We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid until refit is completed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westpoint Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westpoint Hotel to your Saves list
Westpoint Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   168 - 172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #707 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Avoid until refit is completed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here in Nov 2012, thankfully only for one night. Apparently, the hotel is undergoing a refit and despite the grand reception area, our room was one of the worst I have stayed in.

Our room was badly in need of redecoration, below ground level (the only window looked on to a sort of workshop about 10 feet away with hotel staff going about their work, so we kept the curtains drawn throughout but making a dark room even darker), the bed was so low it was more like a futon.

There was no bar in the hotel

The bathroom was clean and staff OK, breakfast was adequate.

I'd avoid this hotel until the refit is completed.

Room Tip: If you can't get a refitted room - avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing a comment on tripadvisor. We aim to accommodate guests requests and, if they are unhappy, move them where we have availability and where guests are willing topay for a different room. The hotel is not advertised as having bar facilities, however we are conveniently located giving guests a wide choice of restaurants and bars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    156
    149
    61
    75
See reviews for
131
119
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The entrance to the hotel is very grand and it looks on the face of it to be very plush. The people were very friendly. My room was worse than any I have ever been in. My room was the level below basement so you can tell how much natural light I had. To be fair, there was a window which looked out into a tiny yard which had access to the sky.

The shower was awful (a trickle at best) and only intermittently gave hot water.

To pay so much for this hotel was very upsetting. I would say that the location is good and within minutes you can be in Hyde park. I had a conference in Westminster and a 50 minute walk each day took me through three parks. Good also for shopping in Oxford Street.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
A few of our rooms are located on the lower ground floor; however they are the exact same standard as all other rooms located on the upper floors. All these rooms have windows and natural light. The hotel allocates rooms on the daily basis and when we have full occupancy all rooms are allocated regardless.
Thank you for sharing a comment on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel looked good from the outside and the reception area looked magnificent however the room was not very good at all. I had to drag my suitcase up 5 steps inside the room to get to where the bed was and there was no airconditioning or central heating and the room needed a bit of decorating too. Apart from that, the shower wasn't too bad although very small, the tea and coffee facilities were minimal and there were not enough blankets. To make up for that the breakfast room was something to behold with a giant fish tank across one wall that you could watch for hours and fountains! I would probably stay there again but ensure that I had a room with airconditioning and one with easier access.

Room Tip: check that the room has airconditioning and is away from the street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for leaving a comment. In addition to the condiments in the rooms wehave further supplies and can be requested form reception at any time. If guests are unhappy with rooms and request to move within the same price range we move them whenever is possible and always subject to availability.The heating system runs automatically on set hours, and is constantly adjusted according to weather conditions. We have additional blankets for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartshorne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Booked this for a work trip on a tight budget and paid £64 for single room and breakfast (no cancellation/non refundable). The room was for single person and located on top floor in the old attic area - but it had all necessary amenities and was excellently clean. Reception staff were very welcoming and efficient. They were were obliging with additional tea/milk and with extra blanket. The bed was comfy and the linen of good standard.
I love this area of London - paddington is so central. The train/tube is 2 mins away and there is a range of food places just out of the door.
As a single woman, I felt comfortable walking around and eating on my own.
Breakfast was a continetal buffet with plenty to offer including hot fresh coissents. The restaurant staff were attentive and welcoming.
I would always check if you can get a good deal for this hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing a positive comment on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I thought this hotel was good value when you consider the price and its excellent location.
Admittedly the rooms are small but the building like so many others in the central London area are more than likely over 200 years old and not geared for such luxuries as air conditioning etc. The walls are made thick to deal with the cold conditions so when it is warm they get very uncomfortable and humid. This appears to be the problem of most complaints. The breakfast, although very basic was plentiful and ideal for a short stay. All the staff(without exception) are helpful and the restaurant staff are all friendly and attentive. This hotel is about 150m from Paddington Station and about 300m from Hyde Park. It has buses to all points London within 200m. It might be a 2 star hotel but it is excellent value for money in a notoriusly expensive city. The WiFi is a bit dicky and the computer available to guests could open earlier and close later. But all in all it is great for those on a budget.

Room Tip: We asked for one in the front which are the better rooms which have just been renovated. The street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for posting a comment on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a family room that was small but adequate. The rooms are dated and there are gaps in the doors so light and sound affects your sleep. The breakfast was not full English but suited and the crossaints were warm and fresh. Overall the hotel was ok for the money but I wouldn't rush back

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for posting a comment on tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is one of the worst hotels I've stayed in in my life.

The day after we arrived, they commenced a full renovation of the room next door to us. That meant that we were breathing in fumes of wet paint and toxic-smelling paint stripping chemicals. We requested to change our room and they informed us that they were fully booked but could give us a "un-renovated room". Since the fumes in our current room were out of control we decided to switch to the "un-renovated room". Turns out that there was something wrong with the plumbing in this new room (which they didn't inform us of in advance). The second night in the new room, the pipes starting smelling like an open sewer. Not only that but the carpets and bed linens had a nasty smell. Even though we had a booking for a full week we decided to leave the hotel 2 nights and move to another hotel next door.

The breakfast was also absolutely awful. There was a big platter of baloney (or spam? not sure?) and some greasy croissants among other things.

In short, stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpoint1, Guest Relations Manager at Westpoint Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest
We are sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with our Hotel and apologise for all the inconveniences caused.
The Hotel is going under refurbishment at the present moment and the nature of works being carried out involve some noise and paints although we try our best to minimise the inconveniences this cause to our guests it is not possible to completely eradicate them.
Our bedrooms and public areas are cleaned daily and we thoroughly inspect the rooms are in good order to be let out before we do assign it to our guests, any report of incidents are dealt with urgently and we can assure that the pipework in the bedroom in question has been re-checked and approved to be let out. All fittings and furniture in the un-renovated bedrooms are also cleaned and inspected on a daily basis therefore in good working order any unsuitable item is promptly removed and replaced with new one.
It is our duty to provide our guests with best service from the time of reservation to the departure and during the time guest is staying with us we respond to eventual issues as soon as possible helping with best solution at the time and this may involve guests having to be shown or moved to different rooms until satisfaction is achieved.

Our buffet breakfast offers a wide range of hot and cold choices, including eggs, sausages, croissants, cereal, cheese, tea, coffee and fruit juice these items are displayed for self-service and the breakfast manager is always present to ensure that all the food is presented and displayed in excellent manner.

Thank You
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westpoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Hotel

Address: 168 - 172 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1TP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #707 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westpoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and convenient Central London Hotel. Location: Our Paddington hotel is situated in the midst of the peaceful tree-lined avenue of Sussex Gardens close to Marble Arch and Kensington Gardens. The budget (do we need to say this at this stage?) hotel is served by the Heathrow Express, with excellent transport links. Paddington underground and Main line stations, Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park are a 3 minute walk away. We offer 15-minute transit times to Heathrow International Airport by Heathrow Express. Westpoint hotel offers easy access to London’s top tourist attractions and landmarks including the Royal Albert Hall, Buckingham Palace, Kensington Palace, the Houses of Parliament, Madame Tussauds. If you are a shopping fan we offer easy access to Westfield Shopping Centres in West London and Stratford, Oxford Street, Bond Street, boutiques in Carnaby Street and Nottinghill. Enjoy breathtaking skyline views from the London Eye and enjoy the nightlife in Piccadilly and Leicester Square as well London’s west end offering theatre and performance venues. There is always a good time to visit London. With a packed calendar from international concerts, exhibitions, carnivals to sporting events and local attractions including horse riding in Hyde Park. The London Tourist hop-on and hop-off bus is right on our door step offering an excellent opportunity for sight-seeing at your leisure. If you are looking for hotels with easy access to central London, budget hotels in Paddington or hotels near Hyde Park, the Central London Hotel, Westpoint Hotel is your premier choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westpoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westpoint Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westpoint Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.