We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic budget B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   45 - 46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 534 London B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good basic budget B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in February half-term. The room was small & basic as described when booking. We did have to go back down 3 floors (no lift) to request the hairdryer advertised as included, but it was no problem once requested. . Toilet & shower were shared as shown on website, one loo and two showers per floor, shared between quite a few rooms, no queues but sometimes previous owner had not flushed the loo! Perhaps because we were on 3rd floor, we could not get the wifi on either of our mobiles, other people may have been more successful. If you or your children don't have tea or coffee please note that hot chocolate is available if you ask. The breakfasts are good and you can ask for seconds if necessary.

Less than 5 mins walk from underground from where you can go on lots of different lines in all directions, although you can walk to the British Museum. We just bought a Travelcard each day - handy for hopping on a bus too, if you get tired.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I wish I had gone for the ground floor room offered to me instead of third floor as the stairs got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    282
    87
    26
    9
See reviews for
142
144
77
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Malta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for five days in this very central hotel. The room was small and basic, but clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Full English breakfast freshly cooked every morning, with a choice of eggs or cereal as desired. For short term stays it's great, especially for its very central location. WiFi provided free, and no curfew. We got there a bit early, but had no problem leaving our suitcases at the hotel until the room was ready.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We decided on this hotel/hostel based on its reasonable prices and great location. The staff were polite and friendly. Complimentary breakfast was good, option of full cooked breakfast or cereal, yoghurt etc. which is perfect for the budget traveler. Kings Cross, St. Pancras and the underground were practically on our doorstep which made navigating the city very convenient. It was also about 20mins walking distance from Euston Station which is very handy for those intending to visit the Harry Potter studio tour. The room was always very clean and had tea/coffee facilities, private sink (we were in a room with a shared bathroom) and some storage space. Bathrooms, toilets and sheets were all clean which was one thing I really appreciated. The only let down at this hotel was we were staying in a basement room which was fine with us however it did have a strong smell of cigarettes which we found frustrating, particularly as I am an asthmatic. We asked for a non-smoking room but I think it was a residual smell from the building being quite old. Had a friend staying in an upper-level room which did not have the odor so only the basement room. Overall, a very comfortable and convenient stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors better than basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a great find. Two minutes on foot to the Eurostar at St Pancras, inexpensive, very clean simple rooms, super friendly staff. The Macdonald hotel is so good I almost don't want to give out the address.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked here because it was the most affordable (of course, I won't say cheap-not in London :P) at a relatively central location. It's right next to St. Pancras and King's Cross stations and a 5 (ish) minute walk to Euston Station. Since we used all of those during our trip, it worked out really well. We ended up in the basement, which was not exactly desirable (a bit dark and damp and the shared bathroom had no window and was a bit mildewy-but there was a fan and it was very clean). The room was tiny, but we were never in it, anyway. Everything was very, very clean-and that made up for the lack of space and light ;) The breakfast was very filling and the staff was friendly. The area around the hotel wasn't sketchy exactly-it's a street full of house/hotels-but we did get some stares every time we went out or came back. And one night, we returned and walked by some potential prostitutes up the street :P But no one bothered us :) They had maps and were able to provide directions when asked. Overall, it was nothing special, but it was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basement rooms! We got in very late at night, so maybe we got the last room? If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff at the Macdonald are very welcoming and friendly. The hotel is simple but very clean and the breakfast is very efficient - definitely no long waits like there are in some places. I usually stay here when I am ( frequently) in London. It's in a great location from Gatwick as you can get the cheaper train straight to St Pancras Kings Cross - the hotel is within spitting distance! Good pubs near by too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great budget hotel and a good value for the price. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Free breakfast is decent (much better than paying 5-10£/person every day!). They offer either a regular English breakfast, muesli or cornflakes, and yogurt. We had no problems with the free wifi. The shared bathroom and showers were never inconvenient (some rooms have their own private bathrooms). The rooms are cozy in the European style (small by American standards, so don't expect the typical Hilton or Marriott-sized room). It's a very short walk to Kings Cross tube and St. Pancras train stations. No lift, so you'll have to carry your bags up. This might not make it a good choice for elderly travelers. Overall a fair deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotel

Address: 45 - 46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 534 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Macdonald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 metres from King’s Cross St. Pancras, this bed and breakfast is 5 minutes’ walk from St. Pancras International Rail Station, which offers Eurostar services to Europe. Euston Rail Station is within a 15-minute walk. Oxford Circus, with Oxford’s Street’s shops, is a 5-minute tube journey away. Regent’s Park is just over a 10-minute journey from King’s Cross. Buckingham Palace and its gardens are less than 3 miles away. A full English breakfast is served at the Macdonald Hotel. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. A TV, tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer are included in each simply decorated room. Some rooms also have a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.