We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matilda the Musical

Matilda the Musical
Cambridge Theatre | Earlham Street, Covent Garden, London WC2H 9HU, England (Covent Garden)
0844 412 4652
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Matilda the Musical like an insider
$105*
and up
Ranked #8 of 277 Theater & Concerts in London
Attraction details
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

On my yearly trip with mum and sister we chose this show as I love Roald Dahl. Sat on the very back row £25 a ticket. Perfectly good view. I can't say this is one of the best shows I've seen, much prefer Wicked or Mary Poppins, but it was a good show. I would not want to go during the day as there might be loads more children. The few that were there were quite restless and constantly moving about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,569
    446
    175
    62
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bulphan, Essex, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Outstanding Performances by all the Children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Took my daughter and best friend as part of her 18th birthday celebrations. She was desperate to see it - I wasnt that bothered. However it was totally brilliant! The acting and singing by the kids was truly sensational - i didnt realise just how much until I saw Annie on Broadway 2 weeks later and thought how poor the performances were compared to the cast of Matilda - am thinking this will run and run and deservedly so

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Matilda gets everyone involved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wonderful acting, singing and dancing. A few show stoppers. Lots of fun. Didn't even realize we had an understudy for Miss Honey until after the show.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Minchin's Matilda a Must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The set was colourful, and interactive if you like word searches. The cast were superb and appeared to be enjoying their performance, particularlly David Leonard (Miss Trunchbull) who seemed to relish his role as the baddie. It was a warm humid night when we attended and the theatre did not have A/C. The seats were quite narrow and the man next to me was larger than average pushing me to one side. These factors combined to make the experience less comfortable but I still thoroughly enjoyed the night and would highly recommend it to big kids and little children alike.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Show - very different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Highly recommend this show - certainly lives up to the reviews and awards it has received thus. We were very lucky as no understudies on and the children in the show were fantastic, especially Matilda. A lot of audience interaction and participation which certainly helped. Excellent seats five rows from the front, but book early for this - we booked in February for an August show.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matilda the Musical also viewed

 

Been to Matilda the Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matilda the Musical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.