We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The California

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The California to your Saves list
The California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-8 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #496 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I have yet to breakfast here but I am already taken by what the hotel has got to offer! Great location across from St Pancras, very friendly staff, very clean and comfortable room, staying on a budget level. I have stayed at the similar budget hotel on my previous visit but would definitely come back to California:)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    174
    118
    45
    34
See reviews for
95
90
57
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very convenient location opposite St Pancreas and Kings Cross station. We stayed one night in the family room very crowded and very hot. On our return to London we had 2 rooms each sleeping 3. Very little room to put a suit case shelves rather than a wardrobe would have been better. Still very hot as windows don't open. Basic breakfast, but nice staff.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked to stay here and even though, due to a death in the family that week I cancelled by telephone, outside the cancellation policy I was charged £120 for a "no show". The hotel staff said they have no recollection of the call on the day. A pity as I'm a regular visitor to London on business and the hotel is in a great location and seemed reasonably priced. Would never consider booking to stay here again as to me this seems to be very uncompassionate and terrible customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our reception at the Hotel California was the most unprofessional we have ever encountered in 25 years of world travel. The desk clerk was rude and threatening. He accused us of "breaking the law" by not providing advance notice that we were travelling with a young child. He threatened to turn away our family, despite our reservation. After a very stressful thirty minutes, we went across the street and stayed at the Pullman Hotel. The Hotel California insisted on charging our credit card, despite the fact that we declined the room based on a hostile reception and inadequate facilities.

Physically, the Hotel California has a newly renovated lobby area, but its hallways, staircases and other public areas leave much to be desired. The room we saw has old windows, which allowed for all the noise from the neighbouring street and train stations to bleed through. This is an extremely low-grade hotel. While it may be suitable for young, single, male travellers in search of an affordable alternative to a youth hostel, families, in particular, should think twice before booking here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here! Book across the street, at the former Novotel, now the Pullman!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Perfectly adequate hotel. Superb location - opposite Kings X/St. Pancrass Station. Room was clean and adequate although toilet/shower was small and the wash basin was in the actual bedroom. Breakfast good and despite the above, good value for money.

Room Tip: Did not stay long enough to form an opinion of any of the other room's views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We ended up staying at Hotel California after finding out that another nice place down the road was full for the duration of our visit.

Hotel California was, as we found out, no way just a next best alternative.

Conveniently located next to the King's Cross Underground station and St Pancras International station, and MacDonalds and BK for a late night snack.

10min bus ride to Oxford St.

The room we got was recently renovated and in room facilities were good.

Ask for room B01.

We experienced great service from the counter to kitchen where we had our breakfast.

Only complain was some noise from street level made by occasional passing vehicles. Bearable though.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visit London frequently and have stayed in many hotels costing varying prices,This hotel was the cheapest, the most convenient,most friendly unpretentious of all the places we have stayed and we will definitely be booking another stay on our next visit.Thanks a lot,.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #496 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After cleaning away the paintbrushes and the dust we have now completed our refurbishment at The California London. We would love to welcome you into our home; five gorgeous Georgian townhouses tucked away from the hustle and bustle of London's busy streets. Being a stone's throw away from King's Cross & St. Pancras stations the California London offers the ideal base to explore our city. After the complimentary breakfast of course. We have 60 cosy & colourful bedrooms (all en-suite, so no queuing in the corridors), ranging from one-person singles to large family rooms, each uniquely designed & decorated. Super-fast WiFi is free, our lounge and adjoining terrace are available for all and our bar will be opening shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London
The California London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.