We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Save Saved
You added Westpoint Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168 - 172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #657 of 1,073 hotels in London
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My friend booked a Triple Room for us at the Westpoint hotel.

The location is great, very central. The room we stayed was very clean but small. According to the staff one of the best they had and yet no space to put your bags.
If you plan on going to London and do some shopping you will save money here.

The staff was helpful and the two men at the reception very funny. Not so good the one at the information desk.
We asked for information about tickets and he asked us to go out. A bit disgusting and unprofessional.

They can book taxis for us but the company they work with is expensive. Better to go on the internet and search private companies to compare prices. Oh wait you have to pay for it.

Their extras are a ripoff..

The wifi after 15 minutes is charged. In the year 2014 where everyone uses internet this must be the only hotel that charges for it and it isn't cheap.
It costs £10 one day or £30 one week, each device! So us being three, with three cellphones it would cost £30 one day or for one week we would give £90.

Breakfast costs £7.5 per person (three would be 22.50 a day) which is expensive unless you eat a lot. Better to go to the coffee shops near by or buy something from the supermarket.

Considering how much they charge for wifi and breakfast the next time we can just book a four star hotel and be better served.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    156
    145
    56
    67
See reviews for
117
110
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We reserved a family room and upon arrival were upgraded to a suite in the adjoining Abbey Apartments(?). The flat included a kitchen which appeared to have been updated recently. It was stocked with a hot pot, teas and coffees, and dishes to accommodate 4 guests. Also included were a stove, dishwasher and refrigerator. The living room included a futon, small table, 2 chairs, and a TV; the bedroom was furnished with a comfortable double bed and a chifferobe. The en suite bathroom was clean and very brightly lit but it would have been beneficial to install some shelves where we could place our toiletries. There was only one hook nearest the shower to hold your towel and whatever clothing you didn't want to stack upon the toilet.

The laminate flooring in all of the remaining rooms was a bit warped and should be replaced, in my opinion, because it felt cheap, compared to the very nice tile flooring in the kitchen.

The futon had a broken leg but maintenance staff promptly arrived and repaired it.

The location is just a couple of blocks from the Paddington Station. The neighborhood is beautiful and generally quiet all things considered (our flat was at street level) but using a pair of ear plugs at night was a good idea.

The wifi is free for about 30 minutes, per device. Thus, I was able to review emails on my iPhone until my time expired and then I was able to do the same with my iPad. There is free wifi at the Paddington Station if you don't mind walking the 2 blocks for that benefit.

There is a large variety of restaurants in the neighborhood and we visited Mimo's Cafe in the mornings for delicious coffee and fresh pastries. Dinner was in the adjoining Brazilian restaurant, Desejo Do Brazil, which was good fare but expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We are glad to know you enjoyed stay with us.

Hope to welcome you next time.

Regards,
Westpoin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

WestPoint Hotel
The Pros:
For London, the WestPoint is reasonably priced. Its in the beautiful neighborhood of Sussex Gardens and a two minute walk to the Tube and Hyde Park. Contrary to other reviews, the front staff was wonderful. Virginia and pedro were great and gave me the room I requested: second floor w/nice view.Lots of fun Bars/Brasseries and little markets around the corner on London Street.

The Cons:
No A/C!! London in June w/o A/C is not fun. Also, there in no food or bar there and no ice either. the restaurant connected to hotel is the only food/drink service and its expensive!! Also, it really ticks me when hotels charge for WiFi and it ain’t cheap at the WPH. I think its 15 pounds a day…$30 American..per person! They have a business center but none of the equipment was working.The room was on the smallish side but manageable.

This is a great hotel for young people or anyone on a budget who can hang in a smallish room. I think I paid $120 English a night which is a bargain for London. I wouldn’t go back because I’m a snob and like nicer accommodations, but my daughter and her crew would like it because its close to the Tube, Hyde Park and affordable.

Room Tip: Top floor over looking Sussex Garden Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our website clearly states the facilities we offer. The restaurant offers a bar and meal services. We provide PCs for guests and WiFi access in the reception area, as with many hotels in the area we have to charge for WiFI in the bedrooms.
Thank you for taking the time for leaving a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

short stay for London visit, hotel far better than expected after reading other reviews. room spotless & very comfortable, staff extremely helpful as we arrived earlier than we should to check & was still shown to our room, good hot powerful shower & plenty of soft clean towels.
room was a little on the smaller side but all other positives out way this. definitely recommend this hotel to others well worth the money

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. Feedback is greatly valued.
Westpoint Hotel is glad you and your family enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you to Westpoint Hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Loved the stay, loved the service. Reception: all great people (specially Catarina, Pedro and Virginia). They all friendly and ready to help. Rooms are nice for a short stay, and breakfast is good as well. Thank you everyone for making our holidays better. Will come back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear guest, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you wrote a review. We appreciate it. Wishing you a very nice day and looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Kind regards, Abbeycourt &Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with a couple of friends. We had a triple room with a double bed and a single bed, which were comfy and clean. Rooms are small but ok for a few nights. Bathroom is also small but again, manageable and wasn't really a problem for us.

Receptionists were friendly and helpful, not quite sure what some of the reviews mean by the receptionists being rude!

Hotel is very clean and in a fairly good location, around a 5 minute walk from Paddington tube station where you can easily get all over the city.

I would say it's very good value for money for a London hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking your time to review your stay at Westpoint Hotel.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel and positively benefited from our facilities.
Westpoint Hotel hopes to welcome you and your friends on many of your future visits to London.

Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Small but very clean room. excellent location..close to paddington train and tube station. Staff were charming and friendly..The only real negative was a breakfast not much choice and No Toast!!!.good for one night..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We welcome all feedback in order to provide the best for our guests.
Westpoint Hotel is glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you and your friends on many future visits of yours.

Kind regards,
Westpoint Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Address: 168 - 172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #657 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westpoint Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.