We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed down at Bankside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LSE Bankside House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added LSE Bankside House to your Saves list
LSE Bankside House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA , England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #617 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bed down at Bankside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Bankside House is a great budget choice for London. It's clean, comfortable and convenient (just behind Tate Modern) with helpful staff and serves up a great cooked breakfast.There aren't any double rooms (only twin - but en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities) but if you don't mind that, or the 'student hostel' atmosphere in the common areas, you'll find it compares very favourably to the budget hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter one at the back/overlooking inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    116
    66
    23
    24
See reviews for
68
59
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent 3 nights at BH this month - 3 nights B&B in this tremendous location for only £99, truly hard to beat.

Easy check in, and desk staff always courteous.

Good sized single room, arranged in a triptych with one other bedroom and the bathroom. Everything was well worn but very clean. Good shower pressure but the lavatory required a lot of cranking.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and the duvet cosy. Good amount of hanging and drawer space, though only 2 coat hangers. Plenty of power points. Courtesy kettle, decent size, and a regular supply of coffee, tea and milk.

The only down side was that there was no mirror in the room at all, so it was impossible to see how one looked before setting off. There was a small shaving/make up mirror in the bathroom, too high for me and anyway, no good for checking hemlines in.

The cooked breakfast - 6 items plus unlimited toast and coffee - was excellent: good value and very well cooked. Some of the nicest sausages I've ever had, and the yolks in the fried eggs stayed runny, despite the mass catering.

They happily kept my luggage for me after check in.

On easy bus routes, especially the RV1, which never seems to come up as an option on then TfL website but was a lovely route, right into Covent Garden.

Particularly easy for the Menier Chocolate Factory.

In truth, for a holiday holiday, I might choose something with just a hint more en suite about it but for a bargain weekend, I recommend Bankside unhesitatingly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at Bankside three times over the summer and would recommend it to those looking for a low-budget stay in the capital. The location is brilliant, as you are within walking distance of Westminster (30 minutes), and Waterloo (20 minutes). Very close are the restaurants and bars along the Thames which are just lovely on a warm evening. The buffet breakfast at Bankside House is fantastic - you get a choice of 6 items including apples, oranges, bananas, yoghurts, croissants, pain au chocolat, bacon, beans, eggs, hash browns, wedges, sausages and unlimited toast, tea & coffee.

Downsides of Bankside House;
1.The staff- the staff are people that happen to be behind the counter but they are by no means there to assist you or provide customer service. I think the problem is that they have gotten too used to dealing with the young international students that are booked out at Bankside House all summer long and the staff have forgotten that they are dealing with fee-paying customers who are expecting just a touch of courtesy. The management should run a refresher training course for the staff to remind them that they are in the hospitality trade.
2.Cleanliness - the rooms are very basic, which is absolutely fine, but they feel inherently dirty and that they could do with a really thorough deep-clean. The bathrooms are pretty grim and in need of a deep-clean also, although the showers are fantastic - always hot and powerful.
3.Noise - I was woken up by the person in the adjacent room who I was sharing a bathroom with. Their door was so creaky and the walls are paper thin. There's also a lot of noise from the street whichever room you're put in.

Although there is no WIFI, Starbucks is located 2 minutes away and they offer it free all day long...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Really enjoyed stay at Bankside House, very good location on river, right next to Tate Modern. Friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast. Room basic and comfortable, tho mattress lumpy- I am used to memory foam! Visiting daughter impressed with room. Excellent value for money. I will be back!
Mrs Diane Edwards

Room Tip: Check if any building .construction nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Came to London for the Paralympics with a large group of disabled young people. Our visit was a complete success largely thanks to the accessibility of this building and its wonderfully helpful and cheerful staff. Our young people were able to use the building with ease, including the restaurant for a very good breakfast, and the student bar and TV room in the basement. The accessible rooms were exactly that, which is rarely the case when booking accommodation for wheelchair users, and were cleaned and tidied every day. There was parking outside for our buses and the location was phenomenal - 2012 is London's year and this vibrant city and South Bank were only minutes away by foot, including water buses to take us downriver to Greenwich. Bearing in mind this is student accom, the rooms were comfortably adequate and I would feel quite at ease here on my own for a few days.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lift areas are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We, somewhat foolishly, booked 3 single rooms here as a last minute cheap stayover in London before an early start at the Paralympics the next day. We arrived at 9.30pm to be ignored at Reception for 5 minutes before finally being attended to when I spoke up for assistance. On reaching our rooms, we found one to only have a small bedside light working. Overhead lighting and all other electrical points in the room were not working. On going down to Reception to report this, we were kept waiting 30 minutes whilst the issue was 'investigated'. When the attendant came back we were simply told there was only one other free room available in another section of the building or we simply had to put up with it as maintenance were not available until the next day.

As a family we did not want to be split up and clearly the room had not been checked before we arrived - even though we were informed, somewhat curtly, that it would have been. The staff came across as completly indifferent to this inconvenience and at no point we were offered a partial refund or some form of compensation for the problem. Their attitude can be summed up as 'tough, put up with it' and seemed far more interested in the large groups of students coming in and out at all hours. When it is late at night and your are tired, you do not expect to have to deal with this hassle.

Despite this, the rooms were of the basic standard you would expect for such as cheap price and the bathroom, albeit quite dirty and in poor repair, had a good hot shower. The best part was the breakfast which was pentiful and included in your room price.

I will not be returning to Bankside House and have learned that you really do get what you paid for. It is a shame as I have stayed in other university accomodation that is absolutely fantastic, but this is really quite poor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked through Lastminuterooms.com on my mobile - easy booking. Stayed during August - booked 4 days before. Great location (8mins to nearest tube - Southwark), great staff, clean room with lovely white bed sheets, clean towels and brilliant breakfast - unlimited tea/coffee/juice/toast 'n jam plus any seven items form a comprehensive selection - sausage, egg, bacon, mushroom, beans, tomatoes, fried bread, yogurt, grapetfruit, fresh fruit, crossiant ect...
Front of Bankside looks over Tate modern, my room was at the back and was noisy from outside waggons unloading - will request a front one next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to avoid being disturbed by waggons delivering goods to the shops at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LSE Bankside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LSE Bankside House

Address: 24 Sumner Street, London SE1 9JA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #617 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Bankside House 3*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankside House provides Bed & Breakfast accommodation near the Tate Modern Gallery - it's just a one minute walk away from the front door. Bankside House is also located near The Shard, Shakespeare’s Globe, Borough Market and St Paul’s Cathedral as well as being within easy reach of the City of London and the West End. With its location and price, Bankside provides incredible value for anyone wishing to stay in central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your LSE Bankside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankside House Hotel London
Bankside Hotel London
LSE Bankside House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LSE Bankside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.