We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ME London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added ME London to your Saves list
ME London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   336 - 337 The Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were invited to the rooftop bar and were also shown round the hotel. The building originally belonged to BBC Radio and has kept some features to preserve its heritsge but at the same time the rooms are ultra modern design. The rooms have adjustable lighting to suit your mood a low flat screen TV. The location is very convenient for Theatreland with the rooftop Radio Bar overlooking Mama Mia. The lobby has a very unusual and striking design. The check in is done on the peaceful first floor atrium away from the somewhat noisy lobby where there is a bar and two restaurants. The restaurants are very open but excellent value with nice menus but they need to be prebooked. The roof bar and roof cabanas also need to be prebooked at least 48hours before as they have a strict capacity limit and no priority for guests. Capacity is to be extended but I would then have some concerns that it will become busy, noisy and less ambient. The canapes were imaginative, well presented and tasty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your recent ME London experience. The history of this building plot really adds to the journey our guests go through so it was crucial for us to retain both the story - as well as ensuring our contemporary decor complimented the heritage - hence the names Marconi and Radio for our two bars. Please do come back and see us soon so we can exceed your expectations further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    183
    79
    36
    33
See reviews for
97
442
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Visited the hotel on the star deal last night and all I can say is WOW! They give you a cocktail on the roof first which is beautiful and has the best view in London, followed by a 3 course dinner in Asellina all for £25!! The food and service were the best I've had in London. Truly unbelievable! I usually steer away from deals due to lack of good service when redeeming. Sometimes it feels like when they know you are there for an offer they treat you like second class citizens. Definitely not the case at Asellina. An amazing night on the cheap! I feel like I won something!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We are so pleased that you were able to experience our Star deal - taking in two of London's newest restaurant's and bars. We are so pleased you were able to join us - and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent three nights here over Easter with my wife. Firstly, they said they had a car park but in fact it wasn't yet open. This meant we had fair walk with a suitcase! The hotel had been open one month and they are still trying to work it out. The concierge people were good both helpful and competent. Reception is on the first floor and is an extraordinary structure, several floors high in grey marble with light projections of moving stars? On the Monday morning when we checked out however, there was only one receptionist on duty, so we had to wait whilst another client's travel needs were sorted out. The evenings were a bit odd. There is a very posh bar at the top and lots of people wanting to experience it. This means that the security was a bit oppressive. We just wanted to summon the lift and go up to our room but a strange character in one of those modern jackets that looks several sizes to small to an oldie like me, wasn't having that. We had to wait for him to summon the lift and allow us in. They need to decide whether they are a night club or a hotel. The two don't go to well together through the one entrance and set of lifts. The room was fine but no kettle, only an expresso machine with an insufficient number of coffee cartridges (1 real & 1 Decaf)). A shame, I rather like a cup of tea. No bath but a reasonable shower. Big TV against a lot of black shiny plastic. Large but terribly soft bed equals a poor nights sleep and achy hips in the morning. It had large dips in it and was quite uncomfortable. There is a lot of black marble in the entrance, reception and the corridors and there always seemed to be someone polishing it! Worst was the Italian restaurant on the first floor doing breakfast. Food was OK but the service was really poor. The staff including a managementy type spent their time chatting to each other and favoured guests whilst the rest of us struggled to attract attention to get more coffee. The staff were pleasant without exception and I am sure they will get it right in time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing. We are sorry to read that ME London didn’t excite you on your recent stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the friendliness of our staff and yet again their helpfulness. The team at ME London are passionate about looking after our guests and we’re thrilled that you could consider this in your comments to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed in an Aura room for 2 days over Easter. Yes, the rooms, hotel and general design have a wow factor- floating jellyfish in reception wall and the bar at the top. But....ME needs to decide if its a nightclub or a hotel. When we stayed the bar at the top was playing non stop techno music and mostly full of visitors not paying guests and we had to shout at each other to hold a conversation. The restaurant is the same- we had 4 speakers over our dinner table and asked the waitress repeatedly to turn the music down, to no avail. Whilst she was very sympathetic, her manager just ignored our request. Gilberto on the concierge desk is the best asset they have- welcoming, smiley, friendly and locked my camera in the concierge desk because it wouldnt fit in the hotel safe - it's only a strait forward digital SLR! Same complaint as few others about the 2 coffee capsules for guests and no more- why? This is meant to be 5 star!! And when we requested more and freshilk, we got several capsules of both coffee and UHT milk- despite repeating the order. Th Spanish staff are friendly but language problems exist....we felt like outsiders whilst we stayed there and have stayed in many other 5 star hotels and have been treated much better. The lines of club ers waiting to go up in the lift each evening indicated that ME hotel is trying to woo the hipsters in London rather than address the needs of their paying guests. Time will tell if they have learnt the lessons of complaints here on trip advisor as well as in house....and yes the staff do spend all their time cleaning the marble...one even wiped down the lift door before we entered it, which is all very tip top, but really, just change the wretched thumping techno music in the lift, bar and restaurants first?

