We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dylan Paddington” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Apartments Paddington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dylan Apartments Paddington to your Saves list
Dylan Apartments Paddington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Devonshire Terrace | Westminster, London W23DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #972 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dirty, smelly refrigerator (smelled of dead animals), stove did not work, blowing the circuit breaker everytime we tried to use (staff refused to fix), lights blew circuit breaker - left in dark all night. Night staff "Only here for emergencies", could not replace the bulb. Woman in office (manager I presume) was the WORST person I have ever met when it comes to customer service. She was obnoxious and RUDE, RUDE, RUDE. Unaccommodating and agrumentative. Plenty of places to stay - I agree with FNBSunburnt... Tear it down and start again... with NEW STAFF!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marelondon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Upon checking in, all payments were required to be paid upfront for the stay. This wasn't a problem until we requested for a refund when the conditions got unbearable.

First, we had a shower that the water could not drain. Then the maintenance guy came and pulled out the hairball, after which it was still poor, but workable. Secondly, there was 7am to 6pm construction noise non-stop next door was so loud that the wall next to the bed was vibrating. (a hammer-drill going into a shared concrete wall is not a pleasant experience)
The final straw was when the stove stopped working.

We first asked for a refund/cancellation of some of our remaining nights and they flatly refused (we would have been totally happy with losing 1-2 night cancellation fee), claiming that we “agreed” the room was fine before we moved in. The reality is we got ASSIGNED the room after we paid, had a token of assistance with getting our luggage down to the deep bowels of the most bottom room (being shown the way as it was not easy to find). Then told that this was our room and left with the key. There was no verbal agreement of acceptance and definitely no offering for alternative options.

Their initial resolution for the stove was to say the least, pathetic. We were asked to use the stove in another room, but not eat or stay in that room for very long as it was needed to be kept clean as there was another guest arriving and no rooms were available for the night. The suggested solution was ridiculous for the simple reason that we had paid for a room with cooking facilities, and reserved the right to use them at any time, and not be restricted to
the time, duration and frequency to the use of the kitchen, and require permission from the staff every time to access the other room.

After a half-hour of patient and polite reasoning with the manager (never once being offered any reasonable alternative, or partial compensation for the lack of facilities) my partner decided the best thing was to wait quietly in reception to await word back from their maintenance contractor on fear that if he was not physically there to remind them, we would not likely get a resolution before the staff went home for the day.

After another half-hour of waiting they very reluctantly came up with a final solution of moving us into another room. Yes you heard correctly, there was in-fact another room available! (to say that another way, we had been flat out LIED to)

The kitchen in the new room worked, but there was an exceptional reek from the pipes in the bathroom, but what choice did we have at that point.

Another annoying issue with the kitchen facilities is that they provide no cleaning products. At first we thought they might service the apartment, and then we were told that we needed to buy them ourselves. It's not the cost, it's the inconvenience!

In the end we paid for 6 nights and left after 4. We lost 2 nights of payment but it was not worth the pain.

It was by far the most unpleasant experience we had in UK – would never go back there again and would implore each and every single prospective guest to avoid this place at any cost!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FnBSunburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Before booking this hotel, I have read the comments on this page. I was very aware of good and not so good things about this accommodation. Thus I had little expectation. Que sera sera-.... However, I was very lucky. I booked a single room, but I was upgraded into a double bed room, with kitchen, telly, toilet and shower. It was not luxury of course, but more than enough, since during my stay, I left quite early in the morning and I came back very late. There was also room service, thus when I came back the room was tidy and clean. It took some time (around 10 minutes) to get the hot water. The receptionists were very professional and kind. I was not disappointed at all. The location is also perfect, close to the paddington train and subway station, and also bus stop. There are some nice pubs and restos around. Hyde Park is within minutes of walk. Surely I will come back to this place again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we had a lovely stay in Dylan Paddington appartments. Tiny, but clean and comfortably rooms and very kind and helpful people at the reception.
I really recommend this place and will come back for sure :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Isis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

good location, anything around to see. appartment is very small, you can´t travel with a big suitcase because there is no cupboard available...bathroom also very small, only for one slim person ;) beside the bed is the kitchenette...you can use the fridge and the microwave from your bed...but you can´t sit and eat in this appartment, there is no table or a chair. it is also very clairaudient...you need earplugs for a quiet sleep. commendable for young people or backpacker.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Hyde Park Executive Apartments
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#304 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
Caring Hotel
#473 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#337 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,238 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#339 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
Venture Hostels
#599 of 1,058 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Apartments Paddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Paddington

Address: 14 Devonshire Terrace | Westminster, London W23DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #972 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dylan Apartments Paddington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 21 self-catering Studio Apartments near Paddington Station very close to Hyde Park & Notting Hill. Ideal for Business Professionals, Tourists and Holiday Breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Dylan Apartments Paddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Paddington Hotel London
Dylan Hotel London
Dylan Apartments Paddington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing