We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Apartments Paddington

Save Saved
You added Dylan Apartments Paddington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dylan Apartments Paddington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Devonshire Terrace | Westminster, London W23DW, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #855 of 1,073 hotels in London
Norfolk, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Dylan Apartotel is in a converted house in quiet location not too far from Paddington Station. The room whilst small was spotlessly clean. Although the description of self catering is perhaps a trifle imaginative. There is a toaster, kettle, twin hob and microwave oven as well as a fridge the sheer lack of space would make cooking anything more that a snack tricky if not impossible. However this was offset by the numerous reasonably priced eateries in the area of Praed Street .The staff were friendly and cooperative and allowed us to leave our bags there when we arrived some hours before check-in time. The accommodation it self was quiet although I do not know the level of occupancy during our two night stay. For the price it was a very good choice bearing in mind the reputation London has for high priced accommodation.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 which was fine but we did not see any other to compare it with
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    35
    25
    50
See reviews for
21
58
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

These apartments are in a wonderful location and for the price offer a spacious room that is clean and has all that is needed for a short city break. By using the kitchenette it is possible to save money on eating out, but there are plenty of bars, restaurants and attractions near by. The only issue for some travellers may be the stairs, we stayed on the fifth floor and there is no lift. For us, this wasn't a problem and as we only had hand luggage we managed fine but the stairs are rather narrow and fairly steep (I found this adds to the history of the building in the area). The staff in the building were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have stayed there for 4 nights. We got room downstairs in their dungeon without openable roof light windows, nor air circulation. They want to pay before stay on desk and want all your credit card numbers written on paper form. And bathroom should be named as torture room. BEWARE of this "hotel" it is not worth of money.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Where to begin?
On arrival when you walk in you think you found a really good deal and a place to stay. You are quickly disappointed when you walk in to reception. Run down and smelly. The stairs are narrow making it hard to get up with suitcases, and you can see that everyone else has struggled as well with marks and holes in the wall.

Upon arrival i had to give out my debit card details, including security code if you wish to stay. I was not given a reason why they needed all this information from me. When i went back downstairs to enquirer about the internet i could see my card details and copy of my passport sitting out in plain view for everyone to see. Needless to say the card has been cancelled as soon as i left.

The walls a paper thin and you can EVERYTHING!!! The internet is overpriced and doesn't work well at the best of times. I was told my room would be cleaned everyday, they only made my bed and changed my towels. The floor was a mess and my bed was falling apart and made noises no matter what you did. The floor was filthy, apparently owning a broom and vacuum is to expensive. To use the toilet and the shower you have to leave the door open to be able to move around. The kitchen was shockingly small was only provided with one power outlet and an extension lead. The sheets and duvet cover i was provided with were torn. I had to use a coat hunger to hold the window open. I felt like a prisoner with less room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Dylan Paddington advertised studio apartments. Upon arrival we found this to be more like a youth hostel. The bed was so small, I had to sleep on the floor the first night so my wife could sleep on the narrow bed. When we informed the manager the room was inadequate for our needs and we had to leave, he refused to provide any kind of refund thus in effect charging us $643.00 for one night's stay. Citi Bank would not intervene saying it was a foreign country. Stay if you are a single student, but don't do business with these people if you want a comfortable lodging and value your pocketbook.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dirty, smelly refrigerator (smelled of dead animals), stove did not work, blowing the circuit breaker everytime we tried to use (staff refused to fix), lights blew circuit breaker - left in dark all night. Night staff "Only here for emergencies", could not replace the bulb. Woman in office (manager I presume) was the WORST person I have ever met when it comes to customer service. She was obnoxious and RUDE, RUDE, RUDE. Unaccommodating and agrumentative. Plenty of places to stay - I agree with FNBSunburnt... Tear it down and start again... with NEW STAFF!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dylan Apartments Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Paddington

Address: 14 Devonshire Terrace | Westminster, London W23DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #855 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dylan Apartments Paddington 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 21 self-catering Studio Apartments near Paddington Station very close to Hyde Park & Notting Hill. Ideal for Business Professionals, Tourists and Holiday Breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dylan Apartments Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Paddington Hotel London
Dylan Hotel London
Dylan Apartments Paddington London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan Apartments Paddington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.