We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   58 - 60 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Randers, Denmark
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Will come again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you dont want to spend a fortune, like a nice clean room with excellent beds, this is the place to stay. Nice breakfast with several options, trustworthy serviceminded competent staff. The house is very old and there is squirking floors, but find taht cosy. Am a return customer and will stay again.....

Room Tip: We travel to London every year in January for the sales. 3-4 women and stay in the hotels triple or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    188
    107
    50
    24
See reviews for
98
108
89
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great small hotel located within walking distance of Euston Station and a short bus ride from Kings Cross/St Pancras. I needed somewhere cheap and convenient for a quick trip to London, however some of the other hotels on the area have atrocious reviews - The George Hotel had generally favourable reviews.

Stayed in Room 1, which is at a basement level and it was good sized twin room. Free wi-fi, flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of space for luggage were all provided and it was quite quiet. There is some noise from the Tube running beneath the hotel and it is located near to the staircase for the night entrance, but I wasn't overly concerned - or disturbed.

Only real negative with the room was the distance to the toilet and shower - I knew it was shared facilities, but could probably do with one or two more loo's! Breakfast was fine and they say that if you want more, you only have to ask. I thought that it was worth the £4 price. The luggage retention system is excellent - saved a fortune against the left luggage facilities at the nearby stations.

All in all, I would definitely stay again. So convenient for the railway stations and the free wi-fi and baggage retention are both winners in my mind. Just a couple more loo's would be nice!!

Room Tip: Room 1 is in the basement but has a window to a courtyard and is generally quite quiet... apart from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed in Single room-> small but neat. Stayed 2nd floor, narrow stairs. Trouser press, TV, Hair dryer etc available in room.
Bit of street noise, gap between floor and door-> at night, corridor light came in easily. Thin Wall, can hear noises next door and foot steps upstairs.
Toilet, Shower/Bath-> shared. Clean and tidy bath room close to room.
Decent breakfast, average quality, cooked breakfast.
Friendly staff.
Convenient location, 5 min form St.Panc.
Hotel has good system to hold luggage after checked out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed at the George Hotel for 2 weeks when I first arrived in the UK at the beginning of November. Have read the reviews on TripAdvisor I had realistic expectations of what the George had to offer and I was ready for the stairs. My single room on the top floor was more than adequate as were the shared bathrooms. Everything was spotlessly clean, I was provided with fresh linen whenever I requested it, and the staff were friendly and more than helpful. The George is right in the middle of Bloomsbury with its wonderful squares (parks) and Georgian buildings, just around the corner from Marchmont Street, with its cafes, pubs and shops, and only a few minutes walk to three tube stations. The only criticisms I had were the rather average breakfasts and the occasional noisy guests. Other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the George and it was a wonderful introduction to London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have stayed here before und wholly reccomend it. Very clean, Staff very efficient and friendly. Shame that the single room so super small is, but totally adequate. Very centrally located for all means of publich transport

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights in a room with a double bed facing the street and park. Many years ago we stayed in one of the many hotels along the two blocks of Cartwright Gardens, and when looking for a low cost hotel we became nostalgic and decided to stay in the neighborhood again. Our expectations were realistic and were actually surprised for the better. The hotel was very clean, as were the bathrooms between floors. You need to be prepared that in the middle of the night you cannot simply roll out of bed to reach the bathroom. However, this didn't turn out to be a big problem there are enough bathrooms, so if one is busy there is probably a free one another flight of stairs up or down. The was equipped with everything, kettle, sink, hair dryer, etc. The heating was more than adequate and you could open a window or turn down the radiator. However, the double bed was really a short, narrow, hard double size bed. The outstanding feature of the place is the very helpful, courteous staff. They helped us get very scare tickets to War Horse a short time before the matinee without paying a scalper's price. Don't be put off by their seemingly cold, brusk Central European manner, they really can be very helpful, unlike hotel and tourist staff we encountered in Prague. The neighborhood is extremely convenient, close to many underground stations and bus stops. It has retained its quiet academic charm, as we knew it, but there a new feature, a shopping mall only a few blocks away with supermarket , drugstore, many shops and cafes. The North Sea fish-and-chips establishment was still there and still great. A pleasant surprise was our discovery of the Indian restaurant Humaira on Judd St. only a short walk from the hotel. At first we didn't believe the raving reviews on Google Places, but we can now truly say it is the best Indian food that we have so far eaten in London and we want back to eat there a second night. Aside from great Indian food, the owner also had a big heart and we were entranced when he led into the restaurant a large group of visually impaired persons and seated them at a central table. If we looking for a clean, budget hotel in a great London location again, we would return to the George.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Much more of a hostel than a hotel and at nearly £200 for a large double room for two nights B+B this seemed steep. First its good points - it's in a very pleasant and quiet location (a rare quality in Central London at this price); it's near to the mainline stations yet convenient for West End; it's clean and we had fresh towels each day; staff are cheerful and pleasant. On the downside - many things make it appear institutional - cheap emulsioned woodchip wallpaper, artexed ceilings etc, wired glass partitions, layer on layer of roughly applied white gloss, cheap plywood panelled doors that don't quite fit (or even open properly - had to sidle into our room), door furniture straight from a 1970's ironmongery shop and chairs in the breakfast room that looked suspiciously 'ex-conference'. The en-suite bathroom was a plastic pod similar to those which used to be in cabins on cross-channel ferries - however, everything worked. Breakfast also very hostel-like: not had tinned tomatoes for yonks - a reminder of 1960s boarding houses; tasteless half rasher of bacon and a broken egg - all served up on a cold plate; tinned fruit - also very 1960s; variety of cereals ok and fruit juices good; plenty of fresh coffee with very pleasant service. Throughout breakfast, there was the added entertainment of staff working their way through a huge pile of ironing through the glass partition.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 58 - 60 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location for a stay in central London - quiet and peaceful facing central gardens but within walking distance of the British Museum, Covent Garden, Soho and the West End, ideal for both theaters and shopping. If you prefer to use the tube, the hotel is only 2 stops from Oxford Circus and Covent Garden and only 3 stops from Leicester Square. All bedrooms in the George have TV, direct-dial phone, tea/coffee making facilities, safe, etc., and the prices include a traditional English breakfast and tax – no more to pay. The hotel now has Wi-Fi in all rooms and a computer in the lounge with free internet access for guests to keep in touch with friends and family while traveling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel London
The George Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.