice of the past served up on a contemporary platter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, LondonMarketing.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - St. James Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.