We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, central, excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added LSE Carr-Saunders Hall to your Saves list
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   18 - 24 Fitzroy St, London W1T 4BN, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, central, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were in London for a few days with two small children and not a lot of money. Carr-Saunders Hall provided us with a really excellent base for visiting lots of different parts of London. Although the rooms are pretty basic in themselves, the beds were comfortable and everything was scrupulously clean. We paid £60 per night for each twin room, and this included towels and a really generous breakfast. I would recommend it to anyone - my two children (3 yrs & 6 yrs) were very happy, as was my mother (over 60).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    84
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
15
60
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was visiting London in the summer of 2010 and instead of staying in a dorm room I found myself fancying something a little bit more private for a change, however still on a budget. It was then that I came across Carr-Saunders Hall just off Tottenham Court Road.
Carr-Saunders Hall only operates as accommodation during the university breaks because it is a student halls of residence during university term time.
I found the rooms to be priced only slightly higher than for a hostel in the centre of London, and for the low price I received a clean, fully-furnished room with two beds, an excellent view of the post-office tower right outside of my window, and I received excellent shower and toilet facilities immediately opposite across the hallway which were large enough for the people on the floor.

The breakfast that was included was excellent and you were entitled to around seven pieces of cooked food (with a small fee for extra pieces). The best thing for me was the rooftop terrace on which you could eat your breakfast and admire the post-office tower or just to admire London awakening from atop the building.

Excellent accommodation. Only flaw is that it's only available during the university breaks and not for the whole year!

Room Tip: All rooms are incredibly sound proof and you'll have a great night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at Carr-Saunders Hall in April with my teenage son because we were attending an LSE visit day. It was a good opportunity for a prospective student to test the accommodation. It is in an excellent location for a visit to central London. It has to be remembered that this is student halls. The decor is dated and very tatty but it is clean. We had two single rooms. The rooms have a bed, desk, small wardrobe, and sink. No rooms are ensuite. By choice I would not stay anywhere with shared bathroom facilities. I recommend packing flip-flops to wear in the shower. When booking there was not much information about what was provided but there are basic toiletries and a towel provided. No mirror. No hairdryer. Breakfast canteen style - very good value and good choice. I would recommend Carr-Saunders Hall for young lone travelers who want to avoid single supplement and don't mind shared bathrooms - they will get good value, great location, and good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here during the London Marathon and will be staying again in July. We had a twin room which was very clean, if a bit worn (but it is student accommodation after all). The beds were very comfortable and the heating very efficient.

The price of £53 for the night for a twin room was marginally more than a hostel, but for that you get your own private room and a good nights sleep and a proper breakfast. Hostels in central London charge anything between £76 and £90 per night for a twin room with shared facilities, so this is a bargain! I was impressed the breakfast and the cleanliness of the dining hall.

The showers and toilets were very clean, the only problem I saw was the level of cleanliness in the kitchen. Other guests had left behind plates, mess and wrappers everywhere and although I recognise that this is down to others' laziness and poor hygeine standards it would be helpful if the staff could wander by now & again to tidy up.

Other than that, the location is excellent and it is a very good standard of accommodation for the price. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

If you are under the age or 25 (or want to feel that way) or have a large family, this dorm property might do for a night in central London. Hostels are a better bet, however. It is difficult to find, even with a London A-Z, and especially in the rain. Take a taxi. Remember that the room barely has a wash basin, and the loo is through several hall fire doors and unisex - can be a challenge in the middle of the night. The showers are, well, je ne sais pas du tout. Look for the soap,shampoo, etc. in stapled small brown bags on the desks. The breakfast in the rooftop cafeteria is excellent and included. If you ever wanted to see the Post Office tower at barely above eye level, this is your chance. Also close to the British Museum.

Room Tip: Close to a toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

All I have to say is that it was much better than I expected. The bed was a bit old, but good enough for a couple of days. As it was my first time sharing bathroom, I was really afraid I would regret this choice, but it was really clean and I had no problem at all. Actually, I did not even see other people there! The breakfast was excellent! Great variety, and you can, as many of the students do, save a fruit or muffin for later! The only thing I didn't like was the check in time (3pm). I think it's too late. I was able to leave my suitcase there earlier and check in later, though.
I'd certainly go back and I highly reccommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for your useful feedback, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We needed an inexpensive, comfortable, clean, quiet room in a central location, with a decent breakfast, no frills required. That's exactly what we got, with the bonus of an excellent breakfast. If you don't need TV, minibar, etc, are happy to trot across the corridor to the very clean and modern loo and shower, (basin in bedroom) like to have the use of a kitchen, fridge, etc., and don't mind queing up for buffet breakfast this is the place I'd warmly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments about your stay! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LSE Carr-Saunders Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Address: 18 - 24 Fitzroy St, London W1T 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill , Oxford Street / Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Carr-Saunders Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carr-Saunders Hall provides bed and breakfast accommodation in central London near Oxford Street.Carr-Saunders is also within easy reach of many famous attractions such as Madame Tussauds, and the British Museum as well as London shopping areas such as Covent Garden and Regent Street.Rooms at Carr-Saunders are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer, with low rates year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your LSE Carr-Saunders Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr-Saunders Hall Hotel London
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.