We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The California to your Saves list
The California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-8 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
£10 off room rate
Ranked #558 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I have yet to breakfast here but I am already taken by what the hotel has got to offer! Great location across from St Pancras, very friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room, staying on a budget level. I have stayed at the similar budget hotel on my previous visit but would definitely come back to California:)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarzyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very convenient location opposite St Pancreas and Kings Cross station. We stayed one night in the family room very crowded and very hot. On our return to London we had 2 rooms each sleeping 3. Very little room to put a suit case shelves rather than a wardrobe would have been better. Still very hot as windows don't open. Basic breakfast, but nice staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank phillie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked to stay here and even though, due to a death in the family that week I cancelled by telephone, outside the cancellation policy I was charged £120 for a "no show". The hotel staff said they have no recollection of the call on the day. A pity as I'm a regular visitor to London on business and the hotel is in a great location and seemed reasonably priced. Would never consider booking to stay here again as to me this seems to be very uncompassionate and terrible customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our reception at the Hotel California was the most unprofessional we have ever encountered in 25 years of world travel. The desk clerk was rude and threatening. He accused us of "breaking the law" by not providing advance notice that we were travelling with a young child. He threatened to turn away our family, despite our reservation. After a very stressful thirty minutes, we went across the street and stayed at the Pullman Hotel. The Hotel California insisted on charging our credit card, despite the fact that we declined the room based on a hostile reception and inadequate facilities.

Physically, the Hotel California has a newly renovated lobby area, but its hallways, staircases and other public areas leave much to be desired. The room we saw has old windows, which allowed for all the noise from the neighbouring street and train stations to bleed through. This is an extremely low-grade hotel. While it may be suitable for young, single, male travellers in search of an affordable alternative to a youth hostel, families, in particular, should think twice before booking here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here! Book across the street, at the former Novotel, now the Pullman!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevenB805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Perfectly adequate hotel. Superb location - opposite Kings X/St. Pancrass Station. Room was clean and adequate although toilet/shower was small and the wash basin was in the actual bedroom. Breakfast good and despite the above, good value for money.

Room Tip: Did not stay long enough to form an opinion of any of the other room's views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mauricejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We ended up staying at Hotel California after finding out that another nice place down the road was full for the duration of our visit.

Hotel California was, as we found out, no way just a next best alternative.

Conveniently located next to the King's Cross Underground station and St Pancras International station, and MacDonalds and BK for a late night snack.

10min bus ride to Oxford St.

The room we got was recently renovated and in room facilities were good.

Ask for room B01.

We experienced great service from the counter to kitchen where we had our breakfast.

Only complain was some noise from street level made by occasional passing vehicles. Bearable though.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redjersey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visit London frequently and have stayed in many hotels costing varying prices,This hotel was the cheapest, the most convenient,most friendly unpretentious of all the places we have stayed and we will definitely be booking another stay on our next visit.Thanks a lot,.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#67 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,604 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#261 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#311 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,565 reviews
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#499 of 1,058 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#358 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The California is a charming, modern bed and breakfast, less than a minute's walk away from King's Cross and St. Pancras stations. Our 60 stylishly refurbished rooms, each one cosy and comfortable, are spread over four Georgian townhouses, and we've retained as much of the original architecture as possible; our windows, corridors and staircases are all original. This means that we don't have a lift, but we do keep our reception open 24 hours a day, include breakfast and high speed WiFi in all our rates and have just opened our new bar, lounge and private terrace for our guests to enjoy. Welcome to The California London. Visit anytime, explore every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London
The California London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing