We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Hotel

Save Saved
You added Macdonald Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   45 - 46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 517 London B&B and Inns
Rabat, Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for five days in this very central hotel. The room was small and basic, but clean and tidy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Full English breakfast freshly cooked every morning, with a choice of eggs or cereal as desired. For short term stays it's great, especially for its very central location. WiFi provided free, and no curfew. We got there a bit early, but had no problem leaving our suitcases at the hotel until the room was ready.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    313
    101
    30
    9
See reviews for
131
126
71
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We decided on this hotel/hostel based on its reasonable prices and great location. The staff were polite and friendly. Complimentary breakfast was good, option of full cooked breakfast or cereal, yoghurt etc. which is perfect for the budget traveler. Kings Cross, St. Pancras and the underground were practically on our doorstep which made navigating the city very convenient. It was also about 20mins walking distance from Euston Station which is very handy for those intending to visit the Harry Potter studio tour. The room was always very clean and had tea/coffee facilities, private sink (we were in a room with a shared bathroom) and some storage space. Bathrooms, toilets and sheets were all clean which was one thing I really appreciated. The only let down at this hotel was we were staying in a basement room which was fine with us however it did have a strong smell of cigarettes which we found frustrating, particularly as I am an asthmatic. We asked for a non-smoking room but I think it was a residual smell from the building being quite old. Had a friend staying in an upper-level room which did not have the odor so only the basement room. Overall, a very comfortable and convenient stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors better than basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a great find. Two minutes on foot to the Eurostar at St Pancras, inexpensive, very clean simple rooms, super friendly staff. The Macdonald hotel is so good I almost don't want to give out the address.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked here because it was the most affordable (of course, I won't say cheap-not in London :P) at a relatively central location. It's right next to St. Pancras and King's Cross stations and a 5 (ish) minute walk to Euston Station. Since we used all of those during our trip, it worked out really well. We ended up in the basement, which was not exactly desirable (a bit dark and damp and the shared bathroom had no window and was a bit mildewy-but there was a fan and it was very clean). The room was tiny, but we were never in it, anyway. Everything was very, very clean-and that made up for the lack of space and light ;) The breakfast was very filling and the staff was friendly. The area around the hotel wasn't sketchy exactly-it's a street full of house/hotels-but we did get some stares every time we went out or came back. And one night, we returned and walked by some potential prostitutes up the street :P But no one bothered us :) They had maps and were able to provide directions when asked. Overall, it was nothing special, but it was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basement rooms! We got in very late at night, so maybe we got the last room? If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff at the Macdonald are very welcoming and friendly. The hotel is simple but very clean and the breakfast is very efficient - definitely no long waits like there are in some places. I usually stay here when I am ( frequently) in London. It's in a great location from Gatwick as you can get the cheaper train straight to St Pancras Kings Cross - the hotel is within spitting distance! Good pubs near by too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great budget hotel and a good value for the price. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Free breakfast is decent (much better than paying 5-10£/person every day!). They offer either a regular English breakfast, muesli or cornflakes, and yogurt. We had no problems with the free wifi. The shared bathroom and showers were never inconvenient (some rooms have their own private bathrooms). The rooms are cozy in the European style (small by American standards, so don't expect the typical Hilton or Marriott-sized room). It's a very short walk to Kings Cross tube and St. Pancras train stations. No lift, so you'll have to carry your bags up. This might not make it a good choice for elderly travelers. Overall a fair deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham boy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Solo traveller - in town for an event, didn't have the missus with me so thought I'd gamble. I say gamble because some of the absolute worst 'budget' hotels or B&B's I've stayed in have been from my home town. Yes London. This place is located in a pretty square full of similar properties. And most of them are pretty disappointing. I speak from experience. I don't know why I keep returning. The fella on reception was friendly enough, smooth check in, up the stairs to the 2nd floor key in hand to the cramped entrance to my room, which had a complete ceiling light fitting dangling from it's mounting! Open the door and the words 'cat' and 'swing' become applicable. I swear I haven't seen a TV like that for 30 years. I've also thrown better furniture into a skip. Cracked glass pane in the window, I chuckled when I saw one of those tiny bars of soap about the size of an aspirin sitting in the rusty shower rack. Toiletries. The shower was disgusting, (see pix), and soundproofing? Forget it. OK I'll try and give some positives. Bed was comfy but no way a double, heater worked well bearing in mind it was -2 and freezing ouside, breakfast in the small cellar room was adequate I suppose. And location ain't bad. And it was cheap!

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macdonald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotel

Address: 45 - 46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Macdonald Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 metres from King’s Cross St. Pancras, this bed and breakfast is 5 minutes’ walk from St. Pancras International Rail Station, which offers Eurostar services to Europe. Euston Rail Station is within a 15-minute walk. Oxford Circus, with Oxford’s Street’s shops, is a 5-minute tube journey away. Regent’s Park is just over a 10-minute journey from King’s Cross. Buckingham Palace and its gardens are less than 3 miles away. A full English breakfast is served at the Macdonald Hotel. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. A TV, tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer are included in each simply decorated room. Some rooms also have a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.