We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   45 - 46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 541 London B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

London is hardly the place to look for value for money accommodation but this place is quite a nice suprise. Not that I would like to spend too much time in the room or the hotel itself - uninspiring smallish rooms and really small bathroom BUT very clean, relatively central, affordable (£70 a night) and with some small nice touches (e.g baggage keeping for free). Also, even though the place is less than 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross - it's fairly quiet which is not something easily found in your typical London hotel. All and all, for a budget hotel this is quite a find.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    316
    103
    27
    9
See reviews for
166
160
86
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
memphis, ny
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Loved the location, very close to Kings Cross St Pancras. Good breakfast, but wifi was only in lobby! Not able to get in the room. Shared bathroom was very clean, staff friendly and helpful.
I would stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This B&B is good if want value for money. You will most likely climb many stairs to your room that most likely will be small and pokey and the plumbing made some unusual noises during the night but our bed was comfy and clean and in the morning we came down to breakfast for eggs and bacon, tea or coffee ready for the days sightseeing. Guy behind the desk was helpful and just 75 quid a night. If you don't want to spends heaps for London accomodation this hotel might be what you want.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

From the start of our stay at the Macdonald Hotel we were treated warmly by the owners and staff. The rooms are affordable and a good size for London, very clean and with all the usual ammenities. The breakfast is great, you get a few choices including a hot English Breakfast which is above and beyond most other hotels. The hotel is also very close to the Kings Cross tube, but on a quiet street. There are many restaurants, cafes and pubs in this area to keep you entertained. Overall, I was really impressed with the level of service from all staff and I would highly recommend this hotel to my family and friends. Thanks again for making our trip to London even better!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

This hotel is owned by a Maltese family and you can see the familial attention to detail. Paul was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were unsurprisingly small but we were quite happy with the ensuite and we stayed fine with 3 small suitcases. Unfortunately we hit UK on a record hot day which meant that without A/C installed, during the day the room was a sauna...but in the evening it did cool down a bit with the windows open. The breakfast was a bonus and similarly the tea in the room. Will stay here again on my next trip to the UK!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I have just spent 6 nights over the easter holidays, at this hotel with my wife. We enjoyed our stay. Hotel is very well situated with all transport to the rest of london within easy reach, just 2 mins from hotel.The hotel is very cleanwith towels changed every day and the room is serviced everyday too. The staff were all very nice both the ladies serving breakfast and Saviour, the man at the reception desk. He was very helpful. would not hesitate returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Hotel is in a good location, but my goodness it is noisy. Throughout the night there are noises from something or other that seems to be like a compressor or something going off. The heat did not work and the promised Internet also did not exist.

Like many hotels in London they can get away with charging what they do. You would not get $20 a night for this place in Vegas, for example.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,504 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#279 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#88 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#143 of 541 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Bloomsbury
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#138 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotel

Address: 45 - 46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 541 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Macdonald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 metres from King’s Cross St. Pancras, this bed and breakfast is 5 minutes’ walk from St. Pancras International Rail Station, which offers Eurostar services to Europe. Euston Rail Station is within a 15-minute walk. Oxford Circus, with Oxford’s Street’s shops, is a 5-minute tube journey away. Regent’s Park is just over a 10-minute journey from King’s Cross. Buckingham Palace and its gardens are less than 3 miles away. A full English breakfast is served at the Macdonald Hotel. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. A TV, tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer are included in each simply decorated room. Some rooms also have a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.