We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The California

Save Saved
You added The California to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-8 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #481 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Bugibba, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Short Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Perfectly adequate hotel. Superb location - opposite Kings X/St. Pancrass Station. Room was clean and adequate although toilet/shower was small and the wash basin was in the actual bedroom. Breakfast good and despite the above, good value for money.

Room Tip: Did not stay long enough to form an opinion of any of the other room's views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    162
    109
    41
    32
See reviews for
87
79
54
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We ended up staying at Hotel California after finding out that another nice place down the road was full for the duration of our visit.

Hotel California was, as we found out, no way just a next best alternative.

Conveniently located next to the King's Cross Underground station and St Pancras International station, and MacDonalds and BK for a late night snack.

10min bus ride to Oxford St.

The room we got was recently renovated and in room facilities were good.

Ask for room B01.

We experienced great service from the counter to kitchen where we had our breakfast.

Only complain was some noise from street level made by occasional passing vehicles. Bearable though.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We visit London frequently and have stayed in many hotels costing varying prices,This hotel was the cheapest, the most convenient,most friendly unpretentious of all the places we have stayed and we will definitely be booking another stay on our next visit.Thanks a lot,.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a recent weekend visit to London. The staff were friendly, the room was comfortable and the breakfast and the position were excellent. We were particularly pleased that we could leave our bags on arrival and departure in a luggage room. This is a basic hotel that is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Like most London hotels in this price range, not great but it would be difficult to do better without paying exorbitant amounts.

Excellent location near St Pancras station, quiet enough street too. Rooms were quite modern too. Staff not especially friendly but quick to respond when requested.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Myself and two colleagues stayed at this Hotel prior to attending a conference the following day. I was a bit concerned as the reviews have not all been favourable of late. However I was very pleasently surprised. We were checked in quickly, our room was 404 on the top floor. It housed a double and single bed and yes it was compact but the hotel has made the best possible use out of a small space. The room was clean and appeared freshly painted and the en suite was modern practical and clean. The breakfast was adequate with cereals and a cooked breakfast, not the largest choice but you won't starve and the eating area is pleasent. We were able to leave our luggage in a locked room whilst attending the conference and the Hotel is in a very central position. Only criticism was that it was very warm. Overall we would definately return for an overnight stay as this Hotel offers friendly service and good basic accomodation and is very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

my son and i stayed here for one night when going to see a show and then of to disney for the weekend. the location of this hotel is perfect litrally 5 mins walk from kings cross/st pancras. when i checked in the lady was friendy and helpful, we arrived before our room was ready but there is a lugage room to leave your lugage, i had a bag with valubles in which i didnt feel quite safe leaving in this room so i asked if it could be left behind the desk and that wasnt a problem. we went to madam tussauds while waiting for the room to be ready and when we got back i was given the key the room was on the second floor, the stairs are really thin but i am a big girl and it wasnt a problem for me! now i am unable to tell you about the restaurant as we needed to be up and out by 5.15 am to go and catch the eurostar, i asked at reception if they had an alarm clock i could borrow, they said they didnt but they wrote in a book to come and give me a wake up knock, they said they would keep knocking til they got an answer lol!! all in all would i book this hotel again....... YES!!! it was clean, tidy, cheap and accomodating! thankyou!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The California

Address: 4-8 Belgrove Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The California 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After cleaning away the paintbrushes and the dust we have now completed our refurbishment at The California London. We would love to welcome you into our home; five gorgeous Georgian townhouses tucked away from the hustle and bustle of London's busy streets. Being a stone's throw away from King's Cross & St. Pancras stations the California London offers the ideal base to explore our city. After the complimentary breakfast of course. We have 60 cosy & colourful bedrooms (all en-suite, so no queuing in the corridors), ranging from one-person singles to large family rooms, each uniquely designed & decorated. Super-fast WiFi is free, our lounge and adjoining terrace are available for all and our bar will be opening shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel London
The California London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.