We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Wellington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Wellington Hotel to your Saves list
Grange Wellington Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   71 Vincent Square, London SW1P 2PA, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My sister and I spent 6 grueling nights at the Wellington. We booked the hotel at the airport so we had no idea what we were getting ourselves into. The rooms were pre-paid and non-refundable, otherwise I would have sought out other accommodations.

To start off, you need to understand that the Wellington is not a purpose built hotel, but rather an old college dormitory that has been repurposed. This of course means that all bathroom and shower facilities are shared. These shared facilities are in a generally terrible state of disrepair. The towel hooks near the showers are falling out of the wall, there is mold on the ceilings of the showers, the hand dryers do not work, etc.

Moving on from the showers, the rooms themselves are equally bad. They are small, dirty, and unkempt. Exposed wires run along the inside walls. Paint is flaking. Comforters and sheets are stained. Beds as hard as a rock. The windows only open 2-3 inches and no fan or air conditioning is provided in the room. If you ask the staff for a fan they will grumble and eventually after some time bring one to your room. I might add that the fan they will provide might be the smallest electric fan in the world. The floors are extremely creaky which creates a major nuisance when trying to fall asleep at night as other guests thunder about.

As I was told by the staff at the front desk, the only thing complimentary at the Wellington is water. Indeed, they charge by the minuted for internet access. No WiFi is available at all. The breakfast is an unmitigated disaster. Do not eat it, you will likely fall ill (as I did).

I'm confident that I am forgetting a few horrid details, but the message should be clear, do not stay at the Wellington.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    159
    103
    57
    101
See reviews for
69
181
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

From the outside, this hotel looks like a respectable place to stay in a nice neighborhood. Though, as soon as you walk into the check in area, you realize that this place is not worth a cent of your money. This "hotel" if you could even call it that has no air conditioning in a now hot temperatured London, and public restrooms which have absolutely no privacy. The room we stayed in had paint peeling off the walls, probably from the horrid smell that filled the room. This scent would not leave the room, no matter what precautions we took. The smell was so absolutely disgusting that it was difficult to sleep. In order to fit our family in, we had to get two rooms, on opposite sides of the hotel....on different floors. The workers, except for one helpful employee had no clue about anything they were doing, and barely spoke English. The most disgusting "hotel" I've ever been to. It was renovated in 1984 and hasn't been updated since, or cleaned, or painted.

Room Tip: Don't go here and you'll have a nice room someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The room was boiling hot, despite it not being a hot day, furniture was shabby and mis-matched, no bedside lamps and ceiling light was too poor to read by.There were pipes showing all over the room. The shower room had the bottom part of the curtain missing so anyone could peer in. The windows were difficult to open and the bedspreads were so heavy they had to be taken off before going to bed and were impossible to put on properly as the bed was jammed right up to the window. Street cleaners started right outside at 7.30 on Saturday morning.(I realise this isn't the hotel's fault but am just warning people!). Breakfast was ridiculously expensive (cheap cafe just down the road!). I could go on but I think you will probably have got the idea by now...

Room Tip: Give this hotel a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The accommodations were decent overall, but suboptimal. Shared bathrooms/showers, no free internet service, and expensive lobby computer fees. I probably wouldn't stay again if another hotel had these features for the same price. The service was nice, and the breakfast was good however. The other things it lacked made this hotel poor relative to others I had stayed in. They also claim to be close to the metro station, but they are about .4 miles away, from the nearest one, which is basically true for anywhere in London.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in June & found it great. It's a basic 2 star hotel in a fantastic location but come on what do you expect for the price. The facilities are basic but the place is clean, and the staff were welcoming. We stayed on the second floor & while the hallway was really overly warm the room itself was fine. The shared bathroom had obviously been recently renovated (the ground floor ones weren't as nice) but all in all a good hotel 10 minutes walk from Buckingham Palace & Victoria Station.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Wellington is in a convenient location for sightseeing in London. However, you'll be disappointed when you come back to your room exhausted at the end of the day. The beds are incredibly uncomfortable, the staff cold and aloof, and the shared toilets often out of toilet paper and soap. Though it is a budget option, it's still rather expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Wellington Hotel

Address: 71 Vincent Square, London SW1P 2PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Wellington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacefully located in Westminster on leafy Vincent Square, the Grange Wellington Hotel provides a retreat from the commotion of the City, whilst remaining within easy reach of Buckingham Palace, St. James’s Park, and Westminster Abbey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Grange Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel London
Wellington Hotel London
Grange Wellington Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Wellington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.