We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monopole Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monopole Hotel
Save
You added Monopole Hotel to your Saves list
98 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Hull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Spent 2 nights here and was just what I wanted, Great location (5mins walk from tube) with good range of places to eat nearby. Hotel was clean and tidy, with comfortable beds and good showers. Breakfast was good (eggs, bacon, tea and toast) and was just enough to set you up for the day. Perhaps the best part were the friendly hosts - I would have no problem with staying there on my own for a future trip (of which I think there will be a few!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    67
    44
    10
    13
See reviews for
23
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

The hotel met and exceeded my expectations. Wireless internet performed flawlessly, beds were clean and comfortable, bathroom was clean, towels were big and water was hot. Staff was very friendly. The bathroom is a little odd with no shower curtain, but it is completely tiled. We asked for an extra towel to put on the floor after our shower and it solved any "problem" that may be perceived from a little water on the floor.

The breakfast was adequate; we are not used to the type of oil they fry the eggs in, and be sure to ask for how you want them done (runny, soft, hard). The coffee is made with instant, but all in all we have no complaints considering the price we paid for this Paddington location.

It takes about 20 minutes on the tube to get to Victoria and central London, less on the Bakerloo line to Leicester square and tons of theatres. The hotel is less than a 10 minutes walk pulling your bags from the Paddington station. No problems leaving our luggage, computer etc. in safe keeping after checking out on the day of departure.

If you need something, politely ask the staff members, who are very friendly and helpful.

This family run operation is excellent value for the money. Typical North American style hotels around the corner go for nearly double this amount and more.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is our "family"hotel- we stayed here every year during the last 10 years. We tried different hotels but always were returning to this one.This is not the cheapest hotel in the area but the rooms are always clean and the breakfast is made by the style we like.The owner and his assistant are always friendly, are always willing to provide us with the information and are always paying attention to our needs.Compare to other hotels in this area I would like to say that the beddings are always snow-clean and ironed properly,they are changed every three-four days, the shower room is cleaned every day, the carpets are hoovered every three-four days.We did not need to worry about our belongings- everything was safe here.We did not experience any problems with payments as well.It just like your own home-relaxing and friendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

If you are looking for a inexpensive place to have a roof over your head, then the Monopole Hotel in England is your place. Located just a few minutes walking distance from a main railroad station, it's easy to get to but hard to forget. After arriving at the hotel we noticed our room had a very strong odor. The odor was coming from a urine stained shower curtain. We also noticed many hairs on the bed sheets. We ask if we could change our sheets (we were willing to do the work). We were told, "We change the sheets once per week and it's not time yet." If you are the lucky person to come on bed sheet changing day you are in luck. If not, well, get ready to share the dirt, etc. of previous travelers. Overall, it was a nightmare for anyone who prefers cleanliness.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
txdrvr, Owner at Monopole Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2008
Hello, while we respect people's views, there are a few lies about this one. We change the sheets after every departure . The rooms are also cleaned every day. If you want to ask any questions about the hotel feel free to to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

I stayed here July 2006 after the reviews I read here and I wasn't disappointed. This is a very inexpensive hotel with great value. 60 pounds for myself and two kids. We had three beds, shower, etc. The breakfast was not the best, but decent considering the price. I had to stay at another hotel 4 or 5 doors away as I arrived a day earlier than planned. I stayed at the Royal Sussex and while it had basically the same features as the Monopole, it was another 40 pounds per night! As well, the staff at the Mononpole are VERY nice. The hotel is in a safe, clean area. We walked down to the Thames area most days, but bus stops and the underground are very close by (Paddington). The taxi trip back to the airport (Heathrow) from the Monopole cost 26 pounds plus per bag charges. .
One note...I did have to pay by cash at this hotel which managed to help put me over my weekly bank withdrawal limit for a couple of days. That was a pain.

  • Liked — Price, friendly staff, location
  • Disliked — Had to pay by cash, trash under the beds
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared to pay for your room with cash
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

My family, firends and I have stayed at The Monopole several times. The location is perfect and the owner and staff are very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are small, but everything is functioning perfect. And - important to me - You don't spent all Your money on sleeping!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2005

We stayed at the Monopole Hotel in March. The rooms are extremely small. The bathroom is even smaller. The beds could use replacing as they are "well used". The manager is nice and very helpful. The breakfast was good - bacon, eggs and toast. Overall, for 45 pound per night it was worth it. The location was perfect, close to everything. Lots of pubs right around the corner. If you don't mind an older hotel, then this is perfect for you.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monopole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopole Hotel

Address: 98 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your visit to London as a tourist will be both an enjoyable and exhausting affair and our family run hotel is the ideal place to recharge. Monopole Hotel is centrally located but distant enough to provide tranquil nights in the 24 hour city. The hotel is within five minutes walk of Paddington Station, which not only gives you access to ‘the tube’ (aka the London Underground) but to the National rail as well which allows you to take day trips outside London to Oxford and Windsor. This station also provides a direct link to Heathrow Airport and for those who prefer to take to London on foot, we are ten minutes walk away from Marble Arch, Oxford Street (which is the main shopping promenade), Hyde Park, and Madame Tussauds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monopole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.