We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is decent, breakfast and room is a disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Save Saved
You added Westpoint Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westpoint Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168 - 172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #665 of 1,073 hotels in London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location is decent, breakfast and room is a disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location is convenient with Heathrow Express and a 10 min walk. Our room was typical English with broadloom and old fashion style. It was situated in the back of the hotel, half a floor up (it was only our room on that floor) and initially the room was freezing cold (approx 16 degrees). After several compliants did we received a radiator and managed the night. The day afterwards the original radiators started to work and the it suddenly was 28 degrees in the room (it was not possible to reduce the heat). This kept on for the whole stay (four days). Warm - cold.... We had a view of a small inner "garden" (concrete square) with fans and other noicy items in it.
The breakfast was a disaster..... I'm aware that an English breakfast is quite poor, but this was a joke. White beans in tomatosause, sausage, toast, marmelade and cheep juice. The restaurant was really noicy and also undermanned so the table was not cleaned when you arrived and you had a hard time getting a cup of coffee.
I would never recommend this hotel to a friend!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. If guests are not satisfied with their rooms we will do our best to move them to another room or they can choose to upgrade their accommodation. You stayed with us nearly a year ago and during that time the hotel has undergone a change in management. Our breakfast offering has improved substantially offering a range of hot and cold items, including freshly baked croissants. We are very proud of our customer service as recognised by our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    143
    132
    52
    68
See reviews for
119
111
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed in a family room,4 girlfriends.A great location for us as we were Xmas shopping and visiting winter wonderland in Hyde Park-a10min walk. Reception looks very grand. Our room was in the basement so no view whatsoever,but we only wanted room for sleeping so no big deal. Positives were size of room, nice comfortable and clean beds.Negatives- Being four girls there was only one small mirror in bathroom,plenty of space for one to be mouthed in the room.The room was boiling on arrival,which we turned heating off,but our window didn't open at all.
Breakfast was ok,continental ith plenty of juice,croissants,meats and cheeses.
If you want a budget hotel as a base then it's ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We appreciate your review. Our staff is always willing to help so if there are any problems regarding the room we always try to do our bests to solve the issue. Thank you for your comment regarding the mirrors, the hotel is going through a process of refurbishment and we will take your comments on board. Thank you very much for your suggestions & we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed for 4 nights at the hotel. Although the room for the four of us was small it was comfortable and breakfast was included. The location is sensational because it is no more than a 5 minute walk from the Paddington tube and train station. Such a great location. The staff are pleasant and helpfull and a pleasure to deal with. We loved it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving such a positive comment.
We are very proud of our customer service and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate every single comment, since it help us to improve our service at its best.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel has a fabulous location, just two minutes walk to the tube and really close to Hyde Park.Like a lot of other people I had high expectations and the foyer of the hotel only added to that expectation as it is fabulous. However, the room we were staying in was not as luxurious as we thought it might be. Our room was in the basement and the one window overlooked the laundry room so on the day we arrived and the morning we were leaving we had to close the curtains as there was a cleaner outside the window emptying bags of sheets! The decor was very outdated and the bed was quite low to the ground but it was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The shower was awful, the water was barely luke warm and was not very powerful. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were very friendly. Overall, I would say that the location was the best thing about this hotel and if you're looking for somewhere basic but clean to sleep, without any frills then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
We would like to thank you for leaving a comment. We apologise for the problem about the shower, as soon as we were notified the water supply in that room was fixed. If guests are unhappy with their rooms we try to accommodate their requests to move If we have availability and we also have a range of other rooms available at different prices.

We are going through a process of renovation in all bedrooms in order for us to provide you the best of our services and conditions, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. We are very proud of our customer service and are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality.

We appreciate your review as it guides us to serve you better and We will be very pleased to have you staying with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

You walk through the door into a grand looking reception and that is the best part of the hotel that I saw. After the reception area the way to my room looked well worn - I had to up in the lift even though it was only one floor and then down again to my room. It was small, but I had booked a single room, and it was clean.

There is no restaurant in the hotel just a breakfast room. However there are lots of restaurants close by. Breakfast was ok too - something for all tastes but not a large selection.

Overall ok for the occasional overnight stay

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for leaving a comment. We are under ongoing a renovation of all bedrooms. We aim to accommodate guests requests and, if they are unhappy, move them where we have availability. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed on Saturday 10th Nov 2012 and asked to see the room first. We were refused and told we must check in first. Just as well otherwise we would have left. The room was a double room but only just. Apart from the bed there was about 18" spare all around it and it was very difficult for 2 people to move around or get dressed. The room was clean but the toilet and shower cubicle was very small and cramped.
When we checked in the room was very cold and the staff said the heating did not come on in all the hotel until later in the afternoon. It was only after further complaints that we were given a heater.
We looked up the hotel on the internet before going and we were looking forward to going. That rapidly changed when we got into the room so don't believe the pictures!
The breakfast was adequate if limited and the breakfast staff were efficient and helpful.
There was a fault with the automatic front door which opened and then stopped causing people to walk into it.
We were only booked in for 1 night, thank goodness.
We paid £88 for 1 night and last year we only paid a few more pounds for a much better room in a more central location. Perhaps Rememberence Sunday had something to do with bookings but WE WOULD NOT GO AGAIN or Recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure that it is refurbished and a decent size and not in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing a comment on tripadvisor. We aim to accommodate guests requests and, if they are unhappy, move them where we have availability. The heating system runs automatically on set hours, and is constantly adjusted according to weather conditions. Our maintenance team have fixed the front door. Our breakfast buffet offers a wide selection of hot and cold items for guests, including fresh croissants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here in Nov 2012, thankfully only for one night. Apparently, the hotel is undergoing a refit and despite the grand reception area, our room was one of the worst I have stayed in.

Our room was badly in need of redecoration, below ground level (the only window looked on to a sort of workshop about 10 feet away with hotel staff going about their work, so we kept the curtains drawn throughout but making a dark room even darker), the bed was so low it was more like a futon.

There was no bar in the hotel

The bathroom was clean and staff OK, breakfast was adequate.

I'd avoid this hotel until the refit is completed.

Room Tip: If you can't get a refitted room - avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing a comment on tripadvisor. We aim to accommodate guests requests and, if they are unhappy, move them where we have availability and where guests are willing topay for a different room. The hotel is not advertised as having bar facilities, however we are conveniently located giving guests a wide choice of restaurants and bars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Address: 168 - 172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #665 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westpoint Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.