We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience in London” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Classic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Classic Hotel to your Saves list
Classic Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #693 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible experience in London”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone going to London. We were there for 2 nights. The first thing we noticed was that there was no security lock on the door. The sheets had holes in them and the towels and bathmat were threadbare. The second night we were in our room sleeping when someone broke into our room about midnight. Turns out it was the front desk person saying he was returning our key to us - but our key was in our room with us! Very upsetting and a very unbelievable story that the front desk person tried to have us believe. I would never send anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: Please make sure any room you stay in has a double lock on the inside of your room. No room here h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    44
    43
    14
    22
See reviews for
42
35
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights and on arrival we were allocated a single room, even though we are a mature couple.The double room was tiny, clean & well furnished but I had to climb from the foot of the bed to get in and out. The shower in the morning was cold & the water was a trickle, but was soon fixed by the staff. The breakfast room is inadequate & too small for so many people and there was always a long wait. Breakfast was good however with plenty of choice and the staff worked constantly & were always polite. The surrounding area is very nice and the hotel is close to the station & underground. All in all a good hotel but if you want room to move about-ask for a twin rather than a double then you get more space

Room Tip: Dont go for the fifth floor, water pressure poor and rooms tiny. Ask for a twin rather than a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night and found the hotel clean, the staff polite and helpful, and the location perfect. Although the rooms were a little small, this is typical for the style of house in central London and given the price what more can you ask for. The staff were always really polite and provided assistance whenever we asked. A good hotel for a short-stay in London.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great location and relatively well priced for London but ridiculously cramped and hard to manouvre around with luggage. You'll need to be super fit to climb the steep stairs with your bags, so I suggest you pack light.

Ok for one night stay whilst visiting the city but I would avoid it if you plan to spend a couple of days sight seeing.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Ok, the location is good, close to Victoria station... But if you are not in a good shape, forget it. The luggage must leave outside the bedroom. To get into your bedroom, you gonna have to climb the bed first. The breakfast is downstairs, a claustrofobic place, no windows, very small , few and squeezy tables. So if you really have to stay there take a breath before.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Classic Hotel is a budget hotel in a very expensive town. The rooms are small (often tiny), but it is very clean, it offers free wifi (ask t the desk for the ssid and password), a complementary breakfast, and it is very convenient to transportation. The staff are friendly and attentive.

The hotel is in Sussex Gardens, about five minutes away from the Paddington Rail station and halfway between both the Paddington and Edgeware Road undergound stations. That makes it easy to get to and from Heathrow, and also provides easy access to sightseeing spots in London. Hint: Paddington is probably preferable to Edgeware Road for Underground access - the walk involves crossing fewer high-speed streets and station access is via an escalator rather than lifts.

The hotel itself appears to have been recently refurbished - the guest rooms are clean and nicely fitted out. They are small (it is London), and are intended mainly for sleeping. If you want to sit and read, find a pub nearby. Bathrooms are very small, but very nicely fitted out. Plenty of hot water.

The Classic is a bit spendy, but probably not out of line for London.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

To review this hotel as anything other than a bed for the night would be wrong as that is all we booked and used it for. A group of my self and 4 friends decided to go to London for a shopping/theatre trip and booked this hotel based on price, location and the option of a parking space.

We had a family room for 4 (3 of us slept there and that was cosy!) and a double room which was much nicer ascetically. The family room had very dark, peeling wall paper and the two single beds had less than half a metre between them, the double bed was fine. The TV was great, really big but mounted on the wall above one of the single beds, so the person in that bed had to bunk with someone else to watch our morning dose of Jeremy Kyle. The shower in the family room was scalding hot, and there was no lock on the door, though it looked as if the bathroom had been recently and nicely renovated. We were given a kettle in the room, but with only two tea bags, no milk and a limited supply of sugar. The people in reception were happy to provide more and gave us a pint glass full of milk (??) and some more tea bags. The double room had the opposite problem with a luke warm shower, and they too had to request more tea bags. Our rooms were on the top floor which was 7 smallish flights of stairs – thank god for the spongy carpet! Saying that, my bed was actually very comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep. The hotel is in a very busy area and traffic sounds start early in the morning, this went un-noticed by myself as I am used to city areas, but it did bother some of my ‘village life’ companions.

Breakfast was served until 9.30 in the teeny tiny dining room which had about 4 or 5 tables squashed together as tightly as possible. There was no option of a cooked breakfast, just toast, some shell on eggs floating in luke warm water and some cold (yep COLD) baked beans that may have been warmed at some point when breakfast was first put out at 7am! There were some tiny ‘croissant’ type things, to call them croissants would not be fair. There was a bowl with a few token plums and an apple, and some yogurts, but we just ate what we could face and then left quickly.

We had to pay £10 for a parking space, which initially there were none of until one of the workers at the hotel moved his car, then it was extremely difficult to squeeze the car in without hitting any pillars. But we got there in the end and didn’t have to move the car until we left the following day.

The good thing about this hotel was it’s location, a five minute walk from Paddington tube station, which was perfect for the Bakerloo line which took us to Oxford Street shopping and Charing cross station where we saw the Legally Blonde Musical at the Savoy Theatre.

If you are going to a gig in Hyde Park, or a Musical in the west end the Classic Hotel is OK as a bed for the night, but if you are expecting something more, then this probably isn’t the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Hotel

Address: 92 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #693 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with multilingual staff, restaurant & bar; set in city center near Hyde Park; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Classic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel London, England
London Classic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Classic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.