We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like staying in a workhouse” 2 of 5 stars
Review of LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added LSE Carr-Saunders Hall to your Saves list
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   18 - 24 Fitzroy St, London W1T 4BN, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 649 Specialty Lodging in London
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“like staying in a workhouse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

we only stayed for one night, thank goodness. Once we had finsihed formalities with the helpful receptionists, it was a dismal experience: carpets covered in tarpaulins outside the lifts, dimly lit corridors and bedroom, damp and musty room and towels, non-potable water in room, broken and urine-filled toilet, Victorian showers in cool and puddle-filled shower room. Breakfast involved a queue in a cramped corridor with people with trays trying to file past each other. The breakfast selection was very good and reasonable quality, though the breakfast room was not warm. It was helpful to be able to leave our luggage for several hours when we left. Location great.

I was a student so have lived in some pretty dank accommodation but I feel sorry for anyone having to stay here for a whole term. A depressing end to a holiday.

Room Tip: Go to a different place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie S, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

At the time of your stay we were refurbishing two rooms on the first floor and the tarpaulin was placed in the corridor to protect the flooring underneath. We tried our best to alert our guests to this inconvenience with several notices placed about the hall and I am sorry if you did not see any of these.

We have recognised that our corridors can be a little dark and and we are in the process of changing over to new brighter LED lighting. In fact, the first floor on which you stayed is the only floor left to do.

Please accept my apologies for the damp towels. I will bring this to the attention of our Housekeeping staff, as this clearly should not have happened.

I am sorry if cleanliness fell short of your expectations on this occasion but all our bathrooms are serviced twice a day, once in the morning between 10am and 12noon and then again from 4pm-6pm in the afternoon.

I am also sorry that we did not manage to live up to your expectations on this occasion and that you were disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    84
    36
    9
    4
See reviews for
15
60
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falun, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday evening in late September 2013. The room was clean and adequate for the purpose.
The shared toilets and shower were clean and the shower quite pleasant although the shower cubicle lacks anywhere to put anything, no shelf or hook, so I went from the room just wrapped in my towel. If you're going to do this double check you have your key card, I nearly forgot.
The street outside has a pub about fifty yards away. As anticipated this meant it was a little noisy until about 0200 (it was Friday). If you're a light sleeper staying over the weekend I'd recommend earplugs.
Warren Street tube is the closest station (about three minutes walk) and that's on the Northern Line. A good service until about 0030 over the weekend.
Overall I would say that the LSE offered good budget accommodation for those that want to see London without paying a fortune. After all, it's just a place to wash and sleep.
At these prices I shall most likely use it again.

Room Tip: I booked a single room with shared bathroom facilities. It had two beds but no one else there. Try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I loved staying here! I've stayed in 3 central London accomodations and this was the best one, and the cheapest! The rooms were clean, had a bit of a musty smell, but nothing some fabreeze couldn't fix. Cleaning staff were very friendly; left towels, changed the garbage, and made the bed, but were never intrusive. The room was spacious. The shared bathrooms were very clean, and upkept very frequently. Breakfast was a plesant surprise. I wasn't expecting the eggs or bacon and sausage to be stellar, and they weren't, but the choices of cereal, toast, beans, hashbrowns, cheese, orange juice, hot chocolate, and tea made up for it! Key card didn't work very well, we had a hard time getting in through the door everyday, but there's was always a receptionist there to let us in. It was really fun to come home everyday to a usually empty common room with a pool table, ping pong table, and tv. Location was AMAZING! Will definately stay here again if I can. Only suggestion is don't get a room right under the breakfast room. We were on the 5th floor in room 510, and every morning from about 6:30-10am, all you hear is people walking and tables and chairs moving around. Wasn't a problem for my deep-sleeping boyfriend, but was a wake up call for me every morning. I really did have a lot of fun here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

excellent in safe area rooms are basic but very clean excellent shower and toilet areas breakie excellent with views overlooking bt tower locl shops on door step excellent bar across road callded potion deffintly be back

Room Tip: high floor wih view of bt tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I went there without much expectations, but it was great. The location is perfect, the neighbourhood is great to go out by day and night. The breakfast is really variated and you can take whatever you want. The rooms are very clean with a lavatory in your own room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's all about the location. You will not find a cheaper place to spend a night in this part of London. I know as I've tried over many years. The rooms may remind you of a prison cell and you may have to share a bathroom/toilet but it is extremely cheap.

Unlike similarly priced places you will feel that it is safe, the service on the front desk is friendly and helpful and the (six item) breakfast is a very good addition. It's about ten minutes walk from Oxford Street and Soho, five minutes from Euston - the location could not be better.

Towels, soap, shower gel all provided. It is a place to crash, almost a trade secret for those in the know.

The big downside is that as it's essentially student accommodation it isn't available all year round.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A few small caveats follow. Stayed in a single room. Basic furniture but bathroom/shower facilities up-to-date and clean. Really decent and fair breakfast (which I wasn't expecting at this price), wifi was excellent. Staff were all very friendly and efficient. Excellent location close to tube stations, shopping, St. Pancras and Euston, Regents Park and walking distance to Camden market and Kentish Town to the north and the West End to the south. A Tesco's Express and Sainsbury's is just over on Tottenham Court Road. Would gladly stay again.

Caveats: * a free towel is provided but no face flannels. After a long day out (especially when I managed to come during a late-summer heat wave), I'd really like to be able to wash my face and arms. It just doesn't occur to me to bring my own flannels in trips because these are usually supplied. So bring your own or buy some of those pre-moistened towelettes at the nearby Sainsbury's or Tesco's.
* if you're staying multiple days, you may have to remind the cleaning crew to resuspply your room with the shower gel/body lotion/shampoo/conditioner/soap sachets. They're really friendly people and it wasn't a hardship to chat with them but there was a day or two when I missed them.
* the residence offers laundry/drying but I suggest hand washing in the room's sink and jerry rigging a dry rack in your room. Otherwise, the set up with using rechargeable cards really puts you at a disadvantage. You have to buy a card from the machine (£3.60-ish). This will pay for a wash and leave you with a credit. But it won't pay for a dry. So you have to go online and top up the card for a minimum of £5. Which will pay for a dry but leave you with a useless credit of something like £1.60. And I had to pay £2 for a box of laundry detergent at Sainsbury's. Essentially, I ended up paying £10.60 for a small wash and dry. The card idea is obviously suited to long term living arrangements but not so much for the summer residence set up.
* earplugs highly recommended for lighter sleepers. Ambient traffic noise in the morning and pub noise in the evening. Potion, the pub, closed their outdoors area around 10PM but people hung around past that time.
* my #1 new travel hint I picked up from another guest to deal with bad air circulation within the rooms: bring a USB stand-alone fan and a USB-included plug converter. Like I mentioned, there was a late summer heat wave and the way the windows are set up, you only get to tilt them open from the top of the windows. Unfortunately, when you pull the ceiling-to-bottom ledge curtains closed, you're also sealing out this air ventilation. You're stuck with two awful options; keep the curtains closed to keep the room dark and your neighbours from watching you sleep and be miserable in the heat or leave the curtains open for a bit of air and lots of light and, potentially, gawking. Another guest and I started chatting at breakfast and he told me he bought a plug converter that included a USB port and bought a small, cheap USB-powered desktop fan and he uses that, plugged either into the converter or his notebook, to at least make sure he was some air current going over his face or feet so he can sleep all night. What a great travel tip for future endeavors! And would have been very useful during this stay.
* two plugs in my room (one was used to the lamp). Better learn to juggle all your electrical needs :-)

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers (101-102, 201-202, etc) are located kitty corner to 'Potions', a pu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LSE Carr-Saunders Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Address: 18 - 24 Fitzroy St, London W1T 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill , Oxford Street / Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 649 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Carr-Saunders Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carr-Saunders Hall provides bed and breakfast accommodation in central London near Oxford Street.Carr-Saunders is also within easy reach of many famous attractions such as Madame Tussauds, and the British Museum as well as London shopping areas such as Covent Garden and Regent Street.Rooms at Carr-Saunders are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer, with low rates year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your LSE Carr-Saunders Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr-Saunders Hall Hotel London
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.