We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The California to your Saves list
The California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-8 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save £10!
Ranked #525 of 1,060 Hotels in London
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

just like to write a good review for this hotel as i read a few dodgy ones before we went but i neednt have worried as my friend and i have just had 3 lovely days there .it was only minutes from kings cross . the room was clean and a good size .the beds were so comfy we overslept two mornings .it was lovely and warm and the staff very friendly and helpfull .the breakfast was nice and you can eat all you want . overall we would not hesitate to stay here again .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    206
    129
    49
    38
See reviews for
107
108
61
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canarias, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

pleasantly suprised by this hotel. Read some pretty poor reviews which in hindsight are totally unfounded!! Perfect hotel for a short city break, very easy to find from kings cross station. Will definately use again when back in London! Nice to find a reasonably priced hotel with recently refurbished rooms in London!!! Well done Hotel California!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Small hotel, very close to King's Cross/St. Pancras. Surrounding area a bit...colourful but not threatening. The hotel is undergoing renovations but still functioning manfully. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. I had a single room which was at the top of 4 flights of stairs. The room was small but compact and clean. The bathroom was very modern with a great shower.
Breakfast is served in the basement. It was great but there could be a wider choice of cereals and perhaps yoghurt. I was surprised how busy the hotel is, as due to the labyrinthine layout, you hardly ever see any other guests.
As I was leaving at 4.30 am to catch a train I asked for and got a prompt alarm call.
All in all a decent little hotel but not worth £70 per night!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor as there's no lifts and the stairs are narrow,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I have yet to breakfast here but I am already taken by what the hotel has got to offer! Great location across from St Pancras, very friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room, staying on a budget level. I have stayed at the similar budget hotel on my previous visit but would definitely come back to California:)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very convenient location opposite St Pancreas and Kings Cross station. We stayed one night in the family room very crowded and very hot. On our return to London we had 2 rooms each sleeping 3. Very little room to put a suit case shelves rather than a wardrobe would have been better. Still very hot as windows don't open. Basic breakfast, but nice staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked to stay here and even though, due to a death in the family that week I cancelled by telephone, outside the cancellation policy I was charged £120 for a "no show". The hotel staff said they have no recollection of the call on the day. A pity as I'm a regular visitor to London on business and the hotel is in a great location and seemed reasonably priced. Would never consider booking to stay here again as to me this seems to be very uncompassionate and terrible customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our reception at the Hotel California was the most unprofessional we have ever encountered in 25 years of world travel. The desk clerk was rude and threatening. He accused us of "breaking the law" by not providing advance notice that we were travelling with a young child. He threatened to turn away our family, despite our reservation. After a very stressful thirty minutes, we went across the street and stayed at the Pullman Hotel. The Hotel California insisted on charging our credit card, despite the fact that we declined the room based on a hostile reception and inadequate facilities.

Physically, the Hotel California has a newly renovated lobby area, but its hallways, staircases and other public areas leave much to be desired. The room we saw has old windows, which allowed for all the noise from the neighbouring street and train stations to bleed through. This is an extremely low-grade hotel. While it may be suitable for young, single, male travellers in search of an affordable alternative to a youth hostel, families, in particular, should think twice before booking here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here! Book across the street, at the former Novotel, now the Pullman!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #525 of 1,060 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London
The California London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.