We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, very clean- I was happy here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monopole Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monopole Hotel
Save
You added Monopole Hotel to your Saves list
98 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 541 London B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly, very clean- I was happy here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is our "family"hotel- we stayed here every year during the last 10 years. We tried different hotels but always were returning to this one.This is not the cheapest hotel in the area but the rooms are always clean and the breakfast is made by the style we like.The owner and his assistant are always friendly, are always willing to provide us with the information and are always paying attention to our needs.Compare to other hotels in this area I would like to say that the beddings are always snow-clean and ironed properly,they are changed every three-four days, the shower room is cleaned every day, the carpets are hoovered every three-four days.We did not need to worry about our belongings- everything was safe here.We did not experience any problems with payments as well.It just like your own home-relaxing and friendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    76
    45
    10
    13
See reviews for
26
73
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

If you are looking for a inexpensive place to have a roof over your head, then the Monopole Hotel in England is your place. Located just a few minutes walking distance from a main railroad station, it's easy to get to but hard to forget. After arriving at the hotel we noticed our room had a very strong odor. The odor was coming from a urine stained shower curtain. We also noticed many hairs on the bed sheets. We ask if we could change our sheets (we were willing to do the work). We were told, "We change the sheets once per week and it's not time yet." If you are the lucky person to come on bed sheet changing day you are in luck. If not, well, get ready to share the dirt, etc. of previous travelers. Overall, it was a nightmare for anyone who prefers cleanliness.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
txdrvr, Owner at Monopole Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2008
Hello, while we respect people's views, there are a few lies about this one. We change the sheets after every departure . The rooms are also cleaned every day. If you want to ask any questions about the hotel feel free to to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

I stayed here July 2006 after the reviews I read here and I wasn't disappointed. This is a very inexpensive hotel with great value. 60 pounds for myself and two kids. We had three beds, shower, etc. The breakfast was not the best, but decent considering the price. I had to stay at another hotel 4 or 5 doors away as I arrived a day earlier than planned. I stayed at the Royal Sussex and while it had basically the same features as the Monopole, it was another 40 pounds per night! As well, the staff at the Mononpole are VERY nice. The hotel is in a safe, clean area. We walked down to the Thames area most days, but bus stops and the underground are very close by (Paddington). The taxi trip back to the airport (Heathrow) from the Monopole cost 26 pounds plus per bag charges. .
One note...I did have to pay by cash at this hotel which managed to help put me over my weekly bank withdrawal limit for a couple of days. That was a pain.

  • Liked — Price, friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — Had to pay by cash, trash under the beds
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared to pay for your room with cash
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

My family, firends and I have stayed at The Monopole several times. The location is perfect and the owner and staff are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are small, but everything is functioning perfect. And - important to me - You don't spent all Your money on sleeping!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2005

We stayed at the Monopole Hotel in March. The rooms are extremely small. The bathroom is even smaller. The beds could use replacing as they are "well used". The manager is nice and very helpful. The breakfast was good - bacon, eggs and toast. Overall, for 45 pound per night it was worth it. The location was perfect, close to everything. Lots of pubs right around the corner. If you don't mind an older hotel, then this is perfect for you.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2003

I've stayed at Monopole few years ago with my sister and we've really loved it!The owner is friendly and nice,the Hotel,not fancy,is very very clean.Breakfast is good.I will come back

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2003

After a long search, i have reached the "monopole" Friendly owner to begin with....i had so many questions....

Rooms are VERY small, friendly staff, could use another beds, the BEST is it's location....not to mention it's prices comparing to "usual" prices at the same area AND CITY.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
Athena Hotel
#713 of 1,054 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#199 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Classic Hotel
#688 of 1,054 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopole Hotel

Address: 98 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 541 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your visit to London as a tourist will be both an enjoyable and exhausting affair and our family run hotel is the ideal place to recharge. Monopole Hotel is centrally located but distant enough to provide tranquil nights in the 24 hour city. The hotel is within five minutes walk of Paddington Station, which not only gives you access to ‘the tube’ (aka the London Underground) but to the National rail as well which allows you to take day trips outside London to Oxford and Windsor. This station also provides a direct link to Heathrow Airport and for those who prefer to take to London on foot, we are ten minutes walk away from Marble Arch, Oxford Street (which is the main shopping promenade), Hyde Park, and Madame Tussauds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monopole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.