We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and handy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   45 - 46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 541 London B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and handy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff at the Macdonald are very welcoming and friendly. The hotel is simple but very clean and the breakfast is very efficient - definitely no long waits like there are in some places. I usually stay here when I am ( frequently) in London. It's in a great location from Gatwick as you can get the cheaper train straight to St Pancras Kings Cross - the hotel is within spitting distance! Good pubs near by too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    316
    103
    27
    9
See reviews for
166
160
86
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great budget hotel and a good value for the price. Front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Free breakfast is decent (much better than paying 5-10£/person every day!). They offer either a regular English breakfast, muesli or cornflakes, and yogurt. We had no problems with the free wifi. The shared bathroom and showers were never inconvenient (some rooms have their own private bathrooms). The rooms are cozy in the European style (small by American standards, so don't expect the typical Hilton or Marriott-sized room). It's a very short walk to Kings Cross tube and St. Pancras train stations. No lift, so you'll have to carry your bags up. This might not make it a good choice for elderly travelers. Overall a fair deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham boy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Solo traveller - in town for an event, didn't have the missus with me so thought I'd gamble. I say gamble because some of the absolute worst 'budget' hotels or B&B's I've stayed in have been from my home town. Yes London. This place is located in a pretty square full of similar properties. And most of them are pretty disappointing. I speak from experience. I don't know why I keep returning. The fella on reception was friendly enough, smooth check in, up the stairs to the 2nd floor key in hand to the cramped entrance to my room, which had a complete ceiling light fitting dangling from it's mounting! Open the door and the words 'cat' and 'swing' become applicable. I swear I haven't seen a TV like that for 30 years. I've also thrown better furniture into a skip. Cracked glass pane in the window, I chuckled when I saw one of those tiny bars of soap about the size of an aspirin sitting in the rusty shower rack. Toiletries. The shower was disgusting, (see pix), and soundproofing? Forget it. OK I'll try and give some positives. Bed was comfy but no way a double, heater worked well bearing in mind it was -2 and freezing ouside, breakfast in the small cellar room was adequate I suppose. And location ain't bad. And it was cheap!

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montfrin, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went once two years ago and we were willing to return. So we stayed for four days from the 10th to the 13 th of january. It's very nice place to stay, friendly, very clean. The breakfast is very good. Most of all, Paul and Szilvia and all the staff are adorable.
The hotel is ideally located wherever you come from, especially direct access from Heathrow Airport and Luton airport. Bed and Breakfast to be recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

clean, friendly staff, good prices, well located and good transports combinations, nice breakfast, wi-fi, quiet and not nosy..very well! only one suggestion: breakfast time should be until late than 9, it's too early when you are on holidays..

Room Tip: not next to the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we have been at this hotel recently, the staff was very helpful and the hotel was very clean as well. towels were available everyday and bed sheets were clean. the room was cleaned every day in our stay. breakfast was very good as well. i would definetly return to this hotel if i ever go to london once again,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamrun, Malta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here from the 22 to 30 December 2012. It was our third stay in this cosy and welcoming Bed & Breakfast Hotel. The room was always spotless with towels changed everyday. We were served full english breakfast with coffee /tea/hot chocolate and Juice in a cosy room. One could also ask for a second helping. Paul, one of the owners, was very helpful with us. The hotel is just 2 minutes walking distance to King's Cross St Pancras station and to several bus stops that take you almost anywhere in London.Even though it is so close to such a busy area the hotel is in a very quiet square, in fact we had a room at the front of the hotel and we always had a good nights' sleep. . We definitely will stay there again and recommend .it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,505 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#258 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#279 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#88 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#143 of 541 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#150 of 541 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotel

Address: 45 - 46 Argyle Square | Kings Cross St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 541 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Macdonald Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 150 metres from King’s Cross St. Pancras, this bed and breakfast is 5 minutes’ walk from St. Pancras International Rail Station, which offers Eurostar services to Europe. Euston Rail Station is within a 15-minute walk. Oxford Circus, with Oxford’s Street’s shops, is a 5-minute tube journey away. Regent’s Park is just over a 10-minute journey from King’s Cross. Buckingham Palace and its gardens are less than 3 miles away. A full English breakfast is served at the Macdonald Hotel. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. A TV, tea and coffee facilities and a hairdryer are included in each simply decorated room. Some rooms also have a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.