We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay but could have been better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ME London

Save Saved
You added ME London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
ME London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 - 337 The Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 1,071 hotels in London
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay but could have been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a well located hotel right in the centre of the theatre district and close to Covent Garden. This was our second stay at this hotel and we had a very friendly welcome from Jamie the doorman. The reception is on the first floor and we tried to check in at 12.30 but were told our room was not available, despite the booking form saying you could check in from 12.00 am. It turns out that this is a best efforts option for the hotel so we were offered a room immediately if we upgraded for £55 which we reluctantly accepted. The upgraded room was large and spacious with a nice bathroom. The standard rooms are just as good and have better floor to ceiling windows. There is a hairdryer provided but nowhere to plug this in near a mirror which was very annoying. We reported this on check out and the Front Office advised Customer Services would contact us but we are still waiting for a response. The Radio Bar on the roof has great views and is worth a visit although the drinks are expensive. Overall a great stay but marred by the poor Customer service on checking in and out.

Room Tip: go for the standard room as high quality and well fitted out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to learn you came back and enjoyed the prime location of ME London. Guaranteed check in time is 3pm. We will always try to have the room ready prior to that time. In order to comply with the UK legislation only razors and electric toothbrush can be plugged in the toilets. You could use the plugs and mirror in the desk when using the hairdryer. The views from Radio Bar are breath taking and we are glad they were part of your Experience. Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and your great rating TandCfuntrips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    107
    50
    22
    16
See reviews for
60
260
22
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just wanted to say thanks to all at ME for a great experience. My girlfriend and I had supper in Cucina Asellina last week which was fantastic. We got a bit lost (OK, I was directing) and the girl at Reception, I think her name is Annabel (Scottish lady) was great with directions and it was good to know we were then in good hands. Thanks to everyone - we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
734Anonymous, thank you so much for such a lovely review! We are happy to know you enjoyed the Asellina experience, the best Italian restaurant –in this side of Aldwych,  The ME London staff is our best and most precious attribute, Annabel is a superstar! Thanks for the recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel for our anniversary, our first impression was WOWL.. The interior of the hotel is fabulous.
We was greeted by JAMIE ANTANIO at the front. He was more than helpful to us and went beyond his duties to help us and explain everything to us. He has a friendly manner and more than happy to help. We couldnt check in because our room wasnt ready until 3pm, which was a little diappointing as i had requested an earlier check in time. When we could get into our room we was let down a little as we had booked a Luxury double with balcony and river view, only to find we had been put in a twin room with a balcony and city view... Maggie the Manager came up to see us which we felt was nice rather than talking to us over the phone and she explained that she had looked to move us and could not even upgrade us as the Hotel was fully booked. We was very disappointed but she then went on to say that she would compensate us by halfing the price of the room and gave us a bottle of champagne, requested that the staff made the bed into a king. This all happened very quickly and although disappointed to start with MAGGIE made the situation right .
On another note: The DJ Radio room at the top of the hotel is a must, the views over London are spectacular and not something that you should miss.You do have to be on the list to get in so make sure you tell them on arrival.

When we was leaving the Manager of the hotel had requested too see us and apologised for the misunderstanding.
All in all if you are seeing a show nearby than this makes this hotel a must. Marks out of 10 - (10) :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Kelly m thank you so much for your fantastic review! We thrilled to see that even though we did not start in the best way Maggie managed to make a big difference in your ME London experience. Our guests are of paramount importance to us and we will go above and beyond the possibilities to make things right for them. Maggie and Jamie are both superstars! Thanks for the recognition. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the ME London Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner booked to stay at ME hotel over the weeknd as it was a special birthday occasion. It caught our eye straight away when looking through where to stay in London. It looked like the sort of place we would have an amazing weekend at and it definitely lived up to our expectations. This hotel was ' on another level' by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in. We loved how modern the hotel was. From the rooms, restutants, bars and interior design. Most of all what made our stay so welcoming is how friendly every member of staff was especially 'Jamie' who welcomed us on arrival. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting to Jamie. He was their until we checked out the hotel and helped us with everything we wanted to know. He made our stay very entertaining. Overall this hotel was a 10/10 for us. We would love to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Missleftiee thank you so much for your great review! At the Me London hotel our aim is to exceed expectations and we are thrilled when we fully achieve this. Jamie is a great asset to our team a 5* Doorman! Thank you for the recognition! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the always exciting ME London hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I spent a night at Me London for my 18th Birthday last night! My mum booked us in this hotel especially for the occasion that it was my birthday and my boyfriend was taking me out for a meal in London. From the minute me and my boyfriend got there, we found everything about the hotel including the staff really great. The staff at Me London are very friendly and welcoming with smiles on their faces so we felt that we were being looked after.

