We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added LSE Carr-Saunders Hall to your Saves list
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   18 - 24 Fitzroy St, London W1T 4BN, England (Fitzrovia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at Carr-Saunders Hall in April with my teenage son because we were attending an LSE visit day. It was a good opportunity for a prospective student to test the accommodation. It is in an excellent location for a visit to central London. It has to be remembered that this is student halls. The decor is dated and very tatty but it is clean. We had two single rooms. The rooms have a bed, desk, small wardrobe, and sink. No rooms are ensuite. By choice I would not stay anywhere with shared bathroom facilities. I recommend packing flip-flops to wear in the shower. When booking there was not much information about what was provided but there are basic toiletries and a towel provided. No mirror. No hairdryer. Breakfast canteen style - very good value and good choice. I would recommend Carr-Saunders Hall for young lone travelers who want to avoid single supplement and don't mind shared bathrooms - they will get good value, great location, and good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    87
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
16
63
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here during the London Marathon and will be staying again in July. We had a twin room which was very clean, if a bit worn (but it is student accommodation after all). The beds were very comfortable and the heating very efficient.

The price of £53 for the night for a twin room was marginally more than a hostel, but for that you get your own private room and a good nights sleep and a proper breakfast. Hostels in central London charge anything between £76 and £90 per night for a twin room with shared facilities, so this is a bargain! I was impressed the breakfast and the cleanliness of the dining hall.

The showers and toilets were very clean, the only problem I saw was the level of cleanliness in the kitchen. Other guests had left behind plates, mess and wrappers everywhere and although I recognise that this is down to others' laziness and poor hygeine standards it would be helpful if the staff could wander by now & again to tidy up.

Other than that, the location is excellent and it is a very good standard of accommodation for the price. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

If you are under the age or 25 (or want to feel that way) or have a large family, this dorm property might do for a night in central London. Hostels are a better bet, however. It is difficult to find, even with a London A-Z, and especially in the rain. Take a taxi. Remember that the room barely has a wash basin, and the loo is through several hall fire doors and unisex - can be a challenge in the middle of the night. The showers are, well, je ne sais pas du tout. Look for the soap,shampoo, etc. in stapled small brown bags on the desks. The breakfast in the rooftop cafeteria is excellent and included. If you ever wanted to see the Post Office tower at barely above eye level, this is your chance. Also close to the British Museum.

Room Tip: Close to a toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

All I have to say is that it was much better than I expected. The bed was a bit old, but good enough for a couple of days. As it was my first time sharing bathroom, I was really afraid I would regret this choice, but it was really clean and I had no problem at all. Actually, I did not even see other people there! The breakfast was excellent! Great variety, and you can, as many of the students do, save a fruit or muffin for later! The only thing I didn't like was the check in time (3pm). I think it's too late. I was able to leave my suitcase there earlier and check in later, though.
I'd certainly go back and I highly reccommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for your useful feedback, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We needed an inexpensive, comfortable, clean, quiet room in a central location, with a decent breakfast, no frills required. That's exactly what we got, with the bonus of an excellent breakfast. If you don't need TV, minibar, etc, are happy to trot across the corridor to the very clean and modern loo and shower, (basin in bedroom) like to have the use of a kitchen, fridge, etc., and don't mind queing up for buffet breakfast this is the place I'd warmly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for the positive comments about your stay! We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hi stayed here because i was doing London Marathon this year and have to say it is very good value for money being very central to London with underground tube stations only a stones throw away. The hotel looks average from the outside but staff are very helpful, bedrooms are clean and basic (no tele) but who needs one of them after tiring day, beds are very comfortable usually takes me two nights at accomadation to get good nights sleep not here!. toilets and shower/ bathrooms are shared but clean locks on each for privacy. I stayed on floor 1 unfortunately no plug but went to next floor and hey presto plug so used that bath. Breakfast has vast array of choice so if you cant get enough to eat before your day out here then i'm sorry you are to fussy. On floor entering hall there is a shared lounge with loads of leather sofas little bit old but comfy big flat screen tv, table tennis table, pool table and vending machines drink/food kids would fit in fine here. On the whole i enjoyed my short stay and will definately use this accomadation again if sightseeing London in near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LSEVacations, Manager at LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that the Marathon went well! We’ll get the plug for the first floor bath sorted straight away, thanks for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed here over the Easter holidays with my 11 year old son. I was a bit nervous as I've never stayed in this type of accommodation before. I need not have worried. The accommodation was clean, warm and adequate for our needs. The room was basic but it had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The showers were OK, could do with a bit more cleaning.
The breakfast was fantastic - 6 items and as much toast and tea as you could eat. What a great way to start the day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The best bit about this accommodation is the location. There are several tube stations nearby and a leisurely stroll of about 15 minutes to Oxford Circus. All in all, this is a brilliant way to see London on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to LSE Carr-Saunders Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Carr-Saunders Hall

Address: 18 - 24 Fitzroy St, London W1T 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Carr-Saunders Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carr-Saunders Hall provides bed and breakfast accommodation in central London near Oxford Street.Carr-Saunders is also within easy reach of many famous attractions such as Madame Tussauds, and the British Museum as well as London shopping areas such as Covent Garden and Regent Street.Rooms at Carr-Saunders are available at Christmas and New Year, spring and summer, with low rates year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your LSE Carr-Saunders Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carr-Saunders Hall Hotel London
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LSE Carr-Saunders Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.