We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the way to become an excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Wellington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   71 Vincent Square, London SW1P 2PA, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“on the way to become an excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I booked this hotel upon my arrival at Heathrow airport. i didn’t had any internet coverage to check it online but the tourist office representative assured me it’s a very good hotel and cheaper than the one i was already booked with.
I took the risk, inquired on why it would be a 4 star hotel yet cheaper than a 3 star hotel. The answer was that they have just finished renewing the hotel, hence, lower prices and better rooms.
The exterior of the building is nice, traditional English building, the area is very calm and the Vincent square is just outside the hotel, great scenery. It was when i entered the hotel that i was about to have a shock, the carpet is very old, the whole furniture looks like something related to a 2 star hotel in the 80’s. It looked retro and similar to a hostel not a hotel. The corridor was in such a mess, i discovered that the refurbishments haven’t finished yet. No elevator, you have to take the stairs, but the staff are very helpful, professional and friendly.
As soon as i entered my room, my impression changed 180 degrees, the room is just fantastic, and I cannot believe I forgot to take pics of it. Very spacious compared to the room in other hotels i have checked in earlier. i was in room 223.
There is plenty of space to put your stuff, to store your empty luggage, big bathroom and shower. There is a tray filled everyday with Complementary tea, coffee.
the room have a fridge, but in order to open it, u need a 50 pound deposit for each day, i wanted to use it to store some water and food i might bring in with me, but told i can’t empty it, still they will charge me which is very unhelpful somehow unlike other 4 and 5 star hotel can do. They need to change that policy.
The breakfast wasn’t really good, although the price is included but i would like if we have the option to take off the price of breakfast. It was said to be a continental one, but very poor options, if u want to order an egg, an extra 3 pounds will be added, the basic price was 12 pounds, and if u want to have a full English breakfast, an extra 6 pounds will be added.
I have been to a 2 star hotel, bed and breakfast ones and they do offer much richer breakfast options with lesser prices.
As for the constructions that was and still going on, it started at 7 every morning, but when i notified the management that it should start at least by 9, as all of us are people on vacation, no need to wake up that early, the management did comply to this, even when there was some drilling earlier to 9, it was in a relatively remote areas of the hotel.
I know this is a long review, and can be contradicting at some point, but this is the real situation, very nice rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, but ongoing constructions are the major issue here, so it’s your call.

p.s: by the time I wrote this review, I have seen that others have posted their own and some of them said the staff are rude for asking the guest to come down just to get an internet voucher. I have to say that during my 11 days stay, all the staff were very friendly and far from being rude. This is their system, either you give the credit card and have a 24 hour internet, that even if it ends up, just by a call you can obtain another 24, or buy the smaller vouchers, which I used to do just before I go back to my room. I agree that they could do some sort of an extra mile thing and send someone to the room with the voucher, but still they need someone to pay for the voucher or maybe they lack staff designated for this sort of services, this does not negate the fact that all of them, no exception, are very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: i was in room 223, overlooked the side garden of the hotel, but now full with consruction stuff. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    159
    103
    57
    101
See reviews for
69
181
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The entire hotel was a building site, drilling coming through the walls - difficult to hear yourself think, let alone sleep (no mention on the website and impossible to change rooms). Incredibly rude staff - having to go to reception each time to pay in cash for internet usage / room service (2 flights of stairs without lift) because they do not take a pre-authorization on check in. I work as a consultant to spend 2/3 of the year in hotels - this was a really horrid experience, I'd encourage you to avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Wellington was a youth hostel and is now bing refurbished into a hotel and so it is half of both. The rooms are very nice but the lobby and facilities are made for back packers. The staff is well meaning but untrained. We had a couple of odd incidents like the power in our room going off in the middle of the night. Wifi is also an issue as you pay per device, which becomes pricey. It may be much better in a few months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henley on thames
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Right, lets get the positives out of the way first. Location great - really handy for Victoria, Tate, River, Houses of Parliament. Staff are almost embarrassingly helpful and courteous. The few rooms which have been refurbished are nice. There the positives end.

The correct thing to have done with this old building would have been to shut it down, renovate it, and open it when finished. Instead the owners are trying to eke out some income by having paying guests while the works are going on. It is absolutely filthy in all of the public areas, all of which remain in an awful state - think 1970s youth hostel and it is below that standard. Bare electrical wires on every wall, public toilets used by construction workers and knee deep in dust. No lifts to the upper floors.

Continental breakfast is very poor quality, and served in a room in the basement which has to be seen to be believed. Have the Health and Safety or Food Standards visited this place? And some of the fellow diners (still living in the unrefurbished student accom?) looked like they had been on a course of rehab.

And all his for just £250 a night. They really are taking the proverbial to charge top dollar for a hotel with no amenities, which is filthy, which has no food service, which charges £10 for WIfi and which has noisy work going on from 8 till 5 daily.

This may well be a cracking hotel when it is done - the room I stayed in was the standard I would expect from Grange hotels.. But they are seriously risking their brand with this shoddy and opportunistic piece of daylight robbery. Until the renovation work is complete, nobody should be paying any more than hostel prices to stay here. I have stayed in cleaner backpacker hostels for a tenner. So beware....................

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

when we walked up the drive to the hotel..we thought what have we booked into!!!
ignore that..there is major re-furbishment going on but this did not cause any problems.
the room was more than "1st class"..well furnished and a bathroom & walk in shower was
well about the standard. Breakfast was continental, but for an addition £6 you could have a full english...we had the continental, and that was excellent plenty there for you.
The Staff were excellent, well presented and looked after you. I'd certainly stay again.

Room Tip: make sure you book an en'suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here last year and people must be warned this is more like a hostel than a hotel. It is also extremely noisy as they are allowing building work to go on while taking guests. The work starts early in the morning and will disrupt any plans you might have for a relaxing lie in. Also when I stayed some loud, drunken guests in my corridor decided it would be fun to hammer on peoples doors at about 3am and run down the corridor screaming. This place was a university hall of residence (Kings College London) before becoming a hotel and it pretty much still is. No ensuite bathroom in my room. No sound proofing. Doors to rooms that close loudly and can be heard while you try to sleep. No air con. Old tvs. I could go on...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Wellington Hotel

Address: 71 Vincent Square, London SW1P 2PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Wellington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully located in Westminster on leafy Vincent Square, the Grange Wellington Hotel provides a retreat from the commotion of the City, whilst remaining within easy reach of Buckingham Palace, St. James’s Park, and Westminster Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Grange Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel London
Wellington Hotel London
Grange Wellington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.