We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Reasonable Hotel in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crestfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crestfield Hotel to your Saves list
Crestfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-4 Crestfield Street, London WC1H 8AT, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #587 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Rainbow Lake, New York, United States
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Very Reasonable Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This small hotel is located only steps from St. Pancras RR Station. There are quite a few of these small guest houses and hotels along the side streets in this part of London. The room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was included and very good, indeed. This is not a 5-Star hotel, but well worth considering especially if you are using Waterloo or St. Pancras stations. The latter is your connection with the Eurostar train to Europe. The only problem was the absence of lifts...but we were overpacked so our struggles were our own fault.

Room Tip: The downstairs room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    263
    183
    46
    38
See reviews for
110
178
63
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Pros: The staff were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. The location was great for travelling by Eurostar, being only a short walk from Kings Cross Station. Liked their Scottie dog, who stays in the reception area! It is fine for a short stay.

Cons: Didn't like the small wet room style bathroom, with the toilet at the far end and the shower by the door, but that is personal taste. The stairs were also quite a challenge with luggage, being a tight spiral. There is no lift. The room was very small, but that is the norm in London for hotels in this price range.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The welcome was nice when we arrived. Everything was explained well. Our room was small, and the bathroom was like a tardis! We didn't bother showering at the hotel, it was too cramped and also we were only given 1 towel each, which isn't enough really. We're used to getting a hand towel as well, and there wasn't even 1 to share. There was nowhere in the bathroom to hang any towels, or put anything.

The beds were really comfortable though, and the sheets were lovely and clean and fresh. Breakfast was cereal and toast, a bit of fruit - you had to do your own toast. There was also one choice of cheese and ham. I wouldn't call it 'continental'.

For the price and location though, it's just okay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here for two nights . The staff were friendly, room clean, beds comfortable and it was well situated for touring London. The breakfast was basic
but we found that there was plenty of it .
We had a room for three it had plenty of tea and coffee ,a hairdryer and a wet room .....which even had showed gel ...brilliant considering the price.
I would not hesitate to use this hotel again

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very tidy and clean. Looks like just renovated. staff are friendly. wifi signal is good. Near metro and train stations. Simple breakfast but sufficient. Indian and Chinese food are available around the corner. Super-mart is nearby. One disadvantage is that it does not have lift. Elderly with heavy luggage may have problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in a double room and we got an unrenovated room in the cellar. It was a bit smelly and the carpet was really filthy. Only one towel per person and overuse of detergent in the toilet. Wifi was so slow that it is virtually unusable. Suprisingly it worked better in front of the hotel than in our room. Breakfast selection was a bit bland. Two friends of us had a refurbished single room which seemed much nicer. Given that the price for the different rooms is the same, it seems a bit like a rip-off.

Convenient location but high prices compared to the quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The double room I stayed is fully "sealed". It has windows but it was locked. Although the weather in London was cool, I still find myself "sweating" inside the room especially after the hot shower. The size of the bathroom is super small, you cannot even turn around and I am only asian size.

The good thing is the location is very nearby St Pancras.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crestfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crestfield Hotel

Address: 3-4 Crestfield Street, London WC1H 8AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #587 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crestfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Crestfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crestfield Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crestfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.