We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sloane Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sloane Club
Save
You added The Sloane Club to your Saves list
52 Lower Sloane Street | Chelsea, London SW1W 8BS, England (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #307 of 1,052 Hotels in London
New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I travel to London frequently and the Sloane Club is always my first choice. It has a very traditional club atmosphere which I like far better than what one finds in upscale boutique hotels in London these days.

The rooms are simple but attractively appointed with good linens. If I were to have any suggestions is that the bathrooms are, well, rather spartan and I for one would appreciate some sort of counter space or shelving.

There are no laptops permitted in the lounge although the club does now allow IPads which is great since many of us read newspapers in this manner. Thus it's very pleasant to have a drink in the evening and still be able to read the NY Times. I generally eat in the lounge as the menu is varied but without the formality of a full dinner.

The staff is uniformly professional and helpful and I think the fact that the staff seems to have little turnover says a lot about the management of the hotel.

Room Tip: I like to be on Sloane Street but there is traffic which some people may not like. I recently was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
12
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, U.K.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Sloane Club harks back to the past in many ways so whilst not to everyone's taste it is certainly ours.
There are 'rules' such as jacket and tie required for dinner, and no mobiles, laptops etc in the lounge and bar areas which we found rather charming. It was delightful being able to have a relaxing drink without feeling as though you were sitting in the middle of someone's office.
The restaurant was very good, in both quality and value though was very quiet and so lacked atmosphere.
The room was very comfortable and of a decent size with a nice bathroom. The bed was rather soft for my liking but you can't suit everybody.
The location is really good with Sloane Square Tube, Kings Road and Hyde Park all nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

A very traditional British establishment. Some might accuse it of being slightly pretentious and aiming to be above its station in life! For example you cannot dine at night in the dining room without a jacket and tie. But otherwise it has comfortable and clean rooms and enjoys a superb location minutes away from King's Road, Chelsea, and very close to Knightsbridge, Buckingham Palace and the West End.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great place super comfortable and a great location with Sloane Square tube up the road, Kings Road on your doorstep and Knightsbridge and Hyde Park a walk away. We stayed here twice once on our arrival into London and then on our way back from France. it was lovely to come back to and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Sloane Club is perfect for a night or two in London. They arranged a car to take us to and from the theater along with an early dinner at the club. The staff was friendly and responded to all requests quickly. Breakfast and dinner were fine. The Sloane Club caters to the older group so it is pretty quiet and very safe.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The Sloane Club is so comfortable it just feels like home (that's if your home has art, fresh flowers, crisp waiters and the like).

Being in Sloane Square is terrific. A short walk to Victoria to pick up a car, Carrifini's restaurant across the street (amazing Italian, try the veal schnitzel), la Bottega cafe also across the street (awesome pesto, mozzarella, and tomato panini with cappucini). Battersea park is a short walk away and great to stroll through. The beds are incredibly comfy and it's quiet so you sleep like a baby. Breakfast is included in the price & includes fruits, juices, toast, cereals, tea coffee and also cooked options you can pay for. Fun to have hot chocolate and truffles in the lounge after a west end show. Really elegant and classy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Rooms are small, but just fine. One odd thing that occurred is that I loaded up the room safe with my goodies (passport and vitamins) and closed without really following the instructions. They quickly sent a gent to help me. However in the few minutes before the safe was opened, I had thoughts that it never would get open, I would never get my passport, never leave UK, and have to wander the streets like a filthy orphan from a Dickens novel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#229 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#225 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Chelsea
No.11 Cadogan Gardens
No.11 Cadogan Gardens
#154 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#39 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#210 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Chelsea
myhotel Chelsea
myhotel Chelsea
#294 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sloane Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sloane Club

Address: 52 Lower Sloane Street | Chelsea, London SW1W 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 138
Also Known As:
Sloane Club Hotel London
Sloane Hotel London
Sloane Club London
The Sloane Club London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sloane Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.