We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ME London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added ME London to your Saves list
ME London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 - 337 The Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Almost perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

When you arrive at the desk , you feel like being in a cocoon, out of this world. The reception is impressive and gorgeous if you like modern style. The room was perfect with a king size bed and the bathroom is really modern and beautiful. Everything is in black and white. Staff is always ready to help you.
Breakfast is served in a restaurant. Large choice of hot and cold dishes. Very tasty.
Great location on Strand. 5 min walk from Covent Garden substation. Plenty of restaurants and theater around the hotel.
Complimentary wifi in the rooms.
Minor drawback: I had a room above the bar of the hotel. On saturday night, they play loud music until 2 or 3 am and you can hear it from the room.
This fact apart, I had a great moment in this hotel and I will certainly come back next time I visit London

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 1st floor . Some are located above the bar and can be noisy on Saturday night due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello FREDERIC S,

We love to be considered as ‘out of this world’ because our goal is to be truly unique not only in our design but in the services we also provide.

Black, white and grey tones are ever present throughout the hotel as we prefer that our staff add that missing ‘colour’ with their amazing personalities.

We’re sorry that the music from our venue caused you a minor disturbance however we would have been more than happy to accommodate you to a different room.

We want you to leave here with your expectations exceeded so we hope that sometime in future you will decide to visit us again and let us take good care of you!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    183
    79
    36
    33
See reviews for
97
442
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Went for drinks in the roof top bar and what a view, especially at night. Lovely outdoors and indoor, with plenty of seating outdoors with patio heaters and nice ambience inside but difficult to get seats. Make sure you take plenty of lolly as not cheap, however a real touch of class.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello mia c,

Thank you for visiting our Radio Rooftop Bar and for sharing your brilliant review with us.

From its inception we knew that it was going to be a destination and rightly so. It can be a slight disadvantage for those who did not pre-book due to its popularity but the view does make up for the suspense; not to mention those electrifying cocktails tailor made just for you.

Why not come back and bask in the sun during the summer time at the Radio Rooftop Bar; its bound to be the ideal day out!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had heard great things about this hotel that it is fabulous. Besides being really cool place for drinks on the rooftop bar, and nice funky loungy music in the elevator for the party goers, hotel lacks the warmth. Some rooms are small, and some with a really small window. The Vibe rooms are bigger. There is a nice large bathroom with double rain shower.

Don't stay in any rooms close to service doors. I am staying in one of the rooms, and all night I kept hearing the doors shutting down with a bang. I was up at 2am with this constant noise, and couldn't go to sleep because of this noise. Even during the day, I could hear the same noise all day long, I think I will sleep out of exhaustion now. I have called the reception twice, still waiting for their call for change in room.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 601, unless you plan to party all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello natureloverny,

Thank you for your comment. The very last thing we want for our guests is to have a disturbed night’s sleep and, therefore, we are investigating the noise situation. Considering you had such an important and exciting event the following day, we are doubly regretful that your ME London experience did not exceed your expectations. We don’t want to fail anyone. If you would allow us to, please come back and allow us to show you why the vast majority of our guests keep coming back to the ME London experience.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I like the extra touch upon arrival where ME offers a glass of Prosecco. Personally for me genuine service is the most important yet ME is popular for it's design. It would be nice to have a fragrance in the hotel so guests have the recognition staying in a Melia property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello Namie M,

Extra touches are what we like to think we specialize in. Finding staff that can be genuinely helpful at all times is no easy task and we always endeavour to recruit those that truly stand out.

It’s funny you mentioning the fragrance of the hotel; we actually do offer our guests the opportunity to purchase a bottle of our ‘Essence of ME’ directly from their mini-bar. It’s perfect when you want to escape from the reality of everyday life and simply relax and remind yourself about your unique experience with us at the ME London with a tiny spritz.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had two rooms with an interconnecting door this weekend a beautiful hotel, lovely food and professional staff. However when we checked out we were asked about the mini bar and paid £2.80 in cash for the one item we had had from the mini bar, when I checked my bank the following day we had a debit of £100.00 to the M E hotel I was confused about this as the bill had been paid in cash so when I called the M E to ask what this debit was for I was told its standard practice to debit £50.00 per room for the mini bar in case the guest is not telling the truth when they check out ! I was never told about this and I never had to input my PIN the £100 is still owed to us I think this is totally unacceptable to not tell the guest hence this review !BEWARE ! !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello Lisa W,

Thank you for your review. We’re deeply distressed that your experience was not our usual high standard. Please let us assure you that our guests are, of course, our top priority and that we aim to exceed their expectations. We would really like to know more information regarding your stay to address your complaints appropriately.

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melanievp
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed a weekend in this hotel. The ambiance is very cold and the lighting is terrible. Very dark all over the hotel, it felt like a tomb. The reception lookes like a crematorium. The staff made me feel not welcome during our stay. The public is common and cheap. Generally my impression about the hotel is poor. The rooftop bar is only allowed when you make a reservation but at the reception they don't inform you about this. If you are looking for a stylish hotel I recommend you to visit another 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Director de Relaciones Públicas at ME London, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Melanievp, Thank you so much for your review. The lighting, the ambience and the music in the common areas of the hotel, are set up in a way that matches perfectly with the moods and the hours of the day. The morning, afternoon, evening and night provide different feelings and emotions. That is why we want to enhance our guests’ experiences using these moods. The corridors have an inviting soft lighting to make your journey through the hotel relaxed and blissful. The award winning reception at the ME London is an 8 storey Atrium made of Carrara Marble that creates a mindblower experience due to the uniqueness of the space. At the Me London we understand and appreciate that everybody is different and we all have different tastes. Thank you so much for sharing your Me London Experience with the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is an amazing hotel. The reception has an atrium reaching up to the tenth floor where the rooftop bar has a wonderful view over London with so many landmarks visible. The rooms are well designed and have many features. The hotel is certainly not cheap but is still good value for a short stay in central London. Well recommended and the best place I have stayed in for a long time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at ME London, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Janner37, Thank you so much for such a fantastic review! We are delighted to learn you enjoyed the unique experience of the award winning Atrium. As you well commented the views from the Radio Rooftop Bar are breath-taking in the morning with the melancholic light of London and during the night with all the bright colours of the city lights. Thank you so much again for sharing your ME London Experience with the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ME London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME London

Address: 336 - 337 The Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Business Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
#147 Romantic Hotel in London
#191 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — ME London 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Melia, HotelTravel.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your ME London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ME London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ME London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.