Our room was immaculate. Everything in the room was very clean, including the bathroom. I was very impressed with the cleanliness as well as the overall design of the room. Very nice and contemporary.

Our breakfast in the morning was really nice too, as we only had breakfast as that was the only meal we had at Me, the food from that perspective was nice :)

I would highly recommend anyone who is thinking of staying in London to consider staying at Me London. It absolutely lives up to it's 5 star rating. I will definitely be coming back to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Icekiwi, thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the service experience of the ME London staff. Our aim is to exceed expectations and we are really happy when we do so. Please contact our Aura team next time you book and we will be delighted to look after your wishes and desires!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Was welcomed on arrival with a glass of champagne at midday. We couldn't check in until 3pm so left our bags with reception and headed out for a few hours. Reception staff were all really helpful and professional. When we checked in our bags were brought to our room and we were shown the room controls (aircon, mood lighting etc).

We stayed in the Aura room, the rooms was designed beautifully although we didn't have a nice view. The bathrooms were lovely and the shower was great. The minibar was well stocked but pricey.

We started our evening with drinks in the Radio Bar, we didn't have a reservation as it was £100 minimum spend PER PERSON when we were asked if we had a reservation we said no but we are staying in the hotel so they let us up.

The bar had amazing views and the staff were really helpful. Drinks were expensive, for a cosmopolitan and a corona it came to £19 including the service charge which was added.

We then headed to STK for our dinner reservation, great food, great service. Loud and lively restaurant - would go back.

After dinner we went back to the Radio Bar. Once again the staff letting people into the bar were a little pretentious about who they let in. The Bar was really lively and busy at this time and the music was great.

We had breakfast in the morning which was included in our room rate. Once again the service and food was really good.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and thought that the staff, food and design of the hotel was amazing. It does get pricey though - but I suppose that's what you pay in a 5* hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear zoesunshine90, Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. We feel really proud when we exceed our guests expectations! Paying close attention to your review your experience sounds so exciting! We are thrilled you managed to enjoy STK, Radio and Asellina and all 3 outlets were up to the 5* service we strive to provide. Our Aura rooms are lovely but next time you book, please get in touch with our AURA department and we will make sure you get a room with gorgeous views, because our aim is to enhance your experience by granting your wishes and desires connecting you to the Aura of ME!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Cool Hotel, James at the entrnace was extremely both helpful and professional. Didnt like tiny things like how I had to upgrade my room for a night just because I was checking in early. 35 pounds is nothing, its just the concept. Amazing rooftop. But seriously speaking, certain staff members like James could change an entire experience. Personalities like these managing staff could change everything in a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Guest Relations Manager at ME London, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review rani20137. We are really happy you found our staff members helpful, Jamie is a superstar indeed, thanks for the recognition! Check in time is 3pm but we will always try to get your room ready before that time. The cool vibe of Radio Rooftop bar and the stunning views are the icing on the cake! Thank you again rani20137
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ME London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME London

Also Known As:
ME London England
Address: 336 - 337 The Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
#99 Business Hotel in London
#178 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — ME London 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Escapio, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Melia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, LondonMarketing.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your ME London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ME London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.