We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic, but rather quaint!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Wellington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   71 Vincent Square, London SW1P 2PA, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“basic, but rather quaint!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

It's always 'you get what you pay for' with a place like the Wellington. I grew rather fond of the old place in the 2 days I stayed there this week. It really is OK, apart from the long walk to the toilets and showers...ensuite, but after a trek! I loved the breakfast description of meats and cheeses...ham and cheddar. Fruits from the chef's pantry...tinned fruit salad. Its basically very good value, in the centre of London, 15 mins walk from Big Ben. Well done Wellington I say.

Room Tip: I'm sure thay are all as good as each other!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    159
    103
    57
    101
See reviews for
69
181
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have stayed in 2 and 3-star hotels and never before have I come across one that has SHARED bathrooms. Folks, this "hotel" is more like a hostel than anything.

I came here on a business trip, and since I'd be in London the whole day, I enquired about their late check-out fees when I made my booking. Turns out they charge £10/hr for late check-out. Ridiculous! Upon arrival, I realized that it's a blessing that I hadn't chosen to go for the late check-out, because my room is the most depressing room I have ever been in. The paint is peeling, the door frame is falling apart, and the bed smells of damp. To top it all off, the room is stuffy with the window closed and noisy with it open. Given the choice, I'd much rather spend my down time lazing in Starbucks than having to spend another minute in this dump!

The only thing The Wellington has going for it is its location. It is a walking distance away from the Victoria tube station and the Big Ben. Other than its prime location, as far as I'm concerned, The Wellington is nothing more than a huge dump. I don't understand how it can have 2.5 stars??

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed there with my partner for two nights.. we came from Preston by bus to the Victoria Coach Station and we found the hotel in 10 minutes. It is so close to Westminster Abbey and London Eye and Buckingham Palace..
Vincent Square is a quite place in a busy area. I can really recomend this hotel, because when we decided to go to London I was looking for a cheap accomodation, and I found a hostels for 22 pounds. Wellington was for two people, two nights with two breakfests =>120 Ł (amazing). As many others wrote, you have to share a shower (no problem for tourists). Rooms are clean, with a basin, fresh towels and TV. ENJOY LONDON!

Room Tip: Try the different room than the one behind the main door (too noisy when people are opening and clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Arrived to check out London and get to know various areas and aspects of the city as I was soon to start living there and studying for a masters.
The hotel room was quite small and furniture disorganized. The bathroom was shared with others on the same floor with men's shared showers on first floor and women's shared showers on the ground floor. You might as well just stay in a hostel for a fifth of the cost.
The building was quite old. It had an unused "Chapel" and "Library" and definitely could do with serious updating.
The service was excellent and the staff were very polite and very helpful.
Did not go for breakfast in the hotel - you can get great value quality breakfast in a number of places in Victoria (a 5-10 minute walk away)

Room Tip: Rooms on the Vincent square side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is odd in that when we first checked in, we were met by a doorman in a three-piece suit, and the breakfast buffet had full table service. Yet this is a glorified hostel with shared bathrooms, dingy carpets, and dirty walls. There was no soap in the women's bathroom during our entire one-week stay. Also, everything about it needs updating. There was construction going on while we were there, but this meant that loud, burly guys were making lots of noise very early in the morning. The hotel also cheaps out on little things that should be included: the phones don't dial out, the two computers aren't free--and neither is the wifi, which is only available in the lobby--and we were given only one sample-size bar of soap for the week. There was also no AC or any fan, and consequentially the room was incredibly stuffy, yet the windows only open a few inches and have no screens. Both the hotel building and the way it is run need to be rexamined.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel was smelly, dirty, poorly maintained, dangerous and very noisy. (we had been upgraded for free we were told on arrival!!!)

My daughter set the alarm for 7am and said we have to get out if here Mum!!

It was terrible and we were glad to be out of there.

If we had not arrived at nearly midnight we would have found some where else.

Staff were grumpy and obviously didn't want to be there!

Don't be fouled by its nice frontage and reception!!

Room Tip: There is not a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I do not like share sanitaries like in this hotel... The general facilities are good but quite old... need some remodelations...By the other hand it have a great location, close of Victoria Station and Big Ben.......
.............................................................................................................................
.......... .
.......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Wellington Hotel

Address: 71 Vincent Square, London SW1P 2PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Wellington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully located in Westminster on leafy Vincent Square, the Grange Wellington Hotel provides a retreat from the commotion of the City, whilst remaining within easy reach of Buckingham Palace, St. James’s Park, and Westminster Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Grange Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel London
Wellington Hotel London
Grange Wellington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.