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and bring your headphones....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
ME by Melia is a unique brand and yes, what works in other hotels around the world, may not work in London. On-the-whole, ME London is an exciting and unique place to stay and be entertained; we’re not your average 5* hotel – and nor do we want to be! ME London is not going to be to everyone’s tastes, but we do provide an experience and setting unlike any other hotel in London and, most definitely, we are impressing and making a firm name for ourselves as the new, best place for London hospitality with our various outlets. Indeed, Gilberto is just one (exceptional) example of how our staff strive to look after our guests and ensure that we maintain and improve the already exciting reputation that we are gaining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and new hotel, the location is perfect for restaurants and theaters, very close to Trafalgar Square and Piccadilly. Considering that is anew hotel service was good, specially the concierges, always helpful and with excellent suggestions. The only part that it should really improve is breakfast, always slow in the service and with just average quality.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for mentioning our Concierge team! We’re exceptionally proud of the warm, professional and welcoming service they provide to every guest that walks through our doors. Our location means that our guests and visitors can travel leisurely from the hotel to Theatreland and to many of London’s main and exciting shopping districts. We look forward to welcoming you back to ME London very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights in the hotel in a room on the third floor overlooking The Strand. We were both impressed with the bedroom, the bed was very spacious and comfortable. The panel on the wall controlling the light and heat was also easy to use and allowed us to have fingertip control of everything.
The room was very clean, despite all the glass tables and the large panel on the wall it was well cleaned and dust free.
The bed turn down service was very nice, dressing gowns were laid out and chocolates were left on the bed.
The bathroom was also very clean and the towels were big, soft and fluffy. My only slight issue is that the toilet did not have a lid which I found slightly unpleasant, I understand the room is equipped for disabled guests but there must be a solution. The shower was lovely and spacious and I was glad there was a separate hose attachment as the rainfall head was a bit much for the mornings I did not want to wash my hair.
The reception is also very impressive and all staff that we encountered were very polite and helpful.
All in all it was a beautiful hotel that we would be happy to stay in again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for so many positive comments about your recent stay at ME London. Our turn down service is regularly being commented on for being welcoming, comfortable and a personal touch. We’re really pleased that you had an impressive stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a brand new Melia Hotel on the Strand. We booked it because we wanted to be in the centre of London and we wanted to take our car and park it at the hotel. Okay so - good things about the hotel - lovely design, very flash, friendly staff welcome you and take you to reception which is just as well otherwise you might not be able to find it as it is on the first floor. Lots of black marble everywhere which looks fab but they do have to have someone more or less full time cleaning it. We had a birthday bottle of fizz in the room which was lovely when we arrived. Free wi fi too. AC and heating work really well and the lighting is excellent. Now the not so good - only had breakfast once as it was so disappointing, poached eggs were stone cold, had to beg for coffee and no refill offered, no-one checked if things were okay and staff seemed to be very very hard to attract even though there were loads of them. Gave up in the end. Strange because the staff on the ground floor were lovely so friendly and chatty. So went out after that for breakfasts. No way to make a cup of tea in the room, then on the second day found out we should have had a coffee machine which did then appear later on that day, but no kettle, just wondered why not when you are paying at least £200 a night is it too much to ask for the ability make a cup of tea?? They also only supply one coffee pod thing which is caffeinated so only one of us could have a cup of coffee, really odd and seems unnecessarily stingy for such a lovely hotel. Could have done with instructions for the coffee machine too. Would really have liked a bath, clearly not a standard in this hotel, were not upgraded like other reviewers so maybe that's why. So overall this is a very lovely looking hotel with no car park as advertised if this matters to you then be aware the nearest one is about 10 minutes walk and you cannot even drop off outside the hotel. They will valet park but they charge a lot for doing it, again a stingy attitude. But other than these niggles it is lovely, modern and stylish, very well located for the theatre and getting to central attractions in London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aura_Department, Aura Manager at ME London, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing. At present, Westminster City Council are doing essential pavement works on Montreal Place (the entrance to our car park). We are in constant contact with them in regards to opening the car park for our guests. We are sorry that parking, for this reason, is slightly difficult however we are providing a complimentary valet parking service to a nearby NCP (and the charges for this are unfortunately out of our hands). We want to make sure that our guests’ experience at the Hotel is one to remember..... but for the right reasons – so please come back and let us show you just how ME London can exceed expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ME London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME London

Address: 336 - 337 The Strand, London WC2R 1HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Business Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
#147 Romantic Hotel in London
#190 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — ME London 5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Melia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Escapio, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your ME London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ME London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ME London